LibGuides: Architecture: Find Articles

Databases are great sources for finding information for your research paper. In databases, you will find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles, news articles, videos, and more for your research. Databases pull their information from a variety of Journals and other sources and compile it so that it is more easily found by the researcher. It is important to note that not any one database contains all the information a researcher needs, so be sure to check across several databases when searching for information.

OpenAthens Database Searching Tutorial

What are the differences between Journal, Journal Articles, and a Database?

An Electronic Journal (or E-journal) is a traditional journal that is in an electronic format; either because it was originally created that way, or because someone took a print journal article and scanned it to make it available electronically.

A Database is what is created when a large number of electronic journals are put in one place and a search interface (usually a search box) is added to help find what you need. Both databases and electronic journals can be subject specific. When you have a database that only has the title or abstract, but not the full text, it is usually referred to as an Index.

Architecture Databases

Below is a list of suggested databases that may aid you in your search. Please note that this is not an exhaustive list but rather a starting point for your research.

Archivision Digital Library This link opens in a new window The Archivision Digital Library is a core architecture collection of 28,000 images covering important Egyptian, Greek, Roman, Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, 18th and 19th Century, Islamic and Modern sites, gardens, parks and works of public art.
Art and Architecture in Video This link opens in a new window Art and Architecture in Video includes documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms. The collection spans period and region, including coverage of the Renaissance, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Modern, and Contemporary art.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window This resource provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window Covers the current literature of architecture and design, indexing more than 1000 US and foreign journals. Funded by statewide allocation.
BuildingGreen Suite This link opens in a new window An authoritative online resource for reliable content on sustainable design strategies, green building materials, and case studies of high performance buildings.
Civil Engineering Abstracts This link opens in a new window This database provides indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current serial and non-serial titles, including content from ASCE and ICE. It covers all civil aspects from architecture, structural design and construction engineering to environmental, seismic engineering and forensics. Funded by statewide allocation.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window Includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspaper articles regarding arts and humanities, social sciences and science and technology disciplines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines. Most full-text access is archival; some current full text. Also includes a collection of over 500 Spanish-language e-books, which are student tech fee funded.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window WorldCat is now available on the new WorldCat Discovery platform. A comprehensive catalog with over 179 million bibliographic records representing library collections from around the world. The catalog includes books, print journals, DVDs, historic photos, video games, musical scores, newspapers, webpages and other items.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Includes Humanities Full Text, Humanities Index Retrospective and additional content. Subject areas include archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology. Funded by statewide allocation.

About Interlibrary Loan

If you have looked in the catalog and in the databases and still cannot find the material that you are looking for, or if you know the specific name of the book or article that you are trying to find that you know is not at FAU, you can use interlibrary loan (ILL).

Interlibrary loan uses a program to process your requests and find items at other libraries. Intralibrary loan will request materials that are located at other FAU branches. You can also use ILL to track your requests once they have been entered. Materials can then be picked up at Boca Raton or the branch closest to you.

Remember that FAU will not interlibrary loan required texts for your class or materials that are already owned by FAU, so if an item is missing from the shelves, fill out a lost or stolen materials form and submit it online or at the service desk. REMEMBER Interlibrary loan takes time (7-10 days), so you cannot wait until the last minute to request these materials.

Last updated on Oct 15, 2024 4:01 PM