Urban and Regional Planning

Urban and regional planning databases are vital repositories of primary sources, scholarly research, and archival materials, providing researchers, students, and professionals with invaluable insights into urban development. These databases compile diverse materials, including urban plans, demographic data, government reports, spatial datasets, and historical maps, covering various geographical regions and planning themes.

Researchers leverage these databases to analyze urbanization trends, study land use patterns, and explore the impacts of policy interventions on urban communities. By accessing digitized primary sources, users gain direct insight into urban contexts, perspectives, and planning processes, enabling evidence-based decision-making.

Moreover, urban and regional planning databases facilitate interdisciplinary research, enabling scholars to explore connections between urban planning and related fields such as architecture, environmental science, public health, and transportation engineering. Through advanced search functionalities and data visualization tools, researchers can identify spatial patterns, trends, and correlations within complex urban datasets, informing urban policy and design initiatives.

Overall, these databases play a crucial role in democratizing access to urban data, fostering scholarly inquiry, and informing evidence-based planning decisions. Explore FAU Libraries' curated list of databases tailored to urban and regional planning, offering a comprehensive starting point for research and exploration in the field.

Urban and Regional Databases: A - G

Urban and Regional Databases: H - Z

The FAU Libraries provide extensive access to a rich collection of historical newspaper databases, making them an essential resource for research into past events and cultural history. These databases include major historical newspapers such as the New York Times, with coverage from its first issue in 1851 to the present, as well as prominent African American newspapers like the Chicago Defender and the Los Angeles Sentinel, with full-page images and searchable text across many decades. Other notable historic collections include the Pittsburgh Courier, Amsterdam News, and Harper’s Weekly, offering digitized full-page reproductions that allow researchers to explore historical contexts in depth. Access to these newspapers is available through the FAU Libraries Catalog or databases like OneSearch, often requiring login with FAUNetID, supported by librarian assistance for navigation and use. This vast repository of historic newspapers supports thorough journalistic, cultural, and historical scholarship.