LibGuides: Primary Government Documents: U.S. Congress Primary Sources

Accessing Congressional Hearings and Congressional Information through free sources sites like gov.info and Congress.gov provides unparalleled value for researchers, policymakers, educators, and the general public alike. These platforms offer comprehensive access to a wealth of legislative materials, including transcripts, reports, bills, resolutions, and committee proceedings, shedding light on the inner workings of the U.S. Congress. By leveraging these free sources, users can stay informed about legislative debates, policy developments, and government actions, fostering transparency and accountability in the democratic process. Furthermore, the availability of Congressional information empowers individuals to track the progress of legislation, monitor the activities of elected officials, and advocate for issues of importance to them and their communities.

Moreover, accessing Congressional Hearings and information through accessible sources allows access to vital government resources, leveling the playing field for researchers and citizens regardless of their institutional affiliations or financial means. This accessibility promotes civic engagement, informed decision-making, and public discourse, enriching the democratic fabric of society. Overall, these accessible source sites serve as invaluable tools for promoting governmental transparency, civic participation, and the dissemination of accurate and timely information to the public.

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation - U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875 Beginning with the Continental Congress in 1774, America's national legislative bodies have kept records of their proceedings. The records of the Continental Congress, the Constitutional Convention, and the United States Congress make up a rich documentary history of the nation's construction and the development of the federal government and its role in national life. These documents record American history in the words of those who built our government.
Congressional Committee Calendars (Library of Congress) A legislative calendar typically includes a wealth of information about a committee’s activities, including the committee’s membership roll; the subcommittees and their membership rolls; committee rules and jurisdiction; legislation considered by the committee, indexed by date, sponsor, and subject; dates and subjects of hearings and meetings; committee prints and reports; and executive communications transmitted to the committee.
Congressional Record (Daily), govinfo The Congressional Record on the GovInfo website begins in 1994 and continues to the present.
Congressional Record, Congress.gov The Congress.gov website covers the Congressional Record, starting with the 43rd Congress (1873-1875) and continuing to the present.
Congressional Voting Records: A Beginner's Guide (Library of Congress) A recurring subject of interest to our patrons is how to find congressional voting records (also called roll call information). This topic presents more challenges than may be readily apparent because researchers must not only determine what resources cover the period of time in which the laws at issue were passed but also whether that resource is available in a paper-based or freely available digital format.
Congressional Chronicle - Follow Votes This link is provided through CSPAN, allowing you to follow the votes of the House of Representatives and the Senate.
Congress.gov Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, the Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
Overview of the Congressional Record and Its Predecessor Publications Part of the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, DC's Legislative Source Book, this article provides a detailed overview of the Congressional Record and its history.
An Overview of the Congressional Record and Its Predecessor Publications: A Research Guide Part of the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, DC's Legislative Source Book, this article provides a detailed overview of the Congressional Record and its history.
United States Senate Explore the Senate’s Constitutional foundations, its unique role in America’s governmental system, and its rich history.
E-Collection of Legal Materials (FAU Libraries) This link will take you to our e-resources of legal materials. We are not a law library and only offer the resources.
FCC Record (University of North Texas) This link offers open access to FCC Record, and it is managed by the University of North Texas Digital Library.
Federal Register/The Daily Journal of the United States Government (National Archives) This is maintained by the National Archive. Note: Documents older than 1994 are not searchable but can be found by FR citation.
govinfo Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Search CRS Reports Contains over 7,400 non-partisan reports from the Congressional Research Service on domestic and international topics.
USA.gov Search for a wide variety of government information by topic and agency.

The Boca Campus will no longer house the print editions of the Congressional Hearings, but they are available in digital format at the FAU libraries.

The ProQuest Congressional Database, accessible through FAU Libraries, stands as a cornerstone resource for researchers, scholars, policymakers, and students, offering unparalleled access to a vast repository of legislative and governmental documents. This comprehensive database aggregates an extensive collection of congressional publications, including bills, resolutions, hearings, reports, and congressional records dating back to the late 18th century. Users can explore the evolution of legislative policy, track the progress of bills, and conduct in-depth research on various topics, from healthcare and education to foreign affairs and environmental policy.

Moreover, the ProQuest Congressional Database provides unique functionalities, such as advanced search options, citation tools, and access to supplementary materials, enhancing the research experience and facilitating the discovery of relevant information. Additionally, the database offers valuable insights into the legislative process, political dynamics, and historical contexts shaping U.S. governance, enriching scholarly inquiry and public discourse.

Through the ProQuest Congressional Database, FAU Libraries offer students and researchers a gateway to authoritative and comprehensive congressional information, fostering critical thinking, academic excellence, and civic engagement. Access to this valuable resource empowers users to navigate the complexities of American politics, contribute to informed policymaking, and deepen their understanding of the nation's legislative history and democratic institutions.

Gain exclusive access to the vast legislative history and government documents provided by the ProQuest Congressional Database, which is accessible solely to FAU users. Remote access requires FAU username and password credentials, enabling researchers to delve into many congressional publications, encompassing hearings, reports, bills, laws, and more. However, for public users, access is restricted to within FAU Libraries, attainable via a guest login.

To find out which Congressional District you live in, go to House.gov. For a profile of your district, visit the helpful Census Bureau web page My Congressional District.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window Provides the tools for searching the Congressional Record, finding members of Congress, tracking proposed legislation by keyword and sponsor, and searching Congressional hearings, the Federal Register, the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection, Congressional committee schedules, Committee Prints and Miscellaneous Publications, and Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports.

Within the ProQuest Congressional Database, you will have access to more than just Congressional Hearings. You have access to the following kinds of Legislative & Executive Publications:

Hearings: 1824-Present
CRS Reports: 1916-Present
House and Senate Documents/Reports: 1917-Present
Legislative Histories: 1969-Present
Bills and Laws: 1776-Present
Miscellaneous Publications: 1789-Present
Vote Reports: 1987-Present
Maps: 1789-2007
Congressional Record: 1789-Present
Presidential Materials: 1789-Present

If you need to do further research on Congressional Policy Issues you can check out the following database:

ProQuest Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of reports from the Congressional Research Service (CRS) which was established within the Library of Congress to provide members, committees, and congressional staff with nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues.
ProQuest U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection This link opens in a new window This resource is a growing collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of the Congress, dating from 1789. It contains comprehensive and often detailed information on an extremely wide range of subjects, and includes Congressional reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress.

The HeinOnline U.S. Congressional Documents Section Database, accessible through FAU Libraries, is a crucial resource for scholars, researchers, students, and policymakers interested in exploring the vast landscape of U.S. congressional documents. This database offers a comprehensive collection of congressional publications covering various legislative topics and historical periods, including hearings, reports, documents, and prints. Users can delve into primary sources dating back to the late 18th century, gaining valuable insights into the evolution of American governance, policy-making processes, and political discourse.

One of the key strengths of the HeinOnline database lies in its user-friendly interface and advanced search capabilities, enabling efficient navigation and retrieval of relevant materials. Additionally, the database provides access to a wealth of supplementary resources, including scholarly articles, legislative histories, and executive branch documents, enriching the research experience and facilitating interdisciplinary inquiry.

Furthermore, the HeinOnline U.S. Congressional Documents Section Database offers unique features such as cross-referencing tools, citation assistance, and browsing options, enhancing the accessibility and utility of congressional materials for users of all levels of expertise. Overall, this invaluable resource serves as a cornerstone for academic research, legal scholarship, and historical inquiry, empowering users to explore, analyze, and interpret the complexities of U.S. congressional documents with precision and depth.

The HeinOnline Database is Accessible remotely only with FAU login credentials; researchers can explore a wide range of materials, including congressional hearings, reports, debates, and more. Public users can utilize this resource within FAU Libraries by logging in as guests.

To find out which Congressional District you live in, go to House.gov. For a profile of your district, visit the helpful Census Bureau web page My Congressional District.

HeinOnline Database (U.S. Congressional Documents Section)
This portion of the HeinOnline Database directs you directly to the U.S. Congressional Documents page.

Within the HeinOnline (U.S. Congressional Documents Section) Database, you can access the following kinds of documents:

Congressional Record (in its various titles and formats)
Congressional Budget (broken down into 41 different subject areas)
Rules & Precedents (provides access to 13 different kinds)
Other works related to Congress (592 types)
Congressional Directory
Congressional Hearings (81,381)
CRS Reports (59,481)
Committee Prints (9,127)
U.S. Congressional Serial Set

HeinOnline - U.S. Congressional Documents LibGudie