LibGuides: Primary Government Documents: Online Primary Sources

Utilizing government online resources like the Library of Congress, National Archives, and others offers unparalleled access to a treasure trove of primary sources, enriching research, education, and historical understanding. These platforms provide a vast array of documents, photographs, recordings, and artifacts that offer firsthand accounts and insights into pivotal moments in history, governmental operations, and cultural heritage. Access to primary sources through government repositories fosters critical thinking and analysis, allowing users to interpret historical events from multiple perspectives and draw conclusions. Furthermore, these online resources enable individuals to explore diverse topics and themes, spanning from the founding of nations to contemporary issues, facilitating a deeper understanding of societal dynamics and cultural evolution. By leveraging government online resources for primary sources, researchers, educators, and the general public can engage with history in a meaningful and enriching manner, promoting knowledge dissemination, historical preservation, and democratic participation.

American History Digital Collections - Library of Congress Digital Collections in American History from the Library of Congress
American Presidency Project The American Presidency Project Non-profit and non-partisan, the APP is the source of presidential documents online. We are hosted at the University of California, Santa Barbara. 161,511 Presidential and Non-Presidential Records
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: A Selection of Primary Sources That’s why we developed this website focused on Black Freedom, featuring select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Our intention is to support a wide range of students (see examples for using in teaching and learning), as well as independent researchers and anyone interested in learning more about the foundation of ongoing racial injustice in the U.S. – and the fights against it.
Chronicling America - Historic Newspapers Chronicling America is a website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. It is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be created and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. An NEH award program will eventually fund the contribution of content from all U.S. states and territories.
Core Documents of Our Democracy To provide American citizens direct online access to the basic Federal Government documents that define our democratic society, a core group of current and historical Government publications was made available via GPO Access. These titles contain information vital to the democratic process and critical to an informed electorate. This page archives and updates the GPO Access page with some additions.
FBI Records: The Vault The Vault is our new FOIA Library, containing 6,700 documents and other media scanned from paper into digital copies so you can read them in the comfort of your home or office. Many new FBI files have been released to the public but never added to this website; dozens of records previously posted on our site but removed as requests diminished; files from our previous FOIA Library; and new, previously unreleased files.
Foreign Relations of the United States, 1861-1960 (U.Wisconsin) This digital facsimile of Foreign Relations of the United States is a project of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries in collaboration with the University of Illinois at Chicago Libraries. This is a nearly complete run from 1861-1960, with missing volumes being added as they can be acquired and processed. If your library is interested in donating material for this project, don't hesitate to get in touch with the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections Center
Foreign Relations of the United States, 1945-1980 (State Department) The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
National Archives The nation's record keeper is the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.
National Museum of American Art The Smithsonian American Art Museum, the nation's first collection of American art, is an unparalleled record of the American experience. The collection captures the American people's aspirations, character, and imagination throughout three centuries. The museum is home to one of the world's largest and most inclusive collections of American art. Its artworks reveal key aspects of America's rich artistic and cultural history from the colonial period to today.
National Security Archive (Briefing Books) “Briefing Books” are one-stop resources covering a full range of topics in U.S. foreign policy. Containing from 5 to 100+ documents, each briefing book features an introductory essay, individual document descriptions, related photo or video content, plus links for further reading.
Office of the Historian - U.S. Department of State The Office of the Historian is staffed by professional historians who are experts in the history of U.S. foreign policy and the Department of State and possess unparalleled research experience in classified and unclassified government records. The Office’s historians work closely with other federal government history offices, the academic historical community, and specialists across the globe. Dr. Stephen Randolph, The U.S. Department of State Historian, directs the Office.
more...less...
Under the law, the Office of the Historian is responsible for preparing and publishing the official documentary history of U.S. foreign policy in the Foreign Relations of the United States series.
Presidential Libraries and Museums The Office of Presidential Libraries administers the Presidential Libraries at the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).
Primary Documents in American History Primary Documents in American History is a list of research guides from the Library of Congress.
Public Papers of the Presidents The Public Papers of the Presidents, compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), began in 1957 in response to a recommendation of the National Historical Publications Commission. Noting the lack of uniform compilations of messages and papers of the Presidents before this time, the Commission recommended establishing an official series in which Presidential writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature could be made available.
Smithsonian Institute - History & Culture The Smithsonian explores U.S. history and culture to understand better what it means to be an American and examines, explains, and protects cultural heritage in the U.S. and worldwide. Our collections and subject experts illuminate the past and present to help discover, preserve, and disseminate knowledge that secures our shared future as a nation and a global community.
Timeline of Congressional Documents A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates 1774 to 1875
U.S. Constitution (Cornell University Law School)
War of the Rebellion (Cornell - Hathi Trust) The War of the Rebellion: a Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies As of March 2018, The War of the Rebellion, part of the Cornell University Library's Making of America collection, has been moved to Hathi Trust

Florida Online Primary Sources

Utilizing government online resources such as the Florida Memory Project, Museum of Florida History, and others offers unparalleled insight into Florida's rich history and cultural heritage. These platforms provide diverse primary sources, including photographs, documents, artifacts, and oral histories, capturing the essence of Florida's past. By accessing these resources, researchers, students, and the general public can delve into various aspects of Florida's history, from its Indigenous peoples and early settlers to its role in key historical events and vibrant cultural traditions. Moreover, government online resources facilitate engagement with local history and community stories, fostering a deeper connection to the state's heritage. Through exploring primary sources on these platforms, users gain a more nuanced understanding of Florida's past, contributing to historical scholarship, cultural preservation, and a greater appreciation for the diverse tapestry of the Sunshine State's history.

Florida: Publication of Archival Library & Museum Materials (PALMM) Publication of Archival, Library & Museum Materials (PALMM) is a cooperative initiative of the public universities of Florida to provide digital access to important source materials for research and scholarship. PALMM projects may involve a single university or may be collaborative efforts between a university and partners within or outside of the state university system. PALMM projects create high-quality virtual collections relevant to the students, research community and general citizenry of Florida.
Florida History Collection (U. of Florida) The University of Florida Archives supports topical research on the history of the University. It is the custodian of the University's historically significant public records including the administrative files of its past presidents. The Archives also collects the papers and records of individuals and organizations associated with the University and maintain files of yearbooks, student publications, and official University documents.
Florida Memory Project The State Archives of Florida is the central repository for the records of Florida state government. The Archives is mandated by law to collect, preserve, and make available for research the records of the State of Florida, as well as private manuscripts, local government records, photographs, and other materials that complement official state records. The Archives is part of the Division of Library and Information Services (DLIS), which in addition to archival and records management services, provides a framework for statewide library initiatives and makes available the published and unpublished history of the state. DLIS is one of seven divisions within the Florida Department of State. In an effort to make its collections accessible to the largest possible audience, the State Library and Archives of Florida applied for grant funding under the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) to digitize select collections in 1994. The Florida Memory website was born of this initial from LSTA grant funding.
The Florida Historical Society For over 150 years, the Florida Historical Society's mission has been to collect, preserve and publish materials relating to the rich and diverse history of our state. The research library was officially begun in 1905 and consisted of only a few library resources. One of the first items donated to the FHS research library was a first edition of La Florida del Inca, owned by none other than Florida East Coast Railway magnate Henry M. Flagler! Over the years the Society has amassed a sizable collection of rare and out of print books, maps dating back to the 1500s, and tens of thousands of photographs and postcards from around the state. Maintain an extensive archive at the Library of Florida History Publish the Florida Historical Quarterly and books, fiction and nonfiction, through the Florida Historical Society Press Manage the Historic Rossetter House Museum and Gardens Operate the Florida Historical Society Archaeological Institute Produce "Florida Frontiers: The Weekly Radio Magazine of the Florida Historical Society" which airs on NPR stations throughout the state Produce "Florida Frontiers Television" which airs on public television stations throughout the state Publish Florida Frontiers Blog, which appears in Florida Today newspaper each week Present the Florida Frontiers Festival, a celebration of Florida's diverse history & culture Maintain a content rich web site at myfloridahistory.org, and a dynamic Facebook page at "Florida Historical Society." Present the Annual Meeting and Symposium, held in a different Florida location in May each year featuring paper presentations, round table discussions, tours of historic sites, an awards luncheon, banquet, picnic, and more. Our educational outreach projects and programs include active participation in events and festivals throughout the state, frequent public talks on a variety of subjects, workshops for teachers and students, history-based theatrical presentations, exhibits, and much more.
Museum of Florida History As the State's History Museum, the Museum of Florida History focuses on artifacts and eras unique to Florida's development and the Floridians' roles in national and global events. The Museum reflects how people have shaped and reacted to their cultural and natural environments through exhibits, educational programs, research, and collections.
Florida History, Culture and Heritage The following bibliographies list some of the published works held by the State Library and Archives.

The Library of Congress, National Archives, and Smithsonian Institution offer unparalleled value as repositories of primary online resources, serving as indispensable hubs for research, education, and cultural enrichment. Access to the vast collections of documents, photographs, artifacts, and recordings housed in these institutions provides invaluable insight into various aspects of American history, culture, and society. These primary sources enable scholars, educators, and the public to explore diverse topics and themes, from the nation's founding to contemporary issues, fostering critical thinking and historical understanding. Furthermore, the digitization efforts of these institutions make these resources accessible to a global audience, democratizing access to knowledge and promoting lifelong learning. By leveraging the Library of Congress, National Archives, and Smithsonian Institution as sources for primary online resources, individuals can engage with history in a dynamic and immersive manner, enriching their understanding of the past and shaping their appreciation for the complexities of the American experience.

Library of Congress - Digital Collections The Library of Congress is the most extensive worldwide, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps, and manuscripts in its collections.
National Archives - Primary Source Documents Access thousands of primary sources — letters, photographs, speeches, posters, maps, videos, and other document types — spanning American history. We're always adding more!
Smithsonian Source The Smithsonian is home to 21 museums and the National Zoo. While safeguarding and presenting our nation's treasures, our museums and zoos support education, scholarship, and research. Explore our vast online digital resources or plan your visit.

FAU Libraries Primary Sources LibGuide

The FAU Primary Source Research Guide serves as a valuable gateway to accessing an extensive array of online sources, enhancing research capabilities and facilitating in-depth exploration of various topics. By leveraging this guide, researchers, students, and educators gain access to a curated selection of primary sources spanning diverse disciplines and historical periods. These sources include documents, images, manuscripts, and multimedia materials from reputable repositories, archives, and institutions worldwide. The guide provides direct links to these online resources and valuable guidance on effective search strategies, critical analysis of sources, and proper citation practices. Moreover, by centralizing access to a wide range of primary sources, the FAU Primary Source Research Guide streamlines the research process, saving time and effort while promoting scholarly rigor and engagement. This guide empowers users to conduct thorough and meaningful research, deepening their understanding of historical events, cultural phenomena, and academic inquiries.

Primary Sources Research Guide (FAU) This is the main primary source subject, and this guide serves as a jump-off to the many other primary source guides offered here through FAU Libraries.