Political Science Databases - POS 3330 - Exploring Political Science

Black Freedom Struggle This link opens in a new window A ProQuest website featuring select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Focuses on historic and contemporary experiences and perspectives of African Americans, including the Black Lives Matter movement.
CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window Analysis on the major legislation and actions of congress since 1945. Data on the voting patterns of Congress members provides insight into the legislative process and history of the institution. Users can follow the history of a policy issue with the Policy Tracker tool which links reports on the same issue for almost 70 years.
CQ Press Historic Documents This link opens in a new window In CQ Historic Documents Series Online Edition, you can find the entire collection of the acclaimed Historic Documents print editions. Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
DemographicsNow (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window Library Edition A comprehensive tool that provides highly sought after demographic data including income, housing, race, age, education, consumer expenditures, and more.
Environmental Impact Statements: Digests This link opens in a new window This database provides detailed abstracts and indexing of the hundreds of environmental impact statements issued each year by the federal government. EIS extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts.
Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s This link opens in a new window Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s is a full-text database of the Federal Bureau of Investigation's previously classified files on prominent radicals and radical organizations from 1956 to 1971. It sheds light on internal organization, personnel, and activities of some of the most prominent American radical groups and their movements to change American government and society.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window This database has replaced "Political Risk Yearbook Online." To access this resource, choose "Country Reports," and select "prs group, in." under "Publisher" tab.

HarpWeek This link opens in a new window This resource provides electronic access to Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline is an online research platform that provides multidisciplinary periodicals, government documents, international resources, case law, and more. With HeinOnline, users can access more than 3,200 scholarly journals, all dating back to the first issue published. In addition, there is coverage of U.S. government publications, and the archive of case law consists of federal, state, and overseas cases; international resources address many countries, regions, and international organizations.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. This resource provides access to data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade .
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) This link opens in a new window Open Access HSDL is the nations premier collection of homeland security policy, strategy and organizational documents. This resource includes thousands of key, selected HS documents; full-text advanced search; hundreds of subject categories; direct links to important U.S. policy documents; online databases and journals; cutting edge NPS thesis and research reports; breaking news stories and newly released reports.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window This resource offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new window Human Rights Studies Online provides comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window Downloading and viewing of data files may require proprietary software. An archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences administered by the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan.
Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration This link opens in a new window The Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR) was organized in London in August 1938 as a result of the Evian Conference of July 1938, which had been called by President Roosevelt to consider the problem of racial, religious, and political refugees from central Europe.
International Historical Statistics This link opens in a new window International Historical Statistics is collection of statistical data from around the world. It covers a wide range of socio-economic topics and provides key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years.
Military and Intelligence (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Composed of content from over 400 journals, this resource covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects covered include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.
NAACP Papers (History Vault) This link opens in a new window The NAACP Papers collection consists of 6 modules containing internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. These documents chart the NAACP's work, with a timeline that runs from 1909 to 1972; this covers the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the triumphs of the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Voting Rights Act of 1965, and beyond.
Political Risk Yearbook Online See the Business Source Premier Database above.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window Provides the tools for searching the Congressional Record, finding members of Congress, tracking proposed legislation by keyword and sponsor, and searching Congressional hearings, the Federal Register, the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection, Congressional committee schedules, Committee Prints and Miscellaneous Publications, and Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports.
ProQuest Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of reports from the Congressional Research Service (CRS) which was established within the Library of Congress to provide members, committees, and congressional staff with nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues.
ProQuest U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection This link opens in a new window This resource is a growing collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of the Congress, dating from 1789. It contains comprehensive and often detailed information on an extremely wide range of subjects, and includes Congressional reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress.
Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window Paid for by the Department of Political Science. Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of poll data - from 1935 to present. Contains data from U.S. and international polling firms with broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. Questions, charts, demographic crosstabs, and dataset downloads are immediately available.
Shoah (Visual History Archive) This link opens in a new window USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive is a streaming collection of primary source video testimonies from survivors of and witnesses to genocide. Users can search through and view more than 55,000 video testimonies. Initially a repository of Holocaust (1939-1945) testimony, the Archive includes the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda; Anti-Rohingya Mass Violence (August-October 2017); Armenian Genocide (1915-23); and others. Patrons can click on “Register” and create a unique username and password, as official login is required for use of “My Projects/Bookmarked Projects/Shared Projects” features.
SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window A reference source which includes access to SIRS Issues Researcher, SIRS Government Reporter, SIRS Renaissance, and SIRS WebSelect.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, and education.Funded by Florida Virtual Campus. 
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the United States.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers (Proquest) This link opens in a new window Parliamentary Papers are the most detailed primary source for 19th-century Britain, its colonies and the wider world. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy. They influenced public opinion and social and political philosophy, and provided a forum for the ideas of hundreds of thinkers, among them Jenner, Arnold, Trollope, Mill, Faraday, Babbage, Telford and Brunel.
War and Terrorism (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window A definitive periodical collection of hand selected titles for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history and social science.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy.