Shelf surfing can be an excellent method for discovering books about political science that might not be immediately apparent in the catalog. Understanding the relevant Library of Congress Classification areas can significantly enhance your research. Here are key call numbers sorted by subject, guiding you to sections where books on political science are typically located:
Main Class J: Political Science
JA: Political Science (General)
JA71-JA80: Theory. Relations to other subjects
JA86-JA88: Study and teaching. Research
JC: Political Theory
JC11-JC605: Political theory. The state. Theories of the state
JC311-JC314: Nationalism. Nation-state
JF: Political Institutions and Public Administration
JF20-JF2112: Political institutions and public administration
JF1338-JF2112: Public administration
JK: Political Institutions and Public Administration (United States)
JK1-JK9993: Political institutions and public administration - United States
JK2255-JK2391: Political parties
JZ: International Relations
JZ1-JZ9999: International relations
Main Class H: Social Sciences
HM: Sociology
HM1-HM1281: Sociology (General)
HN: Social History and Conditions. Social Problems. Social Reform
HN1-HN995: Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform
By utilizing these call numbers and understanding the subject classifications, you can effectively navigate the library shelves to discover a rich array of literature on political science. You'll find resources spanning from broad theoretical frameworks to detailed examinations of specific political systems and institutions, including:
This comprehensive range of materials allows for in-depth exploration of the subject, supporting academic study and research on various aspects of political science and its impact on society and global affairs.
Search the FAU Library Catalog to see what materials are available for check out. Search for books, government documents, DVDs, electronic books, streaming videos, and more.
Below is a small sample of titles found in our General Collection on the topic of Political Science.
Securing the Prize by
How presidential metaphors have shaped US discourse on the Persian Gulf From the 1970s to the 1990s American presidents and their advisers introduced four metaphors into foreign-policy discourse that taught Americans to view the Persian Gulf as a vulnerable region and site of US responsibility on the world stage. In Securing the Prize: Presidential Metaphor and US Intervention in the Persian Gulf Randall Fowler argues that, for half a century, metaphor has been central to defining America's role in the Middle East. Metaphors served as shorthand for presidents to promote their policies, filtering through the judgments of officials, journalists, experts, and critics to mediate American's perceptions of the Gulf War. Tracing the use of security metaphors from President Richard Nixon to President George W. Bush, Fowler revises mainstream understandings regarding the origins of the war on terror and explains the disconnect between skeptical public attitudes toward US involvement in the Gulf War and the heavy American military footprint in the region.
Challenging Global Development : Towards Decoloniality and Justice by
This open access book presents contributions to decolonize development studies. It seeks to promote and sustain new forms of solidarity and conviviality that work towards achieving social justice.Recognising global poverty and inequalities as historic injustices, the book addresses how these can be challenged through teaching, research, and engagement in policy and practice, and the sorts of political barriers these might encounter. From a variety of perspectives and contexts, these chapters examine how decoloniality and solidarity can be developed, offering in-depth historical, theoretical, epistemological, and empirical analyses.
Territory and Democratic Politics : A Critical Introduction by
The book provides a comprehensive and updated introduction to concept of territory in the study of democratic politics. Territory plays a rather marginal role in the traditional conceptions of democracy that in many ways still prevail today. Democratic politics is often analysed from the point of view of its institutions, citizens and voters, while little is said about the territory through which it is expressed - at most it provides a broader perimeter or context of political and institutional action. The book offers, instead, an introductory theoretically-oriented discussion of crucial issues such as the genesis of state-nation, the transformation of democratic citizenship, the current borders' policies, the rising of territorial populism and the experience of 19-covid pandemic. This is an open access book.
Federalism, Devolution and Cleavages in Africa by
This book explores the relationship between federalism, social divides and conflict in African countries. It details the origins, design and performance of major federal and quasi-federal states to assess their performance and propose new methods for managing these divides. Drawing on evidence from countries such as Ethiopia, Kenya, Nigeria and South Africa, the book examines the nature and causes of ethnonationalism, mobilisation and confrontation with the nation state. The book is a comprehensive treatment of the five major federal and devolved systems in Africa. It explains their origin, design and operation, and assesses their performance. More importantly, the book explains the distinct nature of federal and devolved systems in the Global South. Federal and devolved systems in Africa cannot be understood in isolation from the nature of state power on the continent. The book explains the impact of unregulated state power on the dynamics of federal and devolved systemsin Africa. Federalism and devolution have not failed but have been betrayed - both in the past and the present - in serving as a venue for accommodation, intergovernmental bargaining and negotiated reform.
Decidim, a Technopolitical Network for Participatory Democracy : Philosophy, Practice and Autonomy of a Collective Platform in the Age of Digital Intelligence by
This Open Access book explains the philosophy, design principles, and community organization of Decidim and provides essential insights into how the platform works. Decidim is the world leading digital infrastructure for participatory democracy, built entirely and collaboratively as free software, and used by more than 500 institutions with over three million users worldwide. The platform allows any organization (government, association, university, NGO, neighbourhood, or cooperative) to support multitudinous processes of participatory democracy. In a context dominated by corporate-owned digital platforms, in the era of increasing social structuring via Artificial Intelligence, Decidim stands as a public or community owned platform for collective human intelligence. Yet, the project is much more than its technological features. Decidim is in itself a crossroad of the various dimensions of the networked society, a detailed practical map of its complexities and conflicts. Theauthors distinguish three general dimensions of the project: (1) the political - shedding light on the democratic model that Decidim promotes and its impact on public policies and organizations, (2) the technopolitical - explaining how this technology is democratically designed and managed to produce and protect certain political effects, and (3) the technical - presenting the conditions of production, operation, and success of the project. This book systematically covers those three levels in an academically sound, technologically consistent, and politically innovative manner. Serving as a useful resource and handbook for the use of Decidim, it will not only appeal to students and scholars interested in participatory and digital democracy but also to professionals, policy-makers, and a wider audience interested in learning more about the Decidim platform. This is an open access book.
Diplomatic Strategies of Rising Nations in the Global South by
At a time of change in the international system, this book examines how non-traditional leading nations from the Global South have fared to date and what the chances are of their rise to continue. In the second decade of the twenty-first century, the enthusiasm of observers of the international scene about the "rise of the rest" is waning as many countries that were expected to lead the evolving multipolar order are experiencing economic contraction and governance problems. In order to predict further developments, the contributors to this volume focus on the types and sources of the diplomatic strategies that must be executed by rising states if they are to preserve domestic advances as well as gain influence regionally and internationally. Through a comprehensive examination of case studies from Latin America, Africa, Asia, and the Middle East, they show that while there are commonalities among these rising states, unique domestic conditions, values, and traditions impact and predictdiplomatic strategizing and the ability for sustained projection on the international scene.
Political ecologies of the far right : fanning the flames by
This volume engages with the alarming convergence of far right thinking and the ecological crisis in contemporary society. Growing out of the first international conference on political ecologies of the far right, the volume gathers crucial insights from authorities in the field as well as promising early career researchers. With cases ranging from ethnographical accounts of fossil fuel populist protest, historical analysis of the evangelical support for fossil fuels to interrogations of the settler colonial identities and material conditions defended by far right actors around the world, the book provides scholars, students and activists with ways to understand and counter these developments. An electronic edition of this book is freely available under a Creative Commons (CC BY-NC-ND) licence.
Neoliberalism, Democracy, and Rights : Towards a Critique of Neoliberal Reason by
The book sheds light on the forms of neoliberalism's political rationality by highlighting the theoretical foundations upon which they are built. It relies on Foucault's account of neoliberal reason in terms of a governmental rationality encompassing all aspects of human life, as well as Critical Theory's methodology. The book discloses the tensions and antinomies between the concepts neoliberalism resorts to for its own moral and theoretical justification and the historical forms of its realization. By combining the rigor of the normative principles of political philosophy with contemporary historical material, the book shows how neoliberalism realizes itself by negating liberty in its own name, undermining democracy, and annulling rights via their transformation into the morals of the new global market. The core argument permeating the book is that crises are the very condition of neoliberalism's existence. It states that, paradoxically enough, neoliberalism is facing the crises it itself produces by touching off new ones. The book will appeal to students, scholars, and researchers of political science in general, and political theory, political philosophy, and political history in particular, interested in a better understanding of neoliberalism, democracy, and rights.
40 Years of European Digital Policies : Forgotten Lessons by
Written by a seasoned European Commission official and industry expert with over 30 years of experience, this book invites you to embark on a journey through Europe's digital evolution. It provides an insightful guide to the policies that have positioned the EU as a catalyst for Europe's digital transformation. The book serves as a historical narrative and an indispensable resource for policymakers and academics alike. Readers will learn from past triumphs and pitfalls to forge a path towards sustainable growth, innovation, and entrepreneurship. Presenting the rationale behind key policy decisions, the author unveils the dynamics shaping Europe's digital landscape. From pivotal moments to technological leaps, the book illustrates how the process of European integration has increasingly empowered policymakers to shape outcomes. Understanding this interplay between technology and policy is crucial for grasping the complexities of digital policymaking. Accessible to all, this book enhances technical explanations with legal and economic insights. By doing so, it enables readers to understand the nuances of digital policymaking and to envision a future for a digitally integrated Europe.
Marek Thee : A Journey Through the 20th Century. by
Marek Thee was a Jewish Polish journalist, scholar, and activist. This book tells his life from narrowly escaping death in the Holocaust to exile in Palestine, where he became attached to the Polish consular service. On his return to Poland in 1950, he worked for the Foreign Ministry and later for the Polish Institute for International Affairs. He served as Head of the Polish delegation to the International Control Commission in Indochina in the late 1950s. In 1968 he lost his job and his Polish citizenship in a nationalistic and antisemitic campaign. He was able to move to Norway where he worked for twenty years at the Peace Research Institute Oslo (PRIO), editing an international quarterly journal, Bulletin of Peace Proposals and doing research on the arms race. In retirement, he continued his research and writing at the Norwegian Human Rights Institute. The book vividly relates the drama of his life in Poland, Palestine, Indochina, and Norway. This is an open access book.
Civic Continuities in an Age of Revolutionary Change, C. 1750-1850 by
This open access book explores the role of continuity in political processes and practices during the Age of Revolutions. It argues that the changes that took place in the years around 1800 were enabled by different types of continuities across Europe and in the Americas. With historians of modernity tending to emphasise the rise of the new, scholarship has leaned towards an assumption that existing modes of action, thought and practice simply became extinct, irrelevant or at least subordinate to new modes. In contrast, this collection examines continuities between early modern and modern political cultures and organization in Europe and the Americas. Shifting the focus from political modernization, the authors examine the continued relevance of older, often local, practices in (post)revolutionary politics. By doing so,they aim to highlight the role of local political traditions and practices in forging and enabling political change. The book argues that while political change was in fact at the centre of both the old and new polities that emerged in the Age of Revolutions, it coexisted with, and was indeed enabled by, continuities at other levels.
Opportunities and challenges for new and peripheral political science communities : a consolidated discipline? by
This open access book offers an updated examination of the institutionalisation of political science in sixteen latecomer or peripheral countries in Europe. Its main theme is how political science as a science of democracy is influenced and how it responds to the challenges of the new millennium. The chapters, built upon a common theoretical framework of institutionalisation, are evidence-based and comparative. Overall, the book diagnoses diversity among the country cases due to their take-off points and varied political and economic trajectories.
Florida Atlantic University Libraries
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431
(561) 297-6911