Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides. If you have any questions or concerns about this process please let us know.

Clinical Point-of-Care Databases

Accessing Access Medicine

AccessMedicine and AccessPediatrics can be accessed from the Medicine and Health Sciences Collections & User Services web portal or by using the links below.

Mobile App

 Access Medicine

iOS | Android 

The AccessMedicine App includes the following point of care solutions listed below.  For continued access, a user must have an active My Access account and sign in every 90 days through the FAU Library website. Contact an FAU Medical Librarian if you have trouble activating your account.

Features:

  • Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, a collection of concise evidence-based outlines. 
  • Fitzpatrick's Clinical Dermatology Atlas, provides color images & a summary outline of skin disorders and diseases. 
  • Diagnosaurus Differential Diagnostic Tool,  provides more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus®.
  • Guide to Diagnostic Tests, a quick reference guide to the selections and interpretation of commonly used diagnostic tests. 

Utilizing Access Medicine

Searching Access Medicine

Access Medicine's search box can be utilized from the home page or in the navigation bar on all other pages. A drop down box allows you to search “All AccessMedicine” or choose a specific resource type such as drug monographs or guidelines to search within.

Alternatively use the tabs across the top of the page to access specific sections of Access Medicine such as textbooks, multimedia, patient drugs, guidelines and more.

Searching Tips

  • To search for a Phrase use double quotes( “”) e.g. “immunization therapy”
  • Use an asterix (*) for truncation of terms e.g. diag* for diagnose, diagnosis, diagnostics
  • Synonyms of words and phrases, and alternate endings of words, such as -s, -ies, -ing, as well as acronyms such as DVT (Deep venous thrombosis) are  searched
  • There is an advanced search option and also an "enable auto suggest" option
  • Suggested refinements to some searches can be found on the search results page

Clinical Library

The Clinical Library on Access Medicine is comprised of over 75 online medical titles, such as Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine.

Differential Diagnosis

Diagnosaurus is Access Medicine's differential diagnosis tool with over 1000 common diseases and disorders. You can browse by symptom, disease or organ system.

Drug Information

Access Medicine's drug database provides information on medication indications, dosages, contraindications, and drug classes, as well as printable patient handouts in English and Spanish. Click on the Drugs tab on the AccessMedicine or AccessPediatrics home screen to browse drug information.