Get Articles

Use OneSearch

OneSearch

Also search in the Catalog, Databases or e-Journal list.

Click on OneSearch (above) to start your search!

Put phrases inside quotation marks to search for words in a specific order, e.g., "civil war" or "multicultural education."

After entering a search, use the facets on the left to narrow the results and refine your search:

target only peer-reviewed articles.
show only items with Full Text available online.
include/exclude newspaper articles, books, journal articles, and more.
limit your results by date, language, format, collection, geography, subject, etc.

General Databases

Below are some general databases that are great for research into art history. Please note that this is not a comprehensive list, but rather a point to begin your search. General databases pull from a variety of subjects, so they are good for when your research crosses over into other subjects. Such as, architecture, theology, history, and anthropology/archaeology.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Access World News (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies, and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national, and local news sources including the including the Miami Herald, Palm Beach Post, and others.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window Includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspaper articles regarding arts and humanities, social sciences and science and technology disciplines.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with over 48 million bibliographic records representing over 400 languages and covering information from 4,000 years of knowledge. Good for locating items at other libraries for interlibrary loan.

Art History Databases

Below are some suggest databases that are great for research into art history. Please note that this is not a comprehensive list, but rather a point to begin your search.

Archivision Digital Library This link opens in a new window The Archivision Digital Library is a core architecture collection of 28,000 images covering important Egyptian, Greek, Roman, Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, 18th and 19th Century, Islamic and Modern sites, gardens, parks and works of public art.
Art and Architecture in Video This link opens in a new window Art and Architecture in Video includes documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms. The collection spans period and region, including coverage of the Renaissance, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Modern, and Contemporary art.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window This resource provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.
Artstor This link opens in a new window Next week, August 1, ArtStor will be moving to the JSTOR platform. Your Personal Collections (part of your personal account) are already housed on JSTOR in Workspace, accessible from the top, right of the JSTOR page. If accessing ArtStor without an Artstor account, click on 'Home', top left, in order to leave the Registration page. To make use of all Artstor functionality, you will need to register. Use the Register hyperlink on the top right of the home page. The Artstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. The collections cover many subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new window Covers European and American art topics from late antiquity to the present. Provides abstracts on articles from over 2500 journals, chapters in books, dissertations, exhibition catalogs, and conference proceedings.
Ceramic Abstracts This link opens in a new window Comprehensive database for the ceramics industry. Source materials include over 3000 journals, proceedings, patents, standards and industry literature.
Fashion Studies Online: The Videofashion Library This link opens in a new window This collection includes videos that retrace the history of fashion, clothing, and costume worldwide.
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window With more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered, this collection provides resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window This resource offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Includes Humanities Full Text, Humanities Index Retrospective and additional content. Subject areas include archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology. Funded by statewide allocation.
Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals This link opens in a new window Access is limited to one (1) user Includes over 26,000 records from 42 art journals published in the United States during the 19th century. The entire contents of each issue are indexed in the database. It offers essential information on artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture, design, decoration, exhibitions, sales, and collecting.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Journal Storage (More than 500 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines)
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window Access is limited to three (3) simultaneous users. This resource includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Business Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection (Global, Archive, Dateline, Trade & Industry) This link opens in a new window
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window Formerly Business & Company Resource Center. Includes company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and full-text articles.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window As reported, financial information for public U.S. and international companies including company histories, background and details of debt and equity outstanding.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window IBISWorld is a comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research. Reports consist of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants, and more.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window A research database with full-text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics.
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) Publications This link opens in a new window This collection contains 12 biennial market research handbooks including Sports Marketing, Consumer Behavior, Travel & Tourism Market Research Handbook, and Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook.
Standard & Poor's (S&P) NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window Standard & Poor's Net Advantage provides nine of its most popular publications: Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Corporation Records, Register, Stock Guide, Bond Guide, Earnings Guide, The Outlook, and Dividend Record. Funded by statewide allocation.
SMA: Sports Market Analytics (SBRnet) This link opens in a new window Provides market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry, sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship, and sports marketing.
Country Commerce This link opens in a new window Country Commerce is a practical reference guide to the specific operating conditions, commercial laws and business regulations in more than 50 countries. It offers unbiased guidance on critical issues such as obtaining proper permits and registrations, protecting your intellectual property in the Internet age, and complying with local tax laws-including e-commerce rules.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window Partially funded by the FAU College of Business. Online access to all the books, reports, annuals, working papers, loose-leaf binders, periodicals and databases produced by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).
Business Education in Video This link opens in a new window Business Education in Video features executive interviews, corporate training video, case studies, "How To" features and documentary films that focus on all aspects of the global business environment. Subjects covered include Globalization, Operations & Logistics, Management, Marketing, Finance, Strategy, Entrepreneurship, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, International Business, Negotiations, Ethics, Cross-cultural communication, Technology, and much more.

Social Science Databases and Indexes

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 (Parts 1 & 2) This link opens in a new window Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 (Parts 1 & 2) presents aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. It illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are included, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window This resource offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window This database includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines. Most full-text access is archival; some current full text. Also includes a collection of over 500 Spanish-language e-books, which are student tech fee funded.
Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window Routledge Handbooks Online brings together leading scholars to provide an overview of classic and current research and future trends in the Social Sciences and Humanities.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window The database features more than 1,660,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 344 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 129 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 700 books and monographs, and full text for 6,800 conference papers.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window This resource provides access to the published works of numerous historically important black leaders and features unique, fugitive, and never-before-published materials. Subjects include segregation, poverty, education, religion, civil rights, and more.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window Access is limited to one (1) user Content includes over 67,000 records from more than 2,400 journals and other resources including newspapers, books and book chapters. The Chicano Database gives researchers targeted access to the materials that explore the broad dimensions of class, race and gender of the Chicano and Latino U.S. experience.
Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window This collection offers more than 700 journals in the legal and criminal justice field.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s This link opens in a new window Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s is a full-text database of the Federal Bureau of Investigation's previously classified files on prominent radicals and radical organizations from 1956 to 1971. It sheds light on internal organization, personnel, and activities of some of the most prominent American radical groups and their movements to change American government and society.
Social Theory This link opens in a new window Social Theory offers an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization. This final release features more than 150,000 pages of content by such major theorists as Theodor Adorno, Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, mile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Jrgen Habermas, Robert Merton, Dorothy E. Smith , and Talcott Parsons.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Women and Social Movements in the United States Scholar's Edition This link opens in a new window The resource, which examines perspectives on women's social movements from Colonial times to the present, brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities. This edition includes the Women's Commission Reports.

Primary Sources

DEFINITION: A Primary Source is a document or physical object which was written or created during the time under study. These sources were present during an experience or time period and offer an inside view of a particular event.
Examples of primary sources are:

Diaries, journals, speeches, interviews, letters, memos, manuscripts and other papers in which individuals describe events in which they were participants or observers;
Memoirs and autobiographies;
Records of organizations and agencies of government;
Published materials written at the time of the event;
Photographs, audio recordings, moving pictures, video recordings documenting what happened;
Artifacts of all kinds; and
Research reports in the sciences and social sciences.

Primary Sources: Main Guide (links to all other Primary Sources guides)

Other Databases of Interest

PrepSTEP for Colleges and Universities This link opens in a new window Student Tech Fee Funded for 3 years of access (July 1, 2022-June 30, 2025). PrepSTEP contains practice tests, tutorials, e-books, articles, and flashcards on subjects such as computer skills, career preparation, and college success. Also featured are test preparation materials for the GRE, CLEP, TEOFL, LSAT, MCAT, among others.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window O'Reilly contains books, audio books, videos, case studies, curated courses, and more concerning tech, business, and professional development. Includes resources from more than 200 respected publishers, such as McGraw-Hill, Taylor & Francis, Wiley, HarperCollins. Formerly Safari Books Online.
Sage Reference This link opens in a new window A collection of SAGE's encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and a new cateogory called debates - all concerning the social and behavioral sciences, and education.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window Instructors, please use the permalink for these videos in Canvas; the video embed code does not work properly. Supports research at all levels by helping to guide users through every step of the research process. From a quick dictionary definition, a case study example from a researcher in the field, a downloadable teaching dataset, a full-text title from the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series, or a video tutorial showing research in action.
Sage Research Methods Video This link opens in a new window Instructors, please use the permalink for these videos in Canvas; the video embed code does not work properly. See methods in action in this video collection covering the full research process. While one can read about best practices, seeing researchers on film—such as a focus group facilitator interacting with participants—brings a deeper dimension to methods content. Includes 25 disciplines and collections ranging from 'Doing Research online', 'Qualitative and mixed Methods', to 'Research Ethics and Integrity'.
Sage Business Skills This link opens in a new window SAGE Business Skills helps students develop and practice real-world skills to transition from campus to the modern workplace through interactive self assessment, virtual scenarios, downloadable data, and expert insights. Supporting a range of courses, a self-guided journey to gain career-ready skill sets for professional success.
Sage Skills Student Success This link opens in a new window SAGE Skills Student Success helps students develop and practice academic and personal skills for transition to campus life and enable lifelong learning. This resource includes over 1000 skill topics across ten modules, through self assessments, interactive scenarios, downloadable exercises, original videos, and more.

Google Scholar

Need help using Google Scholar? Check here.

Some articles listed in Google Scholar are available from FAU in Full Text.

If FAU does not have access to full text of the article, please use Interlibrary Loan to request a copy of the article for your use.

Need to see if your article is from a peer-reviewed journal? Use Ulrichsweb.com to search for the journal title. If you see a referee shirt next to the title, it is a peer-reviewed journal.

Last updated on Dec 18, 2024 11:56 AM - Guide Creator(s)

NSF LEARN - Interdisciplinary