LibGuides: History: Articles

Historical databases serve as invaluable repositories of primary sources, scholarly research, and archival materials, offering researchers, students, and enthusiasts unprecedented access to the past. These databases aggregate various historical documents, including manuscripts, newspapers, government records, personal correspondence, and photographs, spanning multiple periods, regions, and themes.

Researchers leverage historical databases to uncover hidden narratives, contextualize events, and analyze societal transformations across epochs. By delving into digitized primary sources, users gain direct insight into historical contexts, perspectives, and lived experiences, enabling nuanced interpretations and critical analysis.

Moreover, historical databases facilitate interdisciplinary research, allowing scholars to explore connections between history and other fields, such as sociology, anthropology, political science, and cultural studies. Through cross-referencing and data mining capabilities, researchers can identify patterns, trends, and correlations within vast datasets, shedding light on complex historical phenomena.

Educators use historical databases to enrich classroom instruction, providing students with opportunities to engage with primary sources and develop critical thinking skills directly. By incorporating primary documents into lesson plans, instructors foster historical literacy and empower students to construct their interpretations of the past.

Overall, historical databases play a pivotal role in democratizing access to recorded knowledge, fostering scholarly inquiry, and preserving the cultural heritage of humanity for future generations.

Here's a curated list of databases tailored to history, serving as an excellent starting point for your exploration:

History Databases A - G

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window This resource enables users to search more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Access is limited to six (6) simultaneous users. Covers United States and Canadian history from prehistory to the present providing indexing and bibliographic references for the contents of 1,700 journals. Funded by statewide allocation.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1900 This link opens in a new window Early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690-1876) and Series II (1758-1900).
American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922: From the American Antiquarian Society This link opens in a new window From the comprehensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society, this collection offers printed items addressing all facets of the Civil War and its aftermath. These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include broadsides, lithographs, maps, books, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, stereographs, and more.
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window This resource knits together more than 400 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs, to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922 This link opens in a new window This digital edition of the American Antiquarian Society???s holdings of slavery and abolition materials includes works published over the course of more than 100 years. These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera; among them are a large number of invaluable Southern imprints.
Annual Register: A Record of World Events This link opens in a new window This reference work is an annual publication of British and world events, from 1758 to the Present Day. It provides historians and students with information on the major and minor events, with historical context, perspective, and biographical information. It provides insights into attitudes towards the events and issues of the time.
Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online, Series 1 This link opens in a new window Includes a wide range of original source material, from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through the Black September war of 1970-1. These materials - letters, minutes, reports, maps - are from primary source documents at the National Archives, London.
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window Open Access Search through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Subjects include 1960s radicalism, the Motion Picture Production Code, Jewish emigration, Arab-Israeli relations, resettlement in post-War Europe, the Rastafari Movement, and the Holocaust.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new window Open Access The data available on the Getty Web site as of July 1, 2010, comprises two databases: BHA and Repertoire de la literature de l'art (RILA).
Black Freedom Struggle This link opens in a new window A ProQuest website featuring select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Focuses on historic and contemporary experiences and perspectives of African Americans, including the Black Lives Matter movement.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters. The collection now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window Open Access This site allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window Analysis on the major legislation and actions of congress since 1945. Data on the voting patterns of Congress members provides insight into the legislative process and history of the institution. Users can follow the history of a policy issue with the Policy Tracker tool which links reports on the same issue for almost 70 years.
CQ Press Historic Documents This link opens in a new window In CQ Historic Documents Series Online Edition, you can find the entire collection of the acclaimed Historic Documents print editions. Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
Digital Collections from the Library of Congress This link opens in a new window Open Access This product includes the American history and cultural collections of the Library of Congress, now in one location. In addition there is international coverage relating to history and culture, as well as current international government, law, and politics.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans, this is the definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 This link opens in a new window Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the distinguished bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
Early Encounters in North America This link opens in a new window Contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window From the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War, Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains over 130,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).
Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership (EEBO-TCP) This link opens in a new window This is a text version of EEBO with multiple search capabilities.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online - Text Creation Partnership (ECCO-TCP) This link opens in a new window This is a text version of ECCO with multiple search capabilities.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window To search Eighteenth Century Collections Online and Nineteenth Century Collections Online simultaneously, please see Gale Primary Sources database. Online access to the digital images of books published between 1701 and 1800. This collection includes ancient and contemporary history, accounts of voyages and discoveries, historical biographies and memoirs, genealogical collections, gazetteers, works on church antiquities and tourist guides of Britain. Topics include chronologies, recreation (travel, sports, parlor games), military history, maps, local history, and topography.
To search Eighteenth Century Collections Online and Nineteenth Century Collections Online simultaneously, see the Artemis Primary Sources database.
English Short Title Catalogue This link opens in a new window Open Access A catalog of materials printed from the beginning of print until 1800 in Great Britain, its territories, and in English from around the world.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window Open Access This bibliographic database is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. This database is based on European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750, and contains more than 32,000 entries.
Evans Early American Imprint - Text Creation Partnership (Evans -TCP) This link opens in a new window The University of Michigan, NewsBank/Readex Co., and the American Antiquarian Society are cooperating in a Text Creation Partnership to create 6,000 accurately keyed and fully-searchable SGML/XML text editions from among the 40,000 titles available in the Evans Early American Imprints Collection. "Evans" is the most significant collection of titles relating to the history of seventeenth and eighteenth century America, and the Text creation partnership seeks to create enduring digital text editions of the most frequently studied works.
Everglades Digital Library: Reclaiming the Everglades This link opens in a new window Open Access Nearly 10,000 page images of primary source materials relating to south Florida environmental history are accessible here. This digitized documentary evidence spans the years 1884 to present and covers topics such as the establishment of the Everglades National Park, Native American land rights, agriculture, urban development, endangered species, invasive plants, and the role of women in the modern conservation movement.
Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s This link opens in a new window Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s is a full-text database of the Federal Bureau of Investigation's previously classified files on prominent radicals and radical organizations from 1956 to 1971. It sheds light on internal organization, personnel, and activities of some of the most prominent American radical groups and their movements to change American government and society.
Florida Digital Newspaper Library This link opens in a new window Open Access The Florida Digital Newspaper Library exists to provide access to the news and history of Florida.
Florida Digital Newspaper Library This link opens in a new window Open Access The Florida Digital Newspaper Library exists to provide access to the news and history of Florida.
Florida Heritage Collection (FHC) This link opens in a new window Open Access An ongoing cooperative project of the libraries of the state universities of Florida to digitize and provide online access to materials broadly representing Florida's history, culture, arts, literature, sciences and social sciences. Thematic areas in this growing collection include Native American and minority populations, exploration and development, tourism, the natural environment, and regional interests. Materials are taken from archives, special collections, and libraries of the eleven state universities.
Florida Memory Project This link opens in a new window Open Access The Florida Memory Project presents a selection of historical records that illustrate significant moments in Florida history, educational resources for students of all ages and archival collections for historical research. The Project utilizes selected original records, photographs and other materials from the collections of the State Library and Archives of Florida.
Florida Newspaper Database This link opens in a new window Indexing to news resources from around the state. Includes some full text.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1974-1996 This link opens in a new window FBIS Daily Reports consists of translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals and government statements from nations around the globe.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window Gale Primary Sources combines Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online (modules 1-4), The Times Digital Archive, and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, allowing users to search all databases simultaneously. These primary source collections include digitized monographs, personal diaries, manuscripts, photographs, and maps.
Gilded Age This link opens in a new window The Gilded Age brings primary documents and scholarly commentary together into a searchable collection that is the definitive electronic resource for students and scholars researching this important period in American history.

History Databases: H - Z

HarpWeek This link opens in a new window This resource provides electronic access to Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline is an online research platform that provides multidisciplinary periodicals, government documents, international resources, case law, and more. With HeinOnline, users can access more than 3,200 scholarly journals, all dating back to the first issue published. In addition, there is coverage of U.S. government publications, and the archive of case law consists of federal, state, and overseas cases; international resources address many countries, regions, and international organizations.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Access is limited to six (6) simultaneous users. Indexes journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in a companion database America: History and Life). Funded by statewide allocation.
Historical Atlanta Daily World This link opens in a new window This database offers full-page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage spans 1931- 2003.
Historical Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window Black Studies Center provides the full-text backfile, from 1910 to 1975, of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.
Historical Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new window This database offers full-page and article images with searchable full text, covering 1934 -2005. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Historical Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window This database offers full-page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage spans 1881- 2000.
Historical New York Amsterdam News This link opens in a new window The Amsterdam News was founded as a six-page weekly covering local news by James Henry Anderson in 1909. Under the ownership of C. B. Powell and Philip M. H. Savory from 1938, it became the largest black community weekly in the United States. Contributors to the newspaper have included W. E. B. Du Bois, Roy Wilkins and Malcolm X. Our coverage spans 1922-1993.
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window This database offers full-page and article images from the New York Times from its first issue in 1851 to 2020. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. The database is an ongoing project.
Historical Pittsburgh Courier This link opens in a new window This database offers full-page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage spans 1911- 2002.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. This resource provides access to data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade .
Historical Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window Each issue is indexed for easy searching; and this resource offers complete pages and images from the run dating back to the first 1889 issue through 2012.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window Access is limited to one (1) user Contains records describing journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, medicine and allied historical fields. Citations reflect the contents of more than 1,000 journals, and partial contents of several hundred more.
Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968 This link opens in a new window This collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry through The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) Production Code Administration Files.
Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new window Human Rights Studies Online provides comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window This resource offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new window The Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines website makes it possible for you to discover the lively news stories, illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature, and even advertisements that shaped and reflected public opinion in this era.
Images of America: A History of American Life in Images and Texts This link opens in a new window Contains historical images and texts from Arcadia Publishing's series of local history books, covering thousands of towns and cultural groups in all 50 states. All of the images and texts have been indexed, enabling users to explore the depth of a town's history or to compare the histories of various towns, cultures, ethnic groups, architectural features, and more.
Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera This link opens in a new window Provides a vivid visual history of a nation in crisis. Thousands of dramatic images from the fields of battle, politics, and general society allow students and researchers to experience the events, both monumental and mundane, of the war that tested and defined the core meaning of America.
Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration This link opens in a new window The Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR) was organized in London in August 1938 as a result of the Evian Conference of July 1938, which had been called by President Roosevelt to consider the problem of racial, religious, and political refugees from central Europe.
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954 This link opens in a new window This collection of original source materials explores the history of Jewish communities in America. The material is based on a variety of original manuscript collections from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York, digitized and organized into six major collections and twenty-four collections of personal papers.
Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO) This link opens in a new window Provides access to a large and growing resource of essential medieval and early modern sources online.
Military and Intelligence (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Composed of content from over 400 journals, this resource covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects covered include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.
NAACP Papers (History Vault) This link opens in a new window The NAACP Papers collection consists of 6 modules containing internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. These documents chart the NAACP's work, with a timeline that runs from 1909 to 1972; this covers the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the triumphs of the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Voting Rights Act of 1965, and beyond.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Archives 1-4) This link opens in a new window To search Eighteenth Century Collections Online and Nineteenth Century Collections Online simultaneously, please see Gale Primary Sources. An international primary source collection of 19th century materials, such as monographs, personal diaries, manuscripts, photographs, and maps. Archives include: British Politics and Society; Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; and CORVEY Collection of European Literature (1790-1840).
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window Includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. In selected cases, users will be able to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants.
North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window Access is limited to one (1) user The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors.
Post War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950 This link opens in a new window This online archive covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves. From The National Archives of the UK, and The Wiener Library, London.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window Provides the tools for searching the Congressional Record, finding members of Congress, tracking proposed legislation by keyword and sponsor, and searching Congressional hearings, the Federal Register, the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection, Congressional committee schedules, Committee Prints and Miscellaneous Publications, and Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports.
ProQuest Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of reports from the Congressional Research Service (CRS) which was established within the Library of Congress to provide members, committees, and congressional staff with nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues.
ProQuest U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection This link opens in a new window This resource is a growing collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of the Congress, dating from 1789. It contains comprehensive and often detailed information on an extremely wide range of subjects, and includes Congressional reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress.
Rastafari Ephemeral Publications From The Written Rastafari Archives Project This link opens in a new window The materials in this collection provide an historical and current affairs commentary on the transitional period in the Rastafari Movement's development - a period extending from the early 1970s to the present. It is a forty-three year period during which the Rastafari Movement has been spreading across the Afro-Atlantic world in one form or another and becoming progressively globalized.
Shoah (Visual History Archive) This link opens in a new window USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive is a streaming collection of primary source video testimonies from survivors of and witnesses to genocide. Users can search through and view more than 55,000 video testimonies. Initially a repository of Holocaust (1939-1945) testimony, the Archive includes the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda; Anti-Rohingya Mass Violence (August-October 2017); Armenian Genocide (1915-23); and others. Patrons can click on “Register” and create a unique username and password, as official login is required for use of “My Projects/Bookmarked Projects/Shared Projects” features.
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 This link opens in a new window Brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice This link opens in a new window Student Tech Fee Funded Bringing together primary source documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world, this resource allows students and researchers to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice. Register for My Archive and save your favorite documents, search results, and images to your personal collection area.
Sources in U.S. History Online: The Civil War This link opens in a new window The Civil War digital collection contains nearly 500 significant documents of the time--personal narratives, monographs, regimental histories, collected essays, sermons, songs, legal tracts, and political speeches.
Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War (History Vault) This link opens in a new window This module provides important primary source material on the business aspect of the slave trade, with documents showing international and domestic traffic in slaves in Britain’s New World colonies and the United States. Also, this module includes a series of letters received by the Attorney General on law and order in nineteenth century America. These letters cover the slave trade, general slavery matters including runaway slaves and rights of slaves, and other legal issues.
Special Collections at FAU Libraries This link opens in a new window Open Access Directory of non-circulating collections of rare books, pamphlets, letters, manuscripts, music scores, sheet music, music recordings, artists, books, artwork, photographs, faculty papers and university records found in the FAU Libraries' Special Collections Department. Includes materials in the Marvin & Sybil Weiner Spirit of America Collection, Recorded Sound Archives, and the Arthur and Mata Jaffe Center for Book Arts.
Testaments to the Holocaust This link opens in a new window This digital resource offers the unique collection of eyewitness accounts from the World's oldest Holocaust museum, founded by Alfred Wiener as the "Jewish Central Information Office" in 1939. The collection offers fully searchable personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, along with photographs, propaganda materials such as school text books, limited circulation publications, and rare serials.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window Search with the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive on Gale NewsVault. Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full-facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive This link opens in a new window Search with the Times Digital Archive on Gale NewsVault. Includes the complete run of The Times Literary Supplement from 1902 to 2008, including reviews, letters, poems, articles and literary criticism. The TLS has attracted the contributions of the worlds most influential writers and critics, from T.S. Eliot and Virginia Woolf in the 1920s and 30s to A.N. Wilson and Christopher Hitchens in the 1990s and 2000s.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers (Proquest) This link opens in a new window Parliamentary Papers are the most detailed primary source for 19th-century Britain, its colonies and the wider world. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy. They influenced public opinion and social and political philosophy, and provided a forum for the ideas of hundreds of thinkers, among them Jenner, Arnold, Trollope, Mill, Faraday, Babbage, Telford and Brunel.
U.S. History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window This collection provides coverage of both the current thinking and events in U.S. History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.
Visual History Archive This link opens in a new window USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive is a streaming collection of primary source video testimonies from survivors of and witnesses to genocide. Users can search through and view more than 55,000 video testimonies. Initially a repository of Holocaust (1939-1945) testimony, the Archive includes the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda; Anti-Rohingya Mass Violence (August-October 2017); Armenian Genocide (1915-23); and others. Patrons can click on “Register” and create a unique username and password, as official login is required for use of “My Projects/Bookmarked Projects/Shared Projects” features.
War and Terrorism (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window A definitive periodical collection of hand selected titles for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history and social science.
Women and Social Movements in the United States Scholar's Edition This link opens in a new window The resource, which examines perspectives on women's social movements from Colonial times to the present, brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities. This edition includes the Women's Commission Reports.
World History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of journals will be useful both for the novice historian and the advanced academic researcher.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries exploring human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The videos cover Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.

Newspaper Databases A - G

Access World News (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies, and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national, and local news sources including the including the Miami Herald, Palm Beach Post, and others.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window This resource enables users to search more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1900 This link opens in a new window Early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690-1876) and Series II (1758-1900).
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 enables users to search more than 66 newspaper titles from 22 islands, including Bermuda, published in the 18th and 19th centuries.
Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Christian Science Monitor This link opens in a new window Full-text coverage of the Christian Science Monitor. Funded by statewide allocation.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window Open Access This site allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science, and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Funded by statewide allocation.
Current Affairs in Video This link opens in a new window Current Affairs in Video features award-winning films and documentaries emphasizing detailed analysis and discussion of the critical issues of the day.
Education Week This link opens in a new window Independent, non-profit newspaper covering K-12 education. Published 37 times a year, including three issues of annual reports.
Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History This link opens in a new window Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW full-text titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream
Florida Digital Newspaper Library This link opens in a new window Open Access The Florida Digital Newspaper Library exists to provide access to the news and history of Florida.
Florida Newspaper Database This link opens in a new window Indexing to news resources from around the state. Includes some full text.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1974-1996 This link opens in a new window FBIS Daily Reports consists of translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals and government statements from nations around the globe.

Newspapers Databases H - Z

HarpWeek This link opens in a new window This resource provides electronic access to Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912.
Historical Atlanta Daily World This link opens in a new window This database offers full-page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage spans 1931- 2003.
Historical Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window Black Studies Center provides the full-text backfile, from 1910 to 1975, of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.
Historical Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new window This database offers full-page and article images with searchable full text, covering 1934 -2005. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Historical Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window This database offers full-page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage spans 1881- 2000.
Historical New York Amsterdam News This link opens in a new window The Amsterdam News was founded as a six-page weekly covering local news by James Henry Anderson in 1909. Under the ownership of C. B. Powell and Philip M. H. Savory from 1938, it became the largest black community weekly in the United States. Contributors to the newspaper have included W. E. B. Du Bois, Roy Wilkins and Malcolm X. Our coverage spans 1922-1993.
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window This database offers full-page and article images from the New York Times from its first issue in 1851 to 2020. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. The database is an ongoing project.
Historical Pittsburgh Courier This link opens in a new window This database offers full-page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage spans 1911- 2002.

Historical U.S. Newspapers (Primary Source Guide) The United States Historical Newspaper Research Subject Guide provides the research with links to historical American Newspapers.

Historical Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window Each issue is indexed for easy searching; and this resource offers complete pages and images from the run dating back to the first 1889 issue through 2012.

Historical World Newspapers (Primary Source Guide) This resource is a Subject Research Guide that links historical newspapers worldwide.

Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new window The Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines website makes it possible for you to discover the lively news stories, illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature, and even advertisements that shaped and reflected public opinion in this era.
Latin American Newspapers This link opens in a new window This collection provides more than 35 fully searchable key Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries, featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window Also see Historical Los Angeles Times. Major daily newspaper from Los Angeles. With the nation's largest editorial department, it offers extensive coverage of national, international, and local news.
Meet the Press This link opens in a new window Network television's longest running program (premiering in 1947), Meet the Press, is now searchable on a single platform, and includes thousands of interviews, panels, and debates. Many episodes have not been seen since their original broadcast.
Miami Herald Collection with Historical Archive This link opens in a new window Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including archive years of the Miami Herald from 1911 to 1982.
Miami Herald Historical Archive This link opens in a new window Archive years of the Miami Herald from 1911 to 1982, with full-text content of local and regional news.
Nation Archive This link opens in a new window This database contains indexing & abstracting and full text for the complete archive of The Nation beginning with its first issue in 1865 through to the present.
New York Times This link opens in a new window Also see Historical New York Times. Provides coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions and presidential press conference transcripts.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Accesses over a billion full-text news, magazine, legal, and business articles and reports, including newspapers, magazines, state and federal laws and regulations, case law, newsletters, and company and industry information. Funded by statewide allocation.
Palm Beach Post This link opens in a new window Complete full text of local and regional news.
Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window Cross-search historical collections containing books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents, and ephemera. This resource provides access to America's Historical Imprints, including Early American Imprints Series I: Evans, Early American Imprints Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, American Civil War Collection, and American Slavery Collection; America's Historical Newspapers, including African American Newspapers and Caribbean Newspapers; Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports; and World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications, including business journals, newspapers, and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Sun Sentinel This link opens in a new window Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window Search with the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive on Gale NewsVault. Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full-facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive This link opens in a new window Search with the Times Digital Archive on Gale NewsVault. Includes the complete run of The Times Literary Supplement from 1902 to 2008, including reviews, letters, poems, articles and literary criticism. The TLS has attracted the contributions of the worlds most influential writers and critics, from T.S. Eliot and Virginia Woolf in the 1920s and 30s to A.N. Wilson and Christopher Hitchens in the 1990s and 2000s.
USA Today This link opens in a new window With daily circulation exceeding 2 million in all 50 states, USA TODAY is the most widely read newspaper in the country.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window Also see Historical Wall Street Journal. The paper is considered the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers can access not only top news stories but also detailed information from all the paper's sections. For each article cited in the database, an abstract of up to 75 words helps the researcher know if the complete text will meet his or her needs.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window Coverage of national, international, and local news. The Washington Post is renowned for its political reporting, editorials and columnists.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window Westlaw enables students and faculty to research law-related issues. This comprehensive collection of legal content includes expert's analysis from hundreds of law reviews and journals, encyclopedias, treatises and full-text legislation, regulations, and court decisions.

General Reference Databases:

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online brings together over 40 multidisciplinary video collections from Alexander Street Press, covering art and architecture, diversity, health sciences, history, music and performing arts, psychology and counseling, sciences and engineering, and social sciences. See separate collection titles and the mulitmedia platform -Alexander Street Press- within our A-Z Database List.
Alexander Street Press Video This link opens in a new window ProQuest's Alexander Street Video contains Alexander Street's streaming video content. Subject matter spans across the curriculum —in literature; music; social and cultural history; film; the performing arts; religion; sociology; and other areas. This platform contains our owned collections and our subscription to Academic Video Online: Premium.
Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Biography (Gale In Context) merges Gale's reference content with periodicals and multimedia. Users can search based on name, occupation, role, historical period, dates and places, and other aspects. These entries cover international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Funded by statewide allocation.
Gale General Reference Center Gold This link opens in a new window A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface. Use General Reference Center Gold to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full text and images. Find the latest current events, popular culture, business and industry coverage, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window Open Access. FAU users may log in with FAUNet ID to download ebooks. HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of books digitized from libraries around the world. FAU is a partner institution.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines. Most full-text access is archival; some current full text. Also includes a collection of over 500 Spanish-language e-books, which are student tech fee funded.
JSTOR Sustainability Collection This link opens in a new window Includes a wide range of journals, ebooks, and more than 5,400 Open Access research reports in the field of sustainability. Explores resilience and sustainability, and covers research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Generously funded by the FAU Student Government Association.
Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary This link opens in a new window College level English language dictionary.
NYPL Digital Gallery This link opens in a new window Open Access NYPL Digital Gallery is the New York Public Library's image database, developed to provide free and open online access to thousands of images from the original and rare holdings of the Research Libraries. Spanning a wide range of visual media, NYPL Digital Gallery offers digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, and more. Encompassing the subject strengths of the vast collections of the Research Libraries, these materials represent the applied sciences, fine and decorative arts, history, performing arts, and social sciences.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window This database covers today's hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, health care to immigration. It includes pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary documents, biographies, periodical articles and more. This is a good source for students to start research or analysis of an issue, to complete writing assignments, prepare for a debate, or create a presentation.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window This database contains resources that present multiple sides of an issue, aiding students in developing persuasive arguments and essays. Covering many subjects, each topic includes an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
ProQuest This link opens in a new window An all-inclusive list of databases availble to FAU from this vendor.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global includes international dissertations and theses as well as all previous content. It is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, and education. Funded by statewide allocation.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window The Taylor & Francis Online journal collection includes scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science and Technology. Imprints include Psychology Press and Routledge.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window WorldCat is now available on the new WorldCat Discovery platform. A comprehensive catalog with over 179 million bibliographic records representing library collections from around the world. The catalog includes books, print journals, DVDs, historic photos, video games, musical scores, newspapers, webpages and other items.