Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides. If you have any questions or concerns about this process please let us know.

Graduate Student Survival Guide

Selected Library Databases

Databases are great for finding information for your research paper. In the databases, you will find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research. Use a database to find full text articles. To access these databases, start with the FAU Libraries homepage at https://library.fau.edu. Next, click on the Databases tab (at the top right side of the blue box). You may then search for a database by entering its name in the search box or click on "Browse Databases by Title" (below the search box) to view databases alphabetically, or by subject (Use the "All Subjects" drop-down menu at the top left side of the screen for a subject, e.g., social sciences). You will be prompted to log in with your FAUNet ID and password on order to access most databases.

Special Collections

Don't forget to check out the FAU Libraries Special Collections and Digital Library Collections!

NEW - OpenAthens - authenticate yourself to use our electronic resources!

Through a statewide initiative in coordination with FALSC and other institutions of the Florida College System and State University System libraries, the FAU Libraries is transitioning e-resources authentication from EZproxy to OpenAthens.

OpenAthens is a gateway service that provides access to the FAU Libraries' licensed electronic resources. For the first time, you will have access to the Libraries’ e-resources without needing to be on the Libraries’ website! You can use an Internet search engine like Google or go directly to a publisher’s website to access the Libraries “Athenized” e-resources via FAU Single Sign-On (SSO)!  

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

Web of Science

Web of Science covers all disciplines, not just science. The Cited Reference Search is used to find any authors that have cited a particular article. Basic search results can be sorted by number of times cited, indicating the most influential articles on a topic.

Last updated on Oct 26, 2022 10:33 AM