Shelf surfing can be an excellent method for discovering books about Adolf Hitler and Nazi Germany that might not be immediately apparent in the catalog. Understanding the relevant Library of Congress Classification areas can significantly enhance your research. Here are key call numbers sorted by subject, guiding you to sections where books on Hitler and Nazi Germany are typically located:
Main Class D: History (General) and History of Europe
DD: History of Germany
DX: History of Gypsies
Main Class H: Social Sciences
HQ: The Family, Marriage, Women
HV: Social Pathology, Social and Public Welfare, Criminology
Main Class J: Political Science
JC: Political Theory
Main Class K: Law
KK: Law of Germany
Main Class N: Fine Arts
N: Visual Arts
Main Class P: Language and Literature
PT: German Literature
By utilizing these call numbers and understanding the subject classifications, you can effectively navigate the library shelves to discover a rich array of literature on Adolf Hitler and Nazi Germany. You'll find resources spanning from broad historical overviews to detailed examinations of specific aspects of the Nazi regime, including:
This comprehensive range of materials allows for in-depth exploration of the subject, supporting both academic study and historical research on Hitler's regime and its lasting impact on world history.
Search the FAU Library Catalog to see what materials are available for check out. Search for books, government documents, DVDs, electronic books, streaming videos, and more.
Below is a small sample of titles found in our General Collection on the topic of Adolf Hitler and Nazi German in our library.
Bending Spines by
Why do totalitarian propaganda such as those created in Nazi Germany and the former German Democratic Republic initially succeed, and why do they ultimately fail? Outside observers often make two serious mistakes when they interpret the propaganda of this time. First, they assume the propaganda worked largely because they were supported by a police state, that people cheered Hitler and Honecker because they feared the consequences of not doing so. Second, they assume that propaganda really succeeded in persuading most of the citizenry that the Nuremberg rallies were a reflection of how most Germans thought, or that most East Germans were convinced Marxist-Leninists. Subsequently, World War II Allies feared that rooting out Nazism would be a very difficult task. No leading scholar or politician in the West expected East Germany to collapse nearly as rapidly as it did. Effective propaganda depends on a full range of persuasive methods, from the gentlest suggestion to overt violence, which the dictatorships of the twentieth century understood well. In many ways, modern totalitarian movements present worldviews that are religious in nature. Nazism and Marxism-Leninism presented themselves as explanations for all of life--culture, morality, science, history, and recreation. They provided people with reasons for accepting the status quo. Bending Spines examines the full range of persuasive techniques used by Nazi Germany and the German Democratic Republic, and concludes that both systems failed in part because they expected more of their propaganda than it was able to deliver.
HITLER'S MASTERPLAN 1933-1945 : THE ESSENTIAL FACTS AND FIGURES FOR HITLER'S GERMANY by
What if Nazi Germany had been victorious in World War II? What would the world have looked like? Between 1933 and 1945, Hitler made many plans about transport, architecture, race, forced labor and Lebensraum, among many other topics. Some of these he implemented during his leadership, but what were the unrealized plans for a Europe defeated by The Third Reich? British men would have been exported to join the Slavs in the East as forced labour, while Nordic British women would have been used in Lebensborn stud farms with SS officers to repopulate the East with Aryans. Germany and Japan were to carve up the Soviet Union and Asia between them. Berlin was to be rebuilt as Germania, a world capital city designed on grandiose, Neoclassical lines. Hitler's Masterplan reveals the true scale of Hitler's vision for a Greater Germany and a world dominated by Nazism. Arranged by topics such as Race, Architecture, Greater Germany, and Empire, the book includes exhaustive reference tables, diagrams, colourful maps and charts, presenting all the core data in easy-to-follow formats. Hitler's Masterplan is an essential reference guide for anyone interested in the history of National Socialism.
Hitler's Secret Book, The Long-Hidden Papers of Hitler's Confidential Aims for World Conquest by
Product Description: In May, 1945, an American officer in Germany confiscated the manuscript of an unpublished book ascribed to Adolf Hitler and sent it to the United States. The book had been dictated in the summer of 1928, and then placed in a safe at the Nazi party central publishing house with strict orders that it was not to be published or shown to anyone. After its confiscation by the U.S. Army, the manuscript was kept in the World War II Records Division of the United States National Archives, and in the summer of 1958, it was identified beyond any question as a second book by Hitler, devoted entirely to foreign policy.
Notes
Index.
Notes
Translation of a manuscript dictated by Hitler in 1928. Published in Germany in 1961 under title: Hitlers zweites Buch.
Contents
Introduction / Telford Taylor -- Foreword -- 1: War and peace -- 2: Necessity of strife -- 3: Race and will in the struggle for power -- 4: Elements of foreign policy -- 5: National socialist foreign policy -- 6: German needs and aims -- 7: Policies of second Reich -- 8: Military power and fallacy of border restoration as goal -- 9: Hopelessness of economic solution -- 10: Necessity for an active foreign policy -- 11: Germany and Russia -- 12: German foreign policy -- 13: German goals -- 14: England as an ally -- 15: Italy as an ally -- 16: Summary -- Index.
Hitler's table talk, 1941-1944 his private conversations by
This is a new edition of a major document from World War II with additional, previously unavailable texts assembled from the stenographic record of Hitler's informal conversations ordered by Martin Bormann. These texts remain the classic collection of Hitler's nighttime monologues with his entourage, covering mostly nonmilitary subjects and long-range plans. Hitler lets his thoughts wander, never failing to provide an opinion on every subject. Additional documents from various archives make this the most complete English-language edition in print.
Hitler's thirty days to power : January 1933 by
A history of the fateful month that gave rise to the most destructive leader of the 20th-century. Henry Ashby Turner provides an account of the events that culminated in Adolf Hitler's taking power in January of 1933.
Hitler : ascent, 1889-1939 by
A New York Times 2016 Notable Book A major new biography--an extraordinary, penetrating study of the man who has become the personification of evil. "Ullrich reveals Hitler to have been an eminently practical politician--and frighteningly so. Timely... One of the best works on Hitler and the origins of the Third Reich to appear in recent years." --Kirkus Reviews "An outstanding study... All the huge, and terrible moments of the early Nazi era are dissected...but the real strength of this book is in disentangling the personal story of man and monster." --The Guardian (U.K.) For all the literature about Adolf Hitler there have been just four seminal biographies; this is the fifth, a landmark work that sheds important new light on Hitler himself. Drawing on previously unseen papers and a wealth of recent scholarly research, Volker Ullrich reveals the man behind the public persona, from Hitler's childhood to his failures as a young man in Vienna to his experiences during the First World War to his rise as a far-right party leader. Ullrich deftly captures Hitler's intelligence, instinctive grasp of politics, and gift for oratory as well as his megalomania, deep insecurity, and repulsive worldview. Many previous biographies have focused on the larger social conditions that explain the rise of the Third Reich. Ullrich gives us a comprehensive portrait of a postwar Germany humiliated by defeat, wracked by political crisis, and starved by an economic depression, but his real gift is to show vividly how Hitler used his ruthlessness and political talent to shape the Nazi party and lead it to power. For decades the world has tried to grasp how Hitler was possible. By focusing on the man at the center of it all, on how he experienced his world, formed his political beliefs, and wielded power, this riveting biography brings us closer than ever to the answer. Translated from the German by Jefferson Chase.
Hitler and the Nazis : a history in documents by
Presents a history of the rise and fall of Hitler and Nazism through original source documents, including Nazi party records and propaganda and documents from witnesses, Holocaust survivors, and individuals who resisted the Nazi regime. Each chapter has a general introduction as well as commentary about the individual documents.The excerpts are drawn from government papers, Nazi propaganda, letters, diaries, articles, reminiscences, and trial and hearings testimony. The text is supplemented with black-and-white period photos, art, and documents, including reproductions that show how the Nazis used propaganda to create a mythical Hitler who became the all-powerful embodiment of the German nation.
Hitler at war : meetings and conversations, 1939-1945 by
During World War II Adolf Hitler held innumerable meetings with diplomats, Nazi leaders, Axis allies, German generals, and others. This is a selection of significant conversations that are assembled for the first time in a single volume. They feature: Benito Mussolini, Sumner Welles, Heinrich Himmler, Hermann G#65533;ring, Philippe P#65533;tain, Yosuke Matsuoka, Vyacheslav Molotov, Gustaf Mannerheim, Joseph Goebbels, Galeazzo Ciano, Francisco Franco, Pierre Laval, Vidkun Quisling, Mikl#65533;s Horthy, the Grand Mufti, Subhas Chandra Bose, Wilhelm Keitel, Alfred Jodl, Erich von Manstein, Erwin Rommel, Walter Schellenberg, Karl Wolff, Albert Kesselring, Kurt Zeitzler, Albert Speer, and others. Robert L. Miller, editor, is the co-author of Encyclopedia of Cold War Espionage and Indochina and Vietnam: The Thirty-Five-Year War 1940-1975.
Hitler Youth by
An in-depth account of the Hitler Youth traces the history of the organization, examining the means, degree, and impact of conversion, as well as the fate of the young recruits and the implications of the recruitment of children into a corrupt political organization.
Inside Hitler's Germany : life under the Third Reich by
With photographs and text, Hughes (modern world history, U. College, Northampton, England) and Mann (European history, U. of Surrey and U. College, London) reconstruct life in Germany not just during the war, but also in the early 1930s when Nazism brought economic benefits and genocide was just pol
The law in Nazi Germany : ideology, opportunism, and the perversion of justice by
While we often tend to think of the Third Reich as a zone of lawlessness, the Nazi dictatorship and its policies of persecution rested on a legal foundation set in place and maintained by judges, lawyers, and civil servants trained in the law. This volume offers a concise and compelling account of how these intelligent and welleducated legal professionals lent their skills and knowledge to a system of oppression and domination. The chapters address why German lawyers and jurists were attracted to Nazism; how their support of the regime resulted from a combination of ideological conviction,
Notes
Includes bibliographical references (p. 236-240) and index.
English
Notes
Description based upon print version of record.
Contents
The conundrum of complicity : German professionals and the final solution / Konrad H. Jarausch -- Civil service lawyers and the Holocaust : the case of Wilhelm Stuckart / Hans-Christian Jasch -- Roland Freisler and the Volksgerichtshof : the court as an instrument of terror / Robert D. Rachlin -- Guilt, shame, anger, indignation : Nazi law and Nazi morals / Raphael Gross -- Discrimination, degradation, defiance : Jewish lawyers under Nazism / Douglas G. Morris -- Evading responsibility for crimes against humanity : murderous lawyers at Nuremberg / Harry Reicher -- Judging German judges in the Third Reich : excusing and confronting the past / Kenneth F. Ledford.
Life in the Third Reich by
No historical subject is more apt to arouse passion and interest than the Third Reich. This collection of essays by eight leading historians presents valuable new approaches to the study of Nazi Germany.
The rise and fall of the Third Reich : a history of Nazi Germany by
Since its publication in 1960, William L. Shirer's monumental study of Hitler's German Empire has been widely acclaimed as the definitive record of this century's blackest hours. The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich offers an unparalleled and thrillingly told examination of how Adolf Hitler nearly succeeded in conquering the world. With millions of copies in print around the globe, it has attained the status of a vital and enduring classic.
Women in Nazi Germany by
From images of jubilant mothers offering the Nazi salute, to Eva Braun and Magda Goebbels, women in Hitler's Germany and their role as supporters and guarantors of the Third Reich continue to exert a particular fascination. This account moves away from the stereotypes to provide a more complete picture of how they experienced Nazism in peacetime and at war. What was the status and role of women in pre-Nazi Germany and how did different groups of women respond to the Nazi project in practice? Jill Stephenson looks at the social, cultural and economic organisation of women's lives under Nazism, and assesses opposing claims that German women were either victims or villains of National Socialism.
Writing the digital history of Nazi Germany : potentialities and challenges of digitally researching and presenting the history of the Third Reich, World War II, and the Holocaust by
How do scholarship and practices of remembrance regarding Nazi Germany benefit from digital tools and approaches? What challenges arise from "doing history digitally" in this field - and how should they best be dealt with? 　The eight chapters of this book explore these and related questions. They discuss the digital initiatives of various archives and source databases, highlight　findings of research undertaken with digital tools, and examine how such tools can be used to present history in education, exhibitions and memorials. All contributions focus on recent or, in some cases, ongoing digital projects related to the history of National Socialism, World War II, and the Holocaust.
Florida Atlantic University Libraries
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431
(561) 297-6911