American History in Video is a comprehensive digital collection offering over 7,000 videos documenting events throughout American history. Developed by Alexander Street Press, now part of ProQuest and Clarivate, this platform provides students and researchers with a wealth of historical content from the discovery of the Americas to the late 20th century.
The collection includes commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs content, and documentaries from renowned sources such as PBS, The History Channel, NASA, and the National Archives. With approximately 2,000 hours of video content, the database covers diverse themes, including the Civil War, women's suffrage, the Great Depression, World War II, and the Civil Rights movement.
American History in Video offers user-friendly features like searchable transcripts, custom clip creation, and playlist functionality. The platform's advanced search capabilities allow users to filter content by specific historical periods, regions, and topics, making it an invaluable resource for academic research and classroom instruction.
Below are just a few videos on the topic of Hitler and Nazi Germany that can be found using the above database. They were found by merely searching using the keywords: Adolf Hitler, which brought back about 108 videos, and "Nazi Germany." which brought back about 322 videos. Mine you like when you search any database, using different keywords or keyword combinations will bring back different numbers. Many of the videos found through this database are relatively short in runtime.
