LibGuides: Finding Congressional Hearings and Legislative Information: Discovering U.S. Government Information for FREE

Accessing Congressional Hearings and Congressional Information through free sources sites like gov.info and Congress.gov provides unparalleled value for researchers, policymakers, educators, and the general public alike. These platforms offer comprehensive access to a wealth of legislative materials, including transcripts, reports, bills, resolutions, and committee proceedings, shedding light on the inner workings of the U.S. Congress. By leveraging these free sources, users can stay informed about legislative debates, policy developments, and government actions, fostering transparency and accountability in the democratic process. Furthermore, the availability of Congressional information empowers individuals to track the progress of legislation, monitor the activities of elected officials, and advocate for issues of importance to them and their communities.

Moreover, accessing Congressional Hearings and information through accessible sources allows access to vital government resources, leveling the playing field for researchers and citizens regardless of their institutional affiliations or financial means. This accessibility promotes civic engagement, informed decision-making, and public discourse, enriching the democratic fabric of society. Overall, these accessible source sites serve as invaluable tools for promoting governmental transparency, civic participation, and the dissemination of accurate and timely information to the public.

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation - U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875 Beginning with the Continental Congress in 1774, America's national legislative bodies have kept records of their proceedings. The records of the Continental Congress, the Constitutional Convention, and the United States Congress make up a rich documentary history of the nation's construction and the development of the federal government and its role in national life. These documents record American history in the words of those who built our government.
Congressional Committee Calendars (Library of Congress) A legislative calendar typically includes a wealth of information about a committee’s activities, including the committee’s membership roll; the subcommittees and their membership rolls; committee rules and jurisdiction; legislation considered by the committee, indexed by date, sponsor, and subject; dates and subjects of hearings and meetings; committee prints and reports; and executive communications transmitted to the committee.
Congressional Record (Daily), govinfo The Congressional Record on the GovInfo website begins in 1994 and continues to the present.
Congressional Record, Congress.gov The Congress.gov website covers the Congressional Record, starting with the 43rd Congress (1873-1875) and continuing to the present.
Congressional Voting Records: A Beginner's Guide (Library of Congress) A recurring subject of interest to our patrons is how to find congressional voting records (also called roll call information). This topic presents more challenges than may be readily apparent because researchers must not only determine what resources cover the period of time in which the laws at issue were passed but also whether that resource is available in a paper-based or freely available digital format.
Congressional Chronicle - Follow Votes This link is provided through CSPAN, allowing you to follow the votes of the House of Representatives and the Senate.
Congress.gov Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, the Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
Overview of the Congressional Record and Its Predecessor Publications Part of the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, DC's Legislative Source Book, this article provides a detailed overview of the Congressional Record and its history.
An Overview of the Congressional Record and Its Predecessor Publications: A Research Guide Part of the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, DC's Legislative Source Book, this article provides a detailed overview of the Congressional Record and its history.
United States Senate Explore the Senate’s Constitutional foundations, its unique role in America’s governmental system, and its rich history.
E-Collection of Legal Materials (FAU Libraries) This link will take you to our e-resources of legal materials. We are not a law library and only offer the resources.
FCC Record (University of North Texas) This link offers open access to FCC Record, and it is managed by the University of North Texas Digital Library.
Federal Register/The Daily Journal of the United States Government (National Archives) This is maintained by the National Archive. Note: Documents older than 1994 are not searchable but can be found by FR citation.
govinfo Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Search CRS Reports Contains over 7,400 non-partisan reports from the Congressional Research Service on domestic and international topics.
USA.gov Search for a wide variety of government information by topic and agency.