LibGuides: Finding Congressional Hearings and Legislative Information: CQ Databases (Congressional Quarterly)

CQ Databases (Congressional Quarterly)

Congressional Quarterly, Inc., or CQ, is part of a privately owned publishing company called CQ Roll Call that produces several publications reporting primarily on the United States Congress.

The Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Databases provide a wealth of authoritative information on U.S. legislative and governmental affairs, covering a wide range of topics such as politics, public policy, and congressional activity. Accessible remotely only with FAU login credentials, researchers can delve into congressional reports, analyses, news articles, and legislative tracking tools. Public users can utilize this resource within FAU Libraries by logging in as guests. With its comprehensive coverage and user-friendly interface, the CQ Databases offer valuable insights for students, scholars, and professionals interested in understanding the complexities of the U.S. political system and policymaking process. Whether exploring current events, conducting legislative research, or analyzing policy trends, the CQ Databases serve as an essential resource for gaining in-depth knowledge of Congress and its operations.

CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window Off-campus access problems with Sage. Please follow these instructions for a temporary reroute: After clicking the link above, click “Institution” in the top, right corner of the resulting webpage. Then, click “Access via Your Institution”. Type ‘Florida Atlantic University’ and hit ‘continue’. Analysis on the major legislation and actions of congress since 1945. Data on the voting patterns of Congress members provides insight into the legislative process and history of the institution. Users can follow the history of a policy issue with the Policy Tracker tool which links reports on the same issue for almost 70 years.
CQ Magazine This link opens in a new window Off-campus access problems with Sage. Please follow these instructions for a temporary reroute: After clicking the link above, click “Institution” in the top, right corner of the resulting webpage. Then, click “Access via Your Institution”. Type ‘Florida Atlantic University’ and hit ‘continue’. Coverage of the U.S. Congress: including status of bills, votes and amendments, and floor and committee activity.
CQ Press Historic Documents This link opens in a new window In CQ Historic Documents Series Online Edition, you can find the entire collection of the acclaimed Historic Documents print editions. Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science, and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Funded by statewide allocation.