Skip to Main Content
This summer, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase's extensive journal and conference coverage, together with in-depth drug indexing and daily updates, supports tracking and precise retrieval of drug and disease information.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
A clinical search engine powered by Elsevier’s proprietary medical taxonomy, EMMeT. ClinicalKey cross searches over 1,000 books, 500 journals, and 2,500 procedural videos from evidence-based and peer-reviewed resources.
MEDLINE/PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration: The Cochrane Central Registry of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Review of Effects, Health Technology Assessment, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Evidence-Based Medicine Toolkit by Carl Heneghan; Douglas Badenoch
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
This bestselling pocket guide to the skills of evidence-based medicine succeeds in demystifying the terminology and processes in a handy and easy-to-follow format, all within the space of 100 pages.With an improved layout, this second edition of Evidence-based Medicine Toolkit offers more up-to-date guidance as well as new sections on important areas of research. Furthermore, this edition includes a box for each major database showing how to search the evidence, new critical appraisal sections on qualitative research and economic evaluation as well as an expanded list of EBM resources on the net.With these added features to make the job easier, the new Toolkit is now an even better companion for all health care professionals using evidence-based methodology in their research and practice.
How to Read a Paper by Trisha Greenhalgh
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
In this lucid, readable book Trisha Greenhalgh provides the basics of evidence based medicine: how to find a medical research paper, assess it for its scientific validity, and where relevant, put the findings into practice.; Written for anyone, medically qualified or not, who wishes to understand and apply evidence based medicine, How to Read a Paper makes seemingly obscure concepts clear and relevant, using practical examples and considering all the main types of research paper.; This book is a comprehensive introduction to the usefulness and potential applications of evidence based medicine in the clinical setting.
Evidence-Based Family Medicine by Walter W. Rosser; M. Sharon Shafir
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
This volume is designed to help educators, practitioners and patients teach evidence-based medicine. Until the middle of the last century, most interventions in clinical practice were based on the experience of generations of physicians. The evolution of epidemiology, and subsequently clinical epidemiology, resulted in methods that allowed the objective critique of all therapies used in clinical practice.
Symptom to Diagnosis by Scott D. C. Stern; Adam Cifu; Diane Altkorn; Scott Stern
Publication Date: 2009-09-16
An engaging case-based approach to learning the diagnostic process in internal medicine "All clinicians caring for patients, from medical students to residents and attending physicians, are the intended audience. The book is well written for all levels, and the authors are well-respected educators and experts in the field. 3 Stars."--"Doody's Review Service" "Symptom to Diagnosis" teaches you an evidence-based, step-by-step process for evaluating, diagnosing, and treating patients based on their clinical complaints. By applying this process you will be able to recognize specific diseases and prescribe the most effective therapy. Each chapter is built around a common patient complaint that illustrates essential concepts and provides insight into the process by which the differential diagnosis is identified. Coverage for each disease includes: Textbook Presentation offers a concise statement of the common or classic presentation of the particular disease Disease Highlights covers the most pertinent epidemiologic and pathophysiologic information for the disease Evidence-Based Diagnosis reviews the accuracy of the history, physical exam, laboratory and radiologic tests for the disease. In this unique section, the author points out the findings that help you "rule in" or "rule out" the various diseases. Treatment details the basics of therapy for the disease discussed Filled with algorithms, summary tables, and questions that direct evaluation, "Symptom to Diagnosis" is a true must read before your first clinical encounter.
JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window
An online resource for the teaching, learning, and application of evidence-based medicine, JAMAevidence helps students and clinicians identify, appraise, and use the best available evidence to assess health problems and the outcomes of health care.
Evaluating Systematic Reviews
How to Read a Systematic Review and Meta-analysis and Apply the Results to Patient Care
Clinical decisions should be based on the totality of the best evidence and not the results of individual studies. When clinicians apply the results of a systematic review or meta-analysis to patient care, they should start by evaluating the credibility of the methods of the systematic review, ie, the extent to which these methods have likely protected against misleading results. Credibility depends on whether the review addressed a sensible clinical question; included an exhaustive literature search; demonstrated reproducibility of the selection and assessment of studies; and presented results in a useful manner. For reviews that are sufficiently credible, clinicians must decide on the degree of confidence in the estimates that the evidence warrants (quality of evidence). Confidence depends on the risk of bias in the body of evidence; the precision and consistency of the results; whether the results directly apply to the patient of interest; and the likelihood of reporting bias. Shared decision making requires understanding of the estimates of magnitude of beneficial and harmful effects, and confidence in those estimates.
Last updated on May 16, 2023 3:27 PM