Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Basic and Clinical Biostatistics by
Publication Date: 2004-04-15
A Doody's Core Title for 2015! A comprehensive user-friendly introduction to biostatistics and epidemiology applied to medicine, clinical practice, and research. Features "Presenting Problems" (case studies) drawn from studies published in the medical literature, end-of-chapter, and a CD-ROM with data sets and statistical software programs.
Biostatistics: The Bare Essentials by
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
This new edition of the ultimate guide to biostatistics once again takes a highly entertaining approach to an area normally reserved for dry, hard-to-follow books. Students benefit not only from the humorous aspects, but also the in-depth and memorable discussions. The first edition sold 10,500 units (English and Spanish editions). The second edition contains updates and revisions to every chapter.
Biostatistics: a guide to design, analysis, and discovery by
Publication Date: 2006-12-14
Today, mathematics, biology, medicine, and statistics are closing the interdisciplinary gap in an unprecedented way and many of the important unanswered questions now emerge at the interface of these disciplines. Now in its Second Edition, this user-friendly guide on biostatistics focuses on the proper use and interpretation of statistical methods. This textbook does not require extensive background in mathematics, making it user-friendly for all students in the public health sciences field. Instead of highlighting derivations of formulas, the authors provide rationales for the formulas, allowing students to grasp a better understanding of the link between biology and statistics. The material on life tables and survival analysis allows students to better understand the recent literature in the health field, particularly in the study of chronic disease treatment. Biostatistics now includes a companion website to demonstrate the different applications of computer packages for performing the various analyses presented in this text. * Includes access to a companion website with further examples and a full explanation of computer packages * Over 40% new material with modern real-life examples, exercises and references * New chapters on Logistic Regression; Analysis of Survey Data; and Study Designs * Introduces strategies for analyzing complex sample survey data * Written in a conversational style more accessible to students with real data
The Essentials of Biostatistics for Physicians, Nurses, and Clinicians by
Publication Date: 2011-09-27
A fundamental and straightforward guide to using and understanding statistical concepts in medical research. Designed specifically for healthcare practitioners who need to understand basic biostatistics but do not have much time to spare, The Essentials of Biostatistics for Physicians, Nurses and Clinicians presents important statistical methods used in today biomedical research and provides insight on their appropriate application. Rather than provide detailed mathematics for each of these methods, the book emphasizes what healthcare practitioners need to know to interpret and incorporate the latest biomedical research into their practices. The author draws from his own experience developing and teaching biostatistics courses for physicians and nurses, offering a presentation that is non-technical and accessible. The book begins with a basic introduction to the relationship between biostatistics and medical research, asking the question "why study statistics?," while also exploring the significance of statisitcal methods in medical literature and clinical trials research. Subsequent chapters explore key topics, including: Correlation, regression, and logistic regression. ;Diagnostics ;Estimating means and proportions Normal distribution and the central limit theorem Sampling from populations Contingency tables Meta-analysis Nonparametric methods Survival analysis Throughout the book, statistical methods that are often utilized in biomedical research are outlined, including repeated measures analysis of variance, hazard ratios, contingency tables, log rank tests, bioequivalence, cross-over designs, selection bias, and group sequential methods. Exercise sets at the end of each chapter allow readers to test their comprehension of the presented concepts and techniques. The Essentials of Biostatistics for Physicians, Nurses, and Clinicians is an excellent reference for doctors, nurses, and other practicing clinicians in the fields of medicine, public health, pharmacy, and the life sciences who need to understand and apply statistical methods in their everyday work. It also serves as a suitable supplement for courses on biostatistics at the upper-undergraduate and graduate levels.
Introductory Biostatistics by
Publication Date: 2003-05-27
Provides many real-data sets in various fields in the form of examples at at the end of all twelve chapters in the form of exercises. Covers all of the nuts and bolts of biostatistics in a user-friendly style that motivates readers. Contains notes on computations at the end of most chapters, covering the use of Excel, SAS, and others.
Biostats Articles & Resources
Biostatistics and study design for evidence-based practice.
The hallmark of an evidence-based practitioner is one who reflects on their clinical decision making and uses research evidence to reduce clinical uncertainty and guide their practice. Understanding how the results of empirical research can be appropriately integrated into clinical practice requires a basic understanding of study design and statistical analysis. This article provides an overview of some of the key concepts related to study design and statistical inference that are important to accurately measure clinical outcomes and to appropriately interpret the results of studies within the context of evidence-based decision making.
Among the important scientific developments of the 20th century is the explosive growth in statistical reasoning and methods for application to studies of human health. Examples include developments in likelihood methods for inference, epidemiologic statistics, clinical trials, survival analysis, and statistical genetics. Substantive problems in public health and biomedical research have fueled the development of statistical methods, which in turn have improved our ability to draw valid inferences from data. The objective of Biostatistics is to advance statistical science and its application to problems of human health and disease, with the ultimate goal of advancing the public's health.