*FAU LibGuides: Standards & Best Practices | Internal: Migration Review

1. Replace common boxes with ones from the Reusable Boxes guide.

   1. If you have a mapped or recycled box (icon in title bar of box), you may remove this box or reuse a box from the Reusable Boxes guide in its place. 

   2. If you have an Original Entry box (icon in title bar of box), DO NOT remove this box. This is a box that other boxes are linked to. Instead, contact Lauri to discuss or email her with guide title, page title, and box title.(She may say leave it as is, or may remap the items to another link for the same URL).

1. Check type of content in each box (Links / Databases)

   1. Click on "Add/Reorder" and then scroll to the bottom and click "Reorder Content." (See sample box below).

   2. You will be able to see which of your assets are "linked" versus which are mapped as "databases" (see below). 

   3. For those items listed as "Link Group,"

      1. Add them to your guide as "databases" using A-Z database list

      2. Then delete the "Link Group" assets for those newly added A-Z database items. 

      3. Drag and drop the mapped databases to order them in the box. 

      4. Drag and drop any other items (i.e., Rich Text, Widgets, etc.) to their correct order in the box.

Rich text content migrated from LibGuides 1 did not automatically become Link content types / assets. This means several things:

• If you click on "Add/Reorder" for a box and you don't have the option to "Reorder Content," all of your content is "Rich Text."
• In order for the links to be checked automatically each week, they need to manually be created as Link assets.
• Creating items as Link assets allows for them to be reused by everyone at our Libraries!

• First, check to see if the item exists as a Link asset within our system (reuse content). 
  • Which link to use?
    • Guide with "*" next to it indicates the original guide where link occurs 
    • Asset/Link/Widget, etc. that has the most number of links to guides  
    • Asset List (if it was created directly in the Asset list, it will not show any "active mappings.")
  • If an Asset Link does not exist, then create the item as a link within the Link asset system. 
  • After the item resides as a link in your box, then go back and delete it as Rich Text. 
• It is best to use Rich Text ONLY for content that are not hyperlinked.
• You can add Link assets or reuse Link assets wherever you wish within boxes, in between Rich Text, Widgets, etc. 

1. For links to "other than databases" (i.e., websites), if you know it is a common website, check to see if you can "reuse" or "map" to another link already in the system. This will help us consolidate our links.

Which link to use?

         1st choice:      Asset Link

         2nd choice:     Most populated Link

1. Centering Images in a box

   1. If the image needs to be centered in the box, click on the box to choose it. 

   2. Next, click outside the box (right or left side). You should see the "center" icon is available for your use in the alignment toolbar on the left side of the toolbar in your box.
       . Click on the center icon to center the image. 

2. Centering Images in a Gallery Box

   1. There is currently NO WAY to center images within a Gallery Box.

   2. If your image is the full width of 1200 pixels, it will appear to be centered within the gallery box. 

Add Alt Tags to all images, videos and other media. 

• If you are using images from the Shared Drive, they may already be tagged. (Lucky you!)
• Add Alt Tags to images, videos and other media. 
• You can only add Alt Tags to images when you create them or when you are in the actual guide that contains the image. If you don't see how to edit the image, right click on it and an image menu should appear. 

It is also suggested that you review all of your images in your Personal Image Library for:

• Duplicates found in Shared Library? Reuse the Shared Library Images and then delete your Personal Library images after you are done. 
• Have images you want to be added to the Shared Library for all to use? Contact Lauri or Allison and we'll add them in.

1. Video is missing from view

   1. if missing from view, click on the preview icon  to see if the video appears when in public view. 

   2. If video does not appear in public view, go back into the edit mode (leave "preview mode").

      1. Click on the edit options icon and then choose Edit.

      2. Next, click on "Source" at the top right side of the toolbar that appears. 

         1. If the code for the video shows up in the box, you may be able to change the "http" at the beginning of the URL to "https" to get the video to work. Make the change, save it, and then check the video again in preview mode. 

         2. If the video still does not work, check to see if you can "reuse" it from another guide.

         3. If it is not available for reuse, go back to YouTube or other source to get new embed code to add the video. 

         4. See Lauri with questions or if this gets too complicated. 

1. Centering Videos in a box

   1. When in the "edit mode," click on the edit options icon and then choose Edit.

   2. Click on "Source" at the top right side of the toolbar that appears. 

   3. In the Source box, before the code for the video, type the following: <center>

   4. After the last character of the code for the video, type the following: </center>

   5. Save, and your video should be centered (left to right) in the box.

1. Check order of the boxes on your page.

2. Move the boxes and/or resize the columns as needed.

   1. Move boxes: (Page---Reorder / Move---Boxes, and then drag and drop in order)

   2. Resize Columns: (Layout---choose the size of the columns you wish to use).

3. Create Tabbed Boxes if you wish to combine information in an orderly fashion. (You would need to create a new box as a "tabbed box," but you can copy and paste content from any of your boxes)

4. Again, If box content is not in correct order,

   1. go to either "Page---Reorder / Move---Content Items" and drag and drop items in order

   2. or "Add/Reorder," choose "Reorder Content" and drag and drop items in order. 

1. Test all links within your guide (except those linked to A-Z databases) to make certain they work correctly.