Articles, Journals, & Databases

When to Use Databases vs. Electronic Journals

Are you trying to decide whether to use our Databases vs. Electronic Journals?

If you are researching a particular topic and you know the name of the database you want to use click on the following:

Databases

If you are looking for a specific journal title and want to see if we have access to it then click on the following:

Electronic Journals

Selected Library Databases

Research Databases

PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO Indexes international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Also see PsycNET.

Funded by statewide allocation.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The database features more than 1,660,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 344 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 129 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 700 books and monographs, and full text for 6,800 conference papers.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Includes Education Full Text, Education Index Retrospective and additional content.
Education Source provides scholarly research and information covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

Funded by statewide allocation.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global includes international dissertations and theses as well as all previous content. It is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Instructors, please use the permalink for these videos in Canvas; the video embed code does not work properly.

Supports research at all levels by helping to guide users through every step of the research process. From a quick dictionary definition, a case study example from a researcher in the field, a downloadable teaching dataset, a full-text title from the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series, or a video tutorial showing research in action.

The Campbell Collaboration Library of Systematic Reviews
The Campbell Collaboration (C2) helps people make well-informed decisions by preparing, maintaining and disseminating systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, and social welfare.

Legal Databases

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Accesses over a billion full-text news, magazine, legal, and business articles and reports, including newspapers, magazines, state and federal laws and regulations, case law, newsletters, and company and industry information.

Funded by statewide allocation.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Westlaw enables students and faculty to research law-related issues. This comprehensive collection of legal content includes expert's analysis from hundreds of law reviews and journals, encyclopedias, treatises and full-text legislation, regulations, and court decisions.

Testing and Measurement Databases

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to four (4) simultaneous users.
Mental Measurements Yearbook provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Tests in Print (TIP), a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English, is now included.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to five (5) simultaneous users.
Produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, this comprehensive bibliographic database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. HaPI also provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, including those from Industrial Organizational Behavior and Education.
PsycTests (APA) This link opens in a new window
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

OpenAthens - authenticate yourself to use our electronic resources!

Through a statewide initiative in coordination with FALSC and other institutions of the Florida College System and State University System libraries, the FAU Libraries is transitioning e-resources authentication from EZproxy to OpenAthens.

OpenAthens is a gateway service that provides access to the FAU Libraries' licensed electronic resources. For the first time, you will have access to the Libraries’ e-resources without needing to be on the Libraries’ website! You can use an Internet search engine like Google or go directly to a publisher’s website to access the Libraries “Athenized” e-resources via FAU Single Sign-On (SSO)!

More information can be found here OpenAthens
How To Use OpenAthens
OpenAthens Video Tutorials

How to Read a Journal Article

Click here for a short article on how to effectively

read,
skim,
evaluate and
find information in articles!

Why Use Web of Science?

Web of Science covers all disciplines, not just science. The Cited Reference Search is used to find any authors that have cited a particular article. Basic search results can be sorted by number of times cited, indicating the most influential articles on a topic.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

Evaluating Articles & Information

Google Scholar

Need help using Google Scholar? Check here.

Some articles listed in Google Scholar are available from FAU in Full Text.

If FAU does not have access to full text of the article, please use Interlibrary Loan to request a copy of the article for your use.

Need to see if your article is from a peer-reviewed journal? Use Ulrichsweb.com to search for the journal title. If you see a referee shirt next to the title, it is a peer-reviewed journal.

Last updated on Sep 12, 2024 9:31 AM - Guide Creator(s)

MHS 7730: Advanced Research in Counseling