Skip to Main Content
Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
Agriculture Network Information Center
AgNIC is the Agriculture Network Information Center – a voluntary alliance and partnership of nearly 60 member institutions and organizations working to offer quick and reliable access to quality agricultural information and sources.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.”
Center for Aquatic and Invasive Plants - University of Florida
This website includes APIRS Database, a plant glossary, laws on invasive plants, and research publications.
Common Names of Plant Diseases - APS
APS, or American Phytopathological Society's, listing of common names of plant diseases. Plan Diseases are caused by living organisms (called pathogens), such as fungi, bacteria, viruses, nematodes, phytoplasmas, protozoa, and parasitic plants; and by nonliving agents, such as air pollutants, nutrient imbalances, and various environmental factors.
Database & Publications from Kew Royal Botanic Gardens
Brow's Kew's databases and publications, including DNA Bank, Seed Information Database and more.
Index Herbariorum - New York Botanical Garden
Index Herbariorum is a guide to the world's herbaria. Information is available for searching by institution, city, state, acronym, staff member, correspondent, research specialty, and important collections. Telephone and fax numbers and e-mail and URL addresses are included.
Note that the Index is fully searchable on research specialty, so it also serves as a PLANT SPECIALISTS INDEX.
Native American Ethnobotany
A database of foods, drugs, dyes and fibers of Native American Peoples derived from plants.
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Find information about state regulations on horticulture and botany. This page leads to state divisions of Forestry, Fruit and Vegetables, and Plant Industry.
Ethnobotany Research & Applications
Ethnobotany Research & Applications is an electronic, peer-reviewed, multi-disciplinary journal devoted to the rapid dissemination of current research.
Ethnomedicinals for Research and Development
Dedicated to the transfer of information on the use of herbs and other natural products in biochemistry, pharmacology, and traditional medicine
Nomenclature & Identification
Carnivorous Plant Database
This site provides over 3,000 entries on the nomenclatural synopsis of all carnivorous plants.
Index Nonimum Genericorum (ING) - Smithsonian Institution
A compilation of generic names published for organisms covered by the International Code of Botanical Nomenclature.
International Plant Names Index
The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and fern allies. Its goal is to eliminate the need for repeated reference to primary sources for basic bibliographic information about plant names. The data are freely available and are gradually being standardized and checked. IPNI will be a dynamic resource, depending on direct contributions by all members of the botanical community.
Linnaean Plant Name Typfication Project - Natural History Museum (UK)
Linnaean Plant Name Typification Project, based at The Natural History Museum, has been collating and cataloguing information on published type designations for Linnaean plant names and, where none exists, has been collaborating with specialists in designating appropriate types.
Find images, common names and species names for various plants.
U.S. Department of Agriculture - PLANTS Database
This page provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
The Plant Atlas website incorporates standards-based data-driven internet technologies to disseminate plant information, images and distribution maps to the public.