Skip to Main Content
Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
Search Library Catalogs
Find materials from all Florida public colleges and universities. Use UBorrow to request materials.
Search WorldCat to locate books and other materials in libraries throughout North America and the world. Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request items found in WorldCat.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is now available on the new WorldCat Discovery platform. A comprehensive catalog with over 179 million bibliographic records representing library collections from around the world. The catalog includes books, print journals, DVDs, historic photos, video games, musical scores, newspapers, webpages and other items.
- Call Number: SB107 - SB109
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of electronic books purchased mostly by the FAU Libraries, with some of the collection purchased with student tech fees.
A Dictionary of Plant Sciences by Michael Allaby (Editor)
This is the most comprehensive and up-to-date paperback dictionary of botany available. Fully revised for this new edition, with over 5500 clear and concise entries, it will be invaluable to students, amateur botanists and naturalists, and everyone with an interest in plants and theirenvironments. Wide coverage including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, biogeography, Earth history, and the Earth sciences World-wide coverage of taxonomic groups - one-third of the entries are devoted to taxa, from bacteria and fungi to the main groups of flowering and non-flowering plants Many new entries added from the field of molecular biology
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Introduction to Botany by James Schooley
Written specifically for the horticultural student, this new text presents an ideal introduction to botany for the nonscience major. The book's systematic organization around the five-kingdom system effectively covers the botanical basics, while the many illustrations make new scientific concepts easy to understand. By clearly presenting such topics as respiration, fermentation, photosynthesis, and physical properties of protoplasm, the text builds a solid biological foundation for further study in the plant sciences.ALSO AVAILABLELab Manual, ISBN: 0-8273-7380-5INSTRUCTORS SUPPLEMENTS CALL CUSTOMER SUPPORT TO ORDERLab Manual - Instructor's Guide, ISBN: 0-8273-8047-X Instructor's Manual, ISBN: 0-8273-7379-1
Call Number: eBooks
Publication Date: 1997-01-09
The Names of Plants by David Gledhill
The Names of Plants is a handy two-part reference for the botanist and amateur gardener. The book begins by documenting the historical problems associated with an ever-increasing number of common names of plants and the resolution of these problems through the introduction of International Codes for both botanical and horticultural nomenclature. It also outlines the rules to be followed when plant breeders name a new species or cultivar of plant. The second part of the book comprises an alphabetical glossary of generic and specific plant names, and components of these, from which the reader may interpret the existing names of plants and construct new names. For the third edition, the book has been updated to include explanations of the International Codes for both Botanical Nomenclature (2000) and Nomenclature for Cultivated Plants (1995). The glossary has similarly been expanded to incorporate many more commemorative names.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2002-10-10
The following is a partial list of subject headings related to Botany that can be used to locate books and other items in the FAU Libraries Catalog.
- Plant anatomy
- Plant ecology
- Plant molecular biology
UBorrow: Borrow Books from Other Florida Colleges and Universities
Use UBorrow to directly request materials from participating libraries within Florida's state colleges and universities.