Skip to Main Content
Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
Index to Plant Chromosome Numbers - Missouri Botanical Garden
The Index to Plant Chromosome Numbers is an NSF funded project that aims to extract and index original plant chromosome numbers of naturally occurring and cultivated plants published throughout the world.
Tropicos - Missouri Botanical Garden
Contains nomenclatural, bibliographic, and specimen data accumulated in MBG’s electronic databases during the past 25 years. This system has over 1.2 million scientific names and 3.9 million specimen records.
Index Herbariorum - New York Botanical Garden
Index Herbariorum is a guide to the world's herbaria. Information is available for searching by institution, city, state, acronym, staff member, correspondent, research specialty, and important collections. Telephone and fax numbers and e-mail and URL addresses are included.
Note that the Index is fully searchable on research specialty, so it also serves as a PLANT SPECIALISTS INDEX.
Off Campus Connect
If you are using FAU's online resources from off campus, please authenticate yourself by logging in at Off Campus Connect.
Algology, Mycology and Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C) This link opens in a new window
Scope of coverage includes reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics, and infection and immunity in man, other animals, and plants.
AGRICOLA (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
(National Agricultural Library) |1970-present
Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search multiple databases covering the biological sciences.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Our full text availability covers journal issues published on BioOne through June 30, 2020.
BioOne brings to the Web an aggregation of the full texts of high-impact bioscience research journals.
Elsevier ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and ebooks in engineering, science, technology, health, and social science disciplines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes the premier research journals of the Ecological Society of America along with titles broadly focused on ecosystems. The botany titles encompass a range of topics such as plant biology, systematic botany, and taxonomy.
Plant Science This link opens in a new window
Plant Science is a bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focusing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, and biotechnology.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database covering the journal literature of the sciences. Coverage from 1945 to present.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Nearly 1,500 online publications for researchers and professionals.
Linking Florida's Natural Heritage This link opens in a new window
This page includes links to various botanical data and collections throughout the state of Florida, as well as plant and herbarium information.
Type Specimens in the University of Florida Herbarium This link opens in a new window
A nomenclatural type specimen is a herbarium sheet(s) or illustration to which the name of a taxon (species, genus, subspecies, etc.) is permanently assigned, whether as a correct name or as a synonym. The type specimen chosen for the name is not necessarily the typical or representative element of a taxon (International Code of Botanical Nomenclature, 2000). Type specimens coupled with published descriptions may be considered the foundation of scientific plant names, botanical nomenclature.
Search for scholarly literature, and explore related works, citations, authors, and publications. Patents info and links to legal cases are also available here.
Theses and Dissertations
Find theses and dissertations from FAU and other colleges and universities!
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.