LibGuides: Peace, Justice, & Human Rights Initiative: Journals, Indexes & Databases

When to Use Databases vs. Electronic Journals

Are you trying to decide whether to use our Indexes/Databases vs. Electronic Journals?

If you are researching a particular topic and you know the name of the database you want to use click on the following:

Databases
A Database is what is created when a large number of electronic journals are put in one place and a search interface (usually a search box) is added to help find what you need. Both databases and electronic journals can be subject specific. When you have a database that only has the title or abstract, but not the full text, it is usually referred to as an Index.

If you are looking for a specific journal title and want to see if we have access to it then click on the following:

Electronic Journals
An Electronic Journal (or E-journal) is a traditional journal that is in an electronic format; either because it was originally created that way, or because someone took a print journal article and scanned it to make it available electronically.

Indexes & Databases

Below are a few databases that cover areas of Inequalities & Social Inclusion.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family This link opens in a new window
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window

Academic Journals

Below are is a small list of Journals that will cover areas pertaining to Inequalities & Social Inclusion.

Web of Science

Web of Science covers all disciplines, not just science. The Cited Reference Search is used to find any authors that have cited a particular article. Basic search results can be sorted by number of times cited, indicating the most influential articles on a topic.

Find help using Web of Science (tutorials and more) at https://libguides.fau.edu/citationtools-boca/WOS.