Skip to Main Content
Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
When to Use Indexes/Databases vs. Electronic Journals
Are you trying to decide whether to use our Indexes/Databases vs. Electronic Journals?
If you are researching a particular topic and you know the name of the database you want to use click on the following:
If you are looking for a specific journal title and want to see if we have access to it then click on the following:
Select Databases found at FAU
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
African American Biographical Database This link opens in a new window
Brings together in one resource the biographies of thousands of African Americans, many not to be found in any other reference source. These biographical sketches have been carefully assembled from biographical dictionaries and other sources.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
This resource enables users to search more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1900 This link opens in a new window
Early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690-1876) and Series II (1758-1900).
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to six (6) simultaneous users.
Covers United States and Canadian history from prehistory to the present providing indexing and bibliographic references for the contents of 1,700 journals.
Funded by statewide allocation.
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
This resource knits together more than 400 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs, to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war.
American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922: From the American Antiquarian Society This link opens in a new window
From the comprehensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society, this collection offers printed items addressing all facets of the Civil War and its aftermath. These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include broadsides, lithographs, maps, books, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, stereographs, and more.
American Periodicals (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922 This link opens in a new window
This digital edition of the American Antiquarian Society???s holdings of slavery and abolition materials includes works published over the course of more than 100 years. These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera; among them are a large number of invaluable Southern imprints.
HarpWeek This link opens in a new window
This resource provides electronic access to Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912.
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-page and article images from the New York Times from its first issue in 1851 to three years before the current date. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. The database is an ongoing project.
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new window
The Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines website makes it possible for you to discover the lively news stories, illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature, and even advertisements that shaped and reflected public opinion in this era.
Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera This link opens in a new window
Provides a vivid visual history of a nation in crisis. Thousands of dramatic images from the fields of battle, politics, and general society allow students and researchers to experience the events, both monumental and mundane, of the war that tested and defined the core meaning of America.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines. Most full-text access is archival; some current full text.
Also includes a collection of over 500 Spanish-language e-books, which are student tech fee funded.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Provides the tools for searching the Congressional Record, finding members of Congress, tracking proposed legislation by keyword and sponsor, and searching Congressional hearings, the Federal Register, the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection, Congressional committee schedules, Committee Prints and Miscellaneous Publications, and Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports.
ProQuest U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
This resource is a growing collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of the Congress, dating from 1789. It contains comprehensive and often detailed information on an extremely wide range of subjects, and includes Congressional reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress.
Theses and Dissertations
Find theses and dissertations from FAU and other colleges and universities!
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.
NEW - OpenAthens - authenticate yourself to use our electronic resources!
Through a statewide initiative in coordination with FALSC and other institutions of the Florida College System and State University System libraries, the FAU Libraries is transitioning e-resources authentication from EZproxy to OpenAthens.
OpenAthens is a gateway service that provides access to the FAU Libraries' licensed electronic resources. For the first time, you will have access to the Libraries’ e-resources without needing to be on the Libraries’ website! You can use an Internet search engine like Google or go directly to a publisher’s website to access the Libraries “Athenized” e-resources via FAU Single Sign-On (SSO)!