Articles and Journals

When to Use Databases vs. Electronic Journals

Are you trying to decide whether to use our Indexes/Databases vs. Electronic Journals?

If you are researching a particular topic and you know the name of the database you want to use click on the following:

Databases
A Database is what is created when a large number of electronic journals are put in one place and a search interface (usually a search box) is added to help find what you need. Both databases and electronic journals can be subject specific. When you have a database that only has the title or abstract, but not the full text, it is usually referred to as an Index.

If you are looking for a specific journal title and want to see if we have access to it then click on the following:

Electronic Journals
An Electronic Journal (or E-journal) is a traditional journal that is in an electronic format; either because it was originally created that way, or because someone took a print journal article and scanned it to make it available electronically.

Selected Library Databases

View the full list of our databases on Education and Human Development.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections This link opens in a new window Open Access A free web-based resource for researchers and policymakers, to promote high-quality research and the use of that research in policymaking. This resource includes citations for peer-reviewed journal articles, books, research reports, fact sheets and briefs, grey literature, instruments, and government documents.
Education Full Text and ERIC This link opens in a new window This link allows searching of both of these databases covering the literature in the field of education.
Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 This link opens in a new window
Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Week This link opens in a new window Independent, non-profit newspaper covering K-12 education. Published 37 times a year, including three issues of annual reports.
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Contains more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports from the U.S. Department of Education. A resource for any educator - from school teachers and administrators to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Provides full-text results for nearly half of the journal titles found in ERIC.
ERIC (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Florida Electronic Library (FEL) This link opens in a new window
The Florida Electronic Library is a gateway to select Internet resources that offers access to comprehensive, accurate, and reliable information, including magazines, newspapers, almanacs, encyclopedias, and books. FEL offers information for all age groups, including homework help for students (primary & secondary) and resources for teachers. Access is available to all Florida residents.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, and education. Funded by statewide allocation.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window The database features more than 1,660,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 344 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 129 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 700 books and monographs, and full text for 6,800 conference papers.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Ulrichsweb.com This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window

Web of Science

Web of Science covers all disciplines, not just science. The Cited Reference Search is used to find any authors that have cited a particular article. Basic search results can be sorted by number of times cited, indicating the most influential articles on a topic.

Find help using Web of Science (tutorials and more) at https://libguides.fau.edu/citationtools-boca/WOS.

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

Last updated on Oct 16, 2024 2:18 PM - Guide Creator(s)

EDG 7938: Foundations of Curriculum Inquiry

Articles and Journals

When to Use Databases vs. Electronic Journals

Selected Library Databases

Select E-Journals here at FAU

Web of Science

Locating Full-Text Articles