Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies (WGSS)

Also explore our Resource Guide on Women's Studies

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

A
About-Face 
African-American Women Writers of the 19th Century, New York Public Library
Alice Paul Institute 
Amelia Bloomer Project: Recommended Feminist Literature for Birth to Age 18 
American Association of University Women 
American Jewess (journal)
American Psychological Association, Report of the APA Task Force on the Sexualization of Girls 
The American Woman on the Web: A Statistical Portrait, The Women's Research & Education Institute 
American Women Home Page, Library of Congress Resources
American Women's History, Middle Tennessee State University
Association for Feminist Ethics and Social Theory (FEAST) 
Association for Women in Communications 
Association for Women in Computing 
Association for Women in Mathematics  
Association for Women in Psychology   
Association of Women in Science (AWIS)  
Association for Women's Rights in Development (AWID Women's Rights) 

B
Biographies of Women Mathematicians 
Black American Feminism, University of California, Santa Barbara
British Women Romantic Poets, 1789-1832, University of California Davis

C
Catholics for Choice
Celebration of Women Writers, University of Pennsylvania
Center for American Women and Politics, Eagleton Institute of Politics, Rutgers University
Center for Health and Gender Equity (CHANGE)
Center for Reproductive Rights
Center for Women in Technology, University of Maryland, Baltimore Campus
Chicago Women's Liberation Union "herstory" Project (CWLU) 
Clearinghouse on Women's Issues (CWI) 
The Clothesline Project 
Commission on Domestic Violence, American Bar Association 
Committee on Women, Population, and the Environment 
Core Books (compiled by the Women's Studies Section ACRL) 
CreativeFolk.com

D
The Declaration of the Rights of Woman, Olympia de Gouges, September 1791, Center for History and New Media, George Mason University
Democracy through Partnership between Men and Women in Politics, the Inter-Parliamentary Union
Discovering  American Women's History Online, Middle Tennessee State University 
Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement: An On-line Archival Collection, Special Collections Library, Duke University 
Domestic Violence, Commission on, American Bar Association 
Domestic Violence Statistics, Florida Coalition Against Domestic Violence

E
EcoFem.org
Emory Women Writers Resource Project, Emory University
Equality Florida
Every Woman Every Child

F
FabFems (Female Role Models)
Facts for Features: Women's History Month, United States Census Bureau
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index, University of Iowa
Feminist.com
Feminism and Philosophy, Center for Digital Discourse and Culture at Virginia Tech University
Feminist Majority Foundation
Feminist Periodicals: A Current Listing of Contents, Women's Studies Librarian's Office, University of Wisconsin Library System
Feminist Women's Healthcare
Florida Commission on the Status of Women
Free Online Course Materials, Women's and Gender Studies, MIT OpenCourseWare

G
Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media
Gender, ELDIS, Institute of Development Studies, Sussex, UK
Gender Action, Washington, DC, USA
Gender Equity Report Card
Gender Info, United Nations
Genderstats: Database of Gender Statistics, World Bank
Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the World, Sweet Briar College
Girls Gotta Run Foundation
Global Gender Gap Report 2013, World Economic Forum
Global List of Womens Organisations
Guerrilla Girls
Guide to Women's & Gender Studies, Ms. Magazine and the NWSA
The Guttmacher Institute

H
Home Economics Archive (HEARTH), Cornell University

I
International Center for Research on Women
International Gender Studies Resources
International Museum of Women
International Women's Day, The Aurora Network
International Women's Rights Action Watch, University of Minnesota
The International Women's Writing Guild
Institute for Teaching and Research on Women (ITROW) , Towson State University
Institute for Women's Policy Research (IWPR)

J
Jewish American Women's Archive
Job Patterns for Minorities and Women in Private Industry, U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

L
Losing My Religion for Equality, former U.S. President Jimmy Carter, National Times, July 15, 2009, theage.com

M
Math: Biographies of Women Mathematicians
Media Report to Women
Motherhood, Social Service and Political Reform, NWHM
Ms. Magazine
Ms. Magazine Guide to Women's & Gender Studies
Ms. Magazine in the Classroom
Muslim Women's League

N
NARAL Pro-Choice America
National Association of Commissions for Women, Florida commissions
National Center for Women and Information Technology
National Council for Research on Women
National Council of Negro Women (NCNW)
National Council of Women's Organizations
National Museum of Women in the Arts
National Network to End Domestic Violence
NOEMA: The Collaborative Bibliography of Women in Philosophy 
NOMAS: The National Organization for Men Against Sexism 
National Organization for Women (NOW) 
National Partnership for Women & Families 
National Women's Hall of Fame, Seneca Falls, New York 
National Women's Law Center 
National Women's History Museum
National Women's History Project (NWHP) 
National Women's Law Center 
National Women's Studies Association (NWSA) 
NWSA 2010 Conference, November 11-14, Rutgers University, Denver, CO 
NWSAction, NWSA Online, interactive magazine 
NWSA/Ms. Magazine 2009 Guide to Women's & Gender Studies
Native American Women on the World Wide Web

O
Office on Violence Against Women, United States Department of Justice
On Campus With Women, online newsletter of the American Association of University Women (AAUW)
On the Admission of Women to the Rights of Citizenship, the Marquis de Condorcet, July 1790, Center for History and New Media, George Mason University
Other Floridia Commissions for Women

R
Religious Coalition for Reproductive Choice
Report of the APA Task Force on the Sexualization of Girls, American Psychological Association

S
SAWNET (South Asian Women's Network)
Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, Duke University
Seneca Falls Declaration of Sentiments, Women's Rights National Historical Park, National Park Service, U.S. Dept. of the Interior
Servicio de Noticias de la Mujer de Latinoamerica y el Caribe (Women's News Service)
Sewall Belmont House
Sexualization of Girls: Report of the APA Task Force on the Sexualization of Girls
Social Security Information for Women, U.S. Social Security Administration
Sophie: A Digital Library of Works by German-Speaking Women, Brigham Young University
The Source on Women's Issues in Congress, newsletter of Women's Policy, Inc.
Statistics on Women, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
The Status of Women in the States 2004, Institute for Women's Policy Research
Stop Porn Culture
Stories of Women who Rescued Jews during the Holocaust
Suffragists Oral History Project
Syllabi on the Web for Women- and Gender-Related Courses, Joan Korenman, University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC)
Syllabi on Women and Politics, Center for American Women and Politics, Eagleton Institute of Politics

T
Transcending Silence, Women's Studies journal, University of Albany, SUNY
Transnational Feminism: Feminist Rhetoric Against Discursive Colonization

U
UCLA Center for the Study of Women
The United Nations and the Status of Women
UN Women: United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women
Unicef Gender Equality

V
Victorian Women Writers Project, Indiana University
Violence Against Women in the United States: Statistics, National Organization for Women 
Voice of the Shuttle: Women's Studies & Feminist Theory, University of California, Santa Barbara

W
Wellesley Centers for Women
WMST-L Women's Studies listserv
Woodhull Institute for Ethical Leadership
Womanist Theory and Research, Institute for African-American Studies, University of Georgia
Women and Gender Magazines, Journals and Newsletters, University of Wisconsin
Women by the Numbers: from the U.S. Census Bureau, Infoplease
Women Count
Women for Women International, Helping Women Survivors of War
Women in Animation
Women in Engineering ProActive Network (WEPAN)
Women in Film
Women in National Parliaments, the Inter-Parliamentary Union
Women in Politics Bibliographic Datase, the Inter-Parliamentary Union
Women In Programming, School of Business, Oklahoma Baptist University
Women in Science (biographies)
Women Leaders and Gender Parity Programme, World Economic Forum
Women Leaders Online: Women Organizing for Change
Women of Color Email Lists
Women Watch
Women-Focused Magazines and Newsletters on the Web
Women-owned Firms, United States Census Bureau
Women's Action for New Directions (WAND)
Women's Bureau, United States Department of Labor
Women's eNews
Women's Environment and Development Organization
Women's Feature Service
Women's Global Network for Reproductive Rights
Women's Health, National Center for Health Statistics
Women's Independent Cinema
Women's International League for Peace and Freedom
Women's Media Center
Women's Net
Women's Policy, Inc., The Unique Source of Information on Women's Issues in Congress
Women's Research & Education Institute (WREI)
Women's Review of Books
Women's Rights National Historical Park, Seneca Falls, NY, , National Park Service, U.S. Dept. of the Interior
Women's Statistics News Releases Archive, U.S. Census Bureau
Women's Studies Database, University of Maryland
Women's Studies Librarian's Office, University of Wisconsin
Women's Studies Online Resources, Joan Korenman, University of Maryland-Baltimore County (UMBC)
Women's Studies Program Web Page, Montgomery College
Women's Studies Programs, Departments, & Research Centers, Joan Korenman, UMBC
Women's Studies Resources by Karla Tonella, University of Iowa
Women's Studies Section, ACRL/ALA
Women's Studies/Women's Issues Resource Sites
Women's Suffrage: A World Chronology of the Recognition of Women's Rights to Vote and to Stand for Election, The Inter-parliamentary Union
Women Working, 1800 - 1930, Open Collections Program, Harvard University
WomenWatch: United Nations Interagency Network on Women and Gender Equality
Woodrow Wilson Dissertation Grants in Women's Studies
WSSLINKS: Women and Gender Studies Web Sites, Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL)

Health       History       Individuals      Literature       Politics       Statistics       Women's History Month       Women's Studies              

Health

• 4 College Women
  A user friendly page discussing the health issues of college aged women.
• Medline Plus Women's Health Issues
  A great guide to reliable information on Women's health from the National Institutes of Health.
• National Women's Health Information Center
  A wide array of helpful women's health information from the Department of Health and Human Services.Some resources are also available in Spanish.
• Our Bodies Ourselves Companion Website
  A woman's health information center containing excerpts from the book, unique content and Web links.

History

• Discovering American Women's History Online
  This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
• Early Modern Women Database
  This amazing resource " provides links to Web resources useful for the study of women in early modern Europe and the Americas." Coverage is limited to 1500-1800.
• Internet Women's History Sourcebook
  A wonderful guide to reliable Web resources on Women's history from ancient times to the present.
• Women in World History
  Fairly comprehensive site on the history of women. The site includes reviews of Web pages, curriculua, primary sources etc.
• Women Working, 1800-1930
  "...focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images..."

Individuals

• Susan B. Anthony
• Distinguished Women of Past and Present
• National Women's Hall of Fame

Literature

• A Celebration of Women Writers
  "A large collection of material written by women in many fields. Also contains links to biographical material on women writers. It can be searched by author, country, century, & ethnicity. "
• Literary Works By Women
  A collection of important online fiction books written by significant authors such as Jane Austen the Brontes, Kate Chopin and George Eliot.
• Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
  Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
• Other Women's Voices
  Collection of non- U.S. Women's writing from ancient times to the present.
• Texts by Women Authors from the Modern English Collection
   Full text of works by more than 150 women authors.
• WSS Links: Literature and Culture 
  Online texts, guides to criticism, bibliographies, literature of women of color, links to feminist bookstore etc.

Politics

• Eagle Forum
  Web page of an anti-feminist organization which also advocates for other conservative causes.
• Eldis (global development research for policy and practice)
  A gateway to hundreds of online papers and other resources on women's and gender issues.
• Feminist Majority Foundation
  "... works for social, political and economic equality for women by using research and education to improve women's lives."
• Idea Book for Educators related to Women's Suffrage 
  from the Library of Congress, includes "many primary sources in a variety of media"
• National Organization for Women
  "Information on women's issues for women's activists."
• United States House of Representatives - History, Art & Archives-Women in Congress
  "...based on the book "Women in Congress, 1917-2006, contains biographical profiles of former female Members of Congress..."
• United States Senate - Women in the Senate
  Biographics, photographs, oral histories, Senate firsts and more.
• The White House - The First Ladies

Statistics

• Department of Labor Women's Bureau
  A good place to start looking for statistical information on American Women.
• Gender Stats
  Menu driven Web page from the World Bank which offers general statistics on women and men by country.
• U.S. Census Bureau Facts for Features
  Contains statistical data from the Census regarding women in the United States.

Women's History Month

• Biography.com
  Timeline, quizzes, quotes, videos, audio clips, and much more relating to Women's History.
• Gale-Cengage Publishing
  Includes timeline, activities, weekly quizzes, and short biographies of fifty women who made a difference.
• History.com
  Timeline, videos, speeches, events, facts, maps, and much more relating to Women's History.
• Infoplease
  This site contains facts, quizzes, trivia, crossword puzzles, and a variety of other information celebrating women.
• Law Library of Congress
  History of legislation and presidential proclamations which established Women's History Month.
• Library of Congress
  With links to many other areas of LOC relating to Women's History.
• National Trust for Historic Preservation
  Featuring Women's History: Also see Save America's Treasures (SAT) which has helped preserve more than 1,100 important places, documents, collections and works of art.
• National Women's History Museum
  Includes online exhibits and educational resources.  
• National Women's History Project
  Women's History Month 2012 Theme: Women's Education — Women's Empowerment
• Smithsonian Education
  Celebrate Women's History Month with the Smithsonian!
• Smithsonian Magazine
  Women's History Month celebrates the contributions that women have made in all aspects of society. Learn more about their accomplishments through this selection of articles and photo galleries.
• U.S. Department of Defense
  Join the Department of Defense as it observes National Women's History Month and salutes the many contributions of American Women to our country.
• The White House
  Presidential Proclamation for 2016 Women's History Month.
• Women Soldiers in the Civil War, Part 1: Going Behind the Gender Lines (Library of Congress)
• Women's History (About.com)
  Includes women's history biographies, quotes by women, women's suffrage and today in women's history, plus more.

Women's Studies

• Best Information on the Net- Women's Studies
  This set of links covers women's health Women's Studies and Women's magazines and journals.
• Voice of the Shuttle Women's Studies and Feminist Theory
  A compilation of online full-text resources and Web links chiefly dealing with women and literature.
• Women and Gender Studies Web Links
• Women's Studies: Core Books
  An extensive bibliography of Women's Studies books from the Association of College and Research libraries. This excellent set of links is kept up to date and arranged by subject.
• Women's Studies Librarian Website
  This site contains a good list of links but in addition it has research tutorials, provides helpful information on tracking down relevant videos a good list of feminist publishers and women's bookstores etc.
• Women's Studies Links
  Links selected by MC's Women's Studies Department.
• Women's Studies Online Resources
  From UMBC, this page is a collection of hundreds of "information-rich, high-quality Web sites focusing on Women's Studies or women's issues."

Some annotated links by subject produced by Linda Fortney, Rockville Librarian, 1950 - 2009. Some links for this LibGuide are reused with the kind courtesy of Nancy Nyland of Montgomery College, MD. Other annotated links produced by Lauri Rebar of Florida Atlantic University.