Skip to Main Content
This summer, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
Parts of a Database Record
SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) - Full Record of an Item
A database will provide a list of results for a search. A link for a given article will typically provide the full view of its database record and include the following information:
- Name of Database: the brand name of an information source; it often includes the name of the company that owns or offers the service.
- Citation: information about a document that usually includes its author, title of work, publisher, and year published. The information found in a citation is used by others to locate the document. This is frequently referred to as bibliographic information.
- Abstract: a summary of the main points of a document which includes its focus, research methods, and conclusions.
- Full Text: this link indicates that direct, full access to a document is available.
- Subject: the words used by a database to describe the main topics of a document.
- Controlled Vocabulary: an established set of terms used to describe the main subjects covered in a document. They are often used to identify documents on similar topics.
- Additional Information: databases often include specialized metadata to provide more information on a given document, such as the type of publication, affiliation of author, database document numbers, and other descriptions.
SciTech Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
This collection covers science and technology research, combining full-text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology.
Funded by statewide allocation.
Last updated on Apr 3, 2023 2:42 PM