LibGuides: Science Student Helps: Chemistry (General)

Chemistry Instructional Sites and other Chemistry Sites

Basics of NMR (online book)
Written by Joseph P. Hornak, Ph.D. of Rochester Institute of Technology. Includes Glossary, List of Symbols, References and more.
Khan Academy - Chemistry
Videos on chemistry (roughly covering a first-year high school or college course).
Merlot Chemistry
Multimedia Educational Resources for learning and teaching online in Chemistry.
Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Wired Chemist
General Chemistry Modules include lecture notes that are directly followed by answers. Methodology takes you through each step in solving problems. Multiple choice & Short Answer provide you with questions and problems you can use to evaluate your understanding of a given topic.

FAU General Chemistry for Health Sciences Lab Manuals

These lab manuals were created and designed by FAU's Dr. Ozlem Yavuz-Petrowski and Dr. Abigail Perkins. The Open Education Resource (OER) manuals are for FAU's eDesigned CHM 2032L General Chemistry for Health Sciences Fully Online Laboratory Course.

Dig in to these manuals, and also check out the FAU Stem Research Group for Digital Laboratory Learning. Scroll down their page to see the In the News events, future events, and links to past presentations and publications.

Open Textbooks for Chemistry and Additional Virtual Labs

Use these Open Textbooks to gain additional information, reinforce concepts, find explanations in a new way, etc. These are FREE to use and download. Find more Open Chemistry Textbooks here. See other resources for learning below.

The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry
ChemCollective
Virtual labs, scenario-based learning acdtivities, tutorials, and concept tests for General Chemistry I and II from Carnegie Mellon
Chemistry (2nd edition)
CLUE: Chemistry, Life, the Universe, and Everything
General Chemistry: Atoms First - 2nd edition
Introductory Chemistry

Fun Site (but still good content)

Compound Interest
View Infographics on Chemistry from ‘Compound Interest,’ a blog by Andy Brunning, a chemistry teacher in the UK, who creates graphics looking at the chemistry and chemical reactions we come across on a day-to-day basis.

Chemistry Structures, Handbooks, and Information Sources

ChemBiofinder
Directory of chemicals, physical properties, and Internet links. Sign up for free access.
Chemical Education Xchange (ChemEd X)
Provides learning resources and forums for discussion and collaboration on an interactive platform
Chemical Structure Look Up Service
Search by file or run the optical structure recognition application.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
DrugBank
DrugBank database is a unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information.
Green Chemistry - US EPA
Green chemistry, also known as sustainable chemistry, is the design of chemical products and processes that reduce or eliminate the use or generation of hazardous substances. The EPA created this guide with basic information and projects that promote green chemistry.
Green Chemistry Assistant - St. Olaf College
The Green Chemistry Assistant is a web site and fully functional web application. The overall objective of the site is to help you analyze chemical processes that you are interested in in terms of Green Chemistry and related topics beyond the typical confines of this field.
IUPAC Gold Book - Compendium of Chemical Terminology
This is an online guide to chemical nomenclature, terminology, symbols and units as well as terminology definitions from IUPAC recommendations.
National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
Click "Explore" at the top of the page to browse by subject, collection, category, resource type, and educational level. Also see NSDL on iTunes U.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
The NIST Chemistry WebBook is a comprehensive source for chemical and physical property data for chemical compounds.
NMR Information Server
Includes archives and links to information, articles, software, facilities, software, vendors, organizations, journals, "who's who," meetings, and more.52
PhET Interactive Simulations (University of Colorado, Boulder)
Fun, interactive, research-based simulations of physical phenomena from the PhET™ project at the University of Colorado,. Activities and workshop materials may also be found here.
PubChem
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.

more... less...

A new self-paced PubChem tutorial (https://www.nlm.nih.gov/oet/ed/pubchem/tutorial/) is also available to guide users through the steps to access chemical property and structure data that hundreds of academic, government, and industrial sources contribute to PubChem. It includes step-by-step directions for how to find chemical information using chemical names, identifiers, molecular formulas, gene symbols, proteins, pathways, taxonomies, and structures.
Royal Society of Chemistry - Free Chemistry Information on the Web.
A list of reputable and free of charge chemical information resources available on the web. Compiled by the chemical information specialists of the RSC's Library and Information Centre.
Toxnet - Toxicology Data Network
This site has moved, but its webpage links to various sources of information that replace it.
WebElements Periodic Table of the Elements
Includes essential data/basic information, history, uses, properties, and much more.
Wolfram Alpha for Chemistry
Explore chemical elements, compounds, formulas, quantities, thermodynamics, reactions, 3D objects and many other topics within chemistry.

Last updated on Sep 4, 2025 12:23 PM