LibGuides: Primary Sources: Reconstruction Era (After U.S. Civil War): FAU Databases

A to Z list of Databases

Here's a list of the library's A to Z list of databases

Databases found through FAU

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
This resource enables users to search more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1900 This link opens in a new window
Early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690-1876) and Series II (1758-1900).
American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922: From the American Antiquarian Society This link opens in a new window
From the comprehensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society, this collection offers printed items addressing all facets of the Civil War and its aftermath. These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include broadsides, lithographs, maps, books, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, stereographs, and more.
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
This resource knits together more than 400 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs, to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war.
Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera This link opens in a new window
Provides a vivid visual history of a nation in crisis. Thousands of dramatic images from the fields of battle, politics, and general society allow students and researchers to experience the events, both monumental and mundane, of the war that tested and defined the core meaning of America.
American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922 This link opens in a new window
This digital edition of the American Antiquarian Society???s holdings of slavery and abolition materials includes works published over the course of more than 100 years. These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera; among them are a large number of invaluable Southern imprints.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Open Access
This site allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
HarpWeek This link opens in a new window
This resource provides electronic access to Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912.
History Vault (Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War)
Please see Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War(History Vault).
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new window
The Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines website makes it possible for you to discover the lively news stories, illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature, and even advertisements that shaped and reflected public opinion in this era.
Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
Student Tech Fee Funded
Bringing together primary source documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world, this resource allows students and researchers to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice. Register for My Archive and save your favorite documents, search results, and images to your personal collection area.
Sources in U.S. History Online: The Civil War This link opens in a new window
The Civil War digital collection contains nearly 500 significant documents of the time--personal narratives, monographs, regimental histories, collected essays, sermons, songs, legal tracts, and political speeches.
Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War (History Vault) This link opens in a new window
This module provides important primary source material on the business aspect of the slave trade, with documents showing international and domestic traffic in slaves in Britain’s New World colonies and the United States. Also, this module includes a series of letters received by the Attorney General on law and order in nineteenth century America. These letters cover the slave trade, general slavery matters including runaway slaves and rights of slaves, and other legal issues.

Funded by Florida Virtual Campus.