LibGuides: Primary Sources: Slavery &amp; Abolition: America

Find Books

Search the FAU Library Catalog to see what materials are available for check out. Search for books, government documents, DVDs, electronic books, streaming videos, and more.

Book Sources: Slavery in America

Click the title for location and availability information.

American Negro slavery : a documentary history by Michael Mullin (Editor)
Call Number: Jupiter General Collection E441 .A577 1976

ISBN: 0872493393

Publication Date: 1976-03-01
American Slavery as it is; Testimony of a Thousand Witnesses by Weld, Theodore Dwight, 1803-1895, comp.; Weld, Theodore Dwight, 1803-1895.; American Anti-Slavery Society.; Miscellaneous Pamphlet Collection (Library of Congress); Pamphlet Collection (Library of Congress)
Call Number: View Online - Special Collections, Weiner Early American Collection (Non-circulating) E449 .W442 1839

Publication Date: 1839
Dear Master : letters of a slave family by Randall M. Miller (Editor)
Call Number: Jupiter General Collection E444 .D42 1990

ISBN: 0820312304

Publication Date: 1990-05-01
Discussion on American Slavery by George Thompson and Robert J. Breckinridge
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Documents Illustrative of the History of the Slave Trade to America by Elizabeth Donnan
Call Number: View Online - Boca Raton General Collection E441 .D69 1969 4 vols
Enjoy the same liberty : Black Americans and the revolutionary era by Edward Countryman; Jacqueline M. Moore (Series edited by); Nina Mjagkij (Series edited by)
Call Number: Boca Raton General Collection E269.N3 C68 2012

ISBN: 9781442200289

Publication Date: 2011-12-22
Families and Freedom: A Documentary History of African-American Kinship in the Civil War Era by Ira Berlin (Editor); Leslie S. Rowland (Editor)
Call Number: Boca Raton General Collection E185.2 .F27 1997

ISBN: 1565840267

Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Free at last : a documentary history of slavery, freedom, and the Civil War by Ira Berlin; Steven F. Miller; Barbara Fields; Joseph P. Reidy; Leslie S. Rowland (Editor)
Call Number: Boca Raton General Collection E185.2 .F8 1992

ISBN: 1565840151

Publication Date: 1992-11-01

A collection of letters, personal testimony, transcripts, and various official records documents the effects of Emancipation on blacks and white throughout the Union.
Free Negro Owners of Slaves in the United States in 1830 by Carter G. Woodson
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust

Together with Absentee ownership of slaves in the United States in 1830
A key to Uncle Tom's cabin; presenting the original facts and documents upon which the story is founded together with corroborative statements verifying the truth of the work. by Harriet Beecher Stowe
Call Number: Boca Raton General Collection E449 .S89592

ISBN: 0766137856

Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Letters on American Slavery from Victor Hugo, de Tocqueville, Emile de Girardin, Carnot, Passy, Mazzini, Humboldt, O. Lafayette--etc.
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Slavery and Civil War : Pamphlets
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Slavery in the United States by Louis Filler
Call Number: Jupiter General Collection E441 .F54 1998

ISBN: 076580431X

Publication Date: 1998-04-30
Slavery Petitions and Papers by Jacob Piatt Dunn
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Women and Slavery in America by Catherine M. Lewis (Editor)
Call Number: Boca Raton General Collection HT1048 .W66 2011

ISBN: 1557289581

Publication Date: 2011-05-30

Online Sources: Slavery in America

13th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution: Abolition of Slavery (1865)
African Americans & the End of Slavery in Massachusetts
Africans in America Historical Documents
American Memory: From Slavery to Freedom
Digital Library on American Slavery
Documenting the American South
Dred Scott v. Sanford 60 U.S. 393
Geography of Slavery in Virginia: Virginia Runaways, Slave Advertisements, Runaway Advertisements
Historical Society of Pennsylvania: Digital History Projects
Library of Congress - Digital Collections - African American Perspectives
Library of Congress - Digital Collections - Born in Slavery
Library of Congress - Digital Collections - Voices from the Days of Slavery
NYPL Digital Gallery: Africana & Black History
Recovered Histories
The Revised Dred Scott Case Collection
Slavery, Memory, and Reconciliation - Georgetown University
Toward Racial Equality
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Uncle Tom's Cabin & American Culture
Valley of the Shadow
Virginia Untold - The African American Narrative
more... less...

The Library of Virginia’s collections are rich with records documenting the lives of African Americans in Virginia. However, access to those materials dating from before the American Civil War is limited at best. These limitations are the result of period perspectives on the identities of enslaved and disenfranchised populations, as well as sheer volume. Due to this, the individual stories form a narrative of a people that has not been fully told.

The Library’s African American Narrative project aims to provide greater accessibility to pre-1865 African American history and genealogy found in the rich primary sources in its holdings. Traditional description, indexing, transcription, and digitization are major parts of this effort. However, and perhaps more importantly, this project seeks to encourage conversation and engagement around the records, providing opportunities for a more grassroots and diverse narrative of the history of Virginia’s African American people.