LibGuides: Primary Sources: Human Sexuality: Society

Online Sources: Society

Ad Access "The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University. "
AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials "Thousands of television commercials created or collected by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency, dated the 1950s - 1980s."
Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition, History (HEARTH) "...is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance. The first phase of this project focused on books published between 1850 and 1925 and a small number of journals. Future phases of the project will include books published between 1926 and 1950, as well as additional journals. The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site. This is the first time a collection of this scale and scope has been made available." Cornell University
LIFE Photo Archive hosted by Google "Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google."
Philip Morris Advertising Archive "This website contains images of content in the Philip Morris USA Inc. Advertising Archive. These images include print ads, outdoor ads, point-of-sale and direct marketing materials dating back to the early 1900s, including some materials which may not have been published or publicly displayed."
Prelinger Archives "Prelinger Archives was founded in 1983 by Rick Prelinger in New York City. Over the next twenty years, it grew into a collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films. In 2002, the film collection was acquired by the Library of Congress, Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division. Prelinger Archives remains in existence, holding approximately 4,000 titles on videotape and a smaller collection of film materials acquired subsequent to the Library of Congress transaction. Its goal remains to collect, preserve, and facilitate access to films of historic significance that haven't been collected elsewhere. Included are films produced by and for many hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions" Available through the Internet Archive
Studies in Scarlet: Marriage and Sexuality in the U.S. & U.K., 1815-1914 Marriage and Sexuality in the U.S. and U.K., 1815-1914 - "presents the images of over 420 separately published trial narratives from the Harvard Law School Library's extensive trial collections. Included are a number of trials of the wealthy and renowned such as an account of the adultery trial of Caroline, Queen Consort of George IV, the sodomy trial of Oscar Wilde, and the trial of Harry Thaw for the murder of Stanford White, the famous architect who was Evelyn Nesbit Thaw's lover. The larger part of the collection, however, consists of the stories of ordinary men and women thrust into the public eye when their marriages and love affairs went wrong or their relationships did not conform to social standards." Harvard University Library

Book Sources: Society

Click the title for location and availability information.

America's families : a documentary history by Donald M. Scott; Bernard W. Wishy
Call Number: Boca Raton General Collection HQ535 .A6
ISBN: 0060140488
Publication Date: 1982-01-01
American Sexual Histories by Elizabeth Reis (Editor)
Call Number: Boca Raton General Collection HQ18.U5 A458 2012
ISBN: 9781444339291
Publication Date: 2012-01-17
Family in society essential primary sources by K. Lee Lerner; Brenda Wilmoth Lerner; Adrienne Wilmoth Lerner
Call Number: View Online
ISBN: 9781414403304
Publication Date: 2006-11-30
Frauds exposed; or, How the people are deceived and robbed, and youth corrupted by Anthony Comstock
Call Number: Online - free - Internet Archive
Social Policy by K. Lee Lerner (Editor); Brenda Wilmoth Lerner (Editor); Adrienne Wilmoth Lerner (Editor)
Call Number: View Online
ISBN: 9781414403281
Publication Date: 2006-10-26
Social Policy explores how governments and groups have developed and implemented social policies that have shaped societies and influenced social justice and social change. Included are approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context. Entries are organized into chapters that feature a general overview of the chapters subtopic. The following standard subheads are included in each entry: Date Source About the Author Introduction Primary Source Significance Further Resources All titles contain an introduction to its topic, a chronology of major events associated with the topic, and a general index. While Gale strives to replicate print content, some content may not be available due to rights restrictions.
Television in American Society Reference Library by Laurie Collier Hillstrom and Allison McNeill
Call Number: Online - GVRL
ISBN: 9781414402215
see volume 3 for primary sources
Traps for the Young by Anthony Comstock
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust