LibGuides: Primary Sources: Human Sexuality: Diseases

Online Sources: Diseases

ACT UP Oral History Project
AIDS at 20 Selected articles from the New York Times, chronicling twenty years (1981-2001) of the AIDS epidemic.
AIDS Education Posters Collection The posters represented here were given to the River Campus Libraries’ Department of Rare Books and Special Collections by Dr. Edward C. Atwater beginning in 2007. The over 8,000 AIDS education posters in the collection document efforts to educate and inform the people of over 100 countries in over 60 languages, from 1982 to the present. The collection has been a catalyst for numerous student projects by University of Rochester graduate and undergraduate students, as well as exhibitions, scholarly research, and public programming. AIDS touches individuals of all ages. Our collection includes posters aimed towards educating young children, the elderly, and everyone in between, about HIV/AIDS prevention, risks, social advocacy, and compassion for those affected. Posters, as an art form and as a medium of communication, are graphic. As long as HIV/AIDS continues to affect people of all ages around the world, the purposes for which these posters were originally created will continue to be relevant. Dr. Atwater’s gift also includes extensive ephemera and other materials, as well as documentation about how he acquired items for the collection. If you have information that you would like to share about and the opportunity to contact us to suggest translations, image tags and more, or if you have questions about the collection, please contact Jessica Lacher-Feldman, Exhibits and Special Projects Manager, Rare Books, Special Collections, and Preservation, at JLF@rochester.edu
American Social Health Association Records 1905-1990 "The records chronicle the American Social Health (originally "Hygiene") Association's efforts to control and prevent venereal disease, prostitution, and drug addiction through educational, legal, and medical measures. The records reflect considerable interaction with the armed forces, particularly during periods of war or full mobilization. Field reports document conditions in individual cities and the influence of housing, recreation, sanitation, and other factors on vice and public health. Financial sections reflect the development of federated fund-raising and its impact on a national association's program. Activities of longtime executives and staff members William Snow, C. Walter Clarke, Bascom Johnson, and Paul Kinsie are extensively documented. Also included are extensive files of printed materials on social hygiene produced by ASHA."
Classic Disease Commercials "Commercials produced in the 50s and '60s hosted by famous celebrities on diseases like cancer vd tb mental illness sexually transmitted etc..."
Fight Syphilis (1942) Fight Syphilis by United States. Public Health Service
Know For Sure (1941) ""On the detection, prevention, and treatment of syphilis. Reel 1 dramatizes a father's despondence after syphilis causes the death of his newly born son. He begins treatment at a clinic, where his case and others are discussed by two doctors. Reel 2 dramatizes a student's encounter with syphilis. A doctor explains that he can be cured. The doctors view a public information film for men which explains the use of prophylactics. Reel 3 dramatizes syphilitic experiences with a 'quack.' The narrator reviews important instructions given in the film.""
National Library of Medicine: Digital Projects Includes various collections related to the history of medicine worldwide.
Sexually Transmitted Diseases (NIH) Sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) are infections transmitted from an infected person to an uninfected person through sexual contact. STDs can be caused by bacteria, viruses, or parasites. Examples include gonorrhea, genital herpes, human papillomavirus infection, HIV/AIDS, chlamydia, and syphilis.
Sexually transmitted infections (STIs) (World Health Organization) More than 30 different bacteria, viruses and parasites are known to be transmitted through sexual contact. Eight of these pathogens are linked to the greatest incidence of sexually transmitted disease. Of these, 4 are currently curable: syphilis, gonorrhoea, chlamydia and trichomoniasis. The other 4 are viral infections which are incurable: hepatitis B, herpes simplex virus (HSV or herpes), HIV and human papillomavirus (HPV).
To the People of the United States (1944) Public education film on combatting the epidemic of sexually transmitted diseases, especially syphilis, in World War II.

Book Sources: Diseases

Click the title for location and availability information.

A guide to taking a sexual history by Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (U.S.)
Call Number: View Online - Gov Docs
Publication Date: 2005
Sexually Transmitted Diseases (Opposing Viewpoints) by Espejo, Roman Contributor
Call Number: View Online
ISBN: 9780737752380
Publication Date: 2011
Sexually Transmitted Diseases, Fourth Edition by P. Frederick Sparling; Walter E. Stamm; Peter Piot; Judith N. Wasserheit; Lawrence Corey; Myron S. Cohen; King K. Holmes
Call Number: Boca Raton General Collection RC200 .S49 2008
ISBN: 9780071417488
Publication Date: 2007-12-14
Sexually transmitted diseases : your questions answered by Paul Quinn
Call Number: View Online
ISBN: 1440853169
Publication Date: 2018-04-04
Sexually transmitted infections : understanding these infections and planning for future research and prevention by National Institutes of Health (U.S.). Office of Research on Women's Health.
Call Number: View Online - Gov Docs
Publication Date: 2006
Atlas of Sexually Transmitted Diseases and AIDS by Stephen A. Morse; Ronald C. Ballard; King K. Holmes
Call Number: View Online
ISBN: 9780702040603
Publication Date: 2010-11-05