Get Articles

Use OneSearch

OneSearch

Also search in the Catalog, Databases or e-Journal list.

Click on OneSearch (above) to start your search!

Put phrases inside quotation marks to search for words in a specific order, e.g., "civil war" or "multicultural education."

After entering a search, use the facets on the left to narrow the results and refine your search:

target only peer-reviewed articles.
show only items with Full Text available online.
include/exclude newspaper articles, books, journal articles, and more.
limit your results by date, language, format, collection, geography, subject, etc.

General Science Databases

The following indexes and databases provide articles in the general sciences:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window Includes Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective and additional content. This database offers a diverse array of full-text and indexed content that covers the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplinesfrom acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering. Funded by statewide allocation.
Elsevier ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window 1,100+ scholarly journals in engineering, science, and social science disciplines.
SciTech Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window This collection covers science and technology research, combining full-text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Funded by statewide allocation.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

Computer Science Databases

Computer Science Databases (FAU Libaries)

Computer and Information Systems Abstracts This link opens in a new window Comprehensive database of the research and applications in the field.
Computer Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window This database provides access to computer-related product introductions, news, and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
Electronics & Communications Abstracts This link opens in a new window Research in the field of electronics and communications from over 600 different sources.

Engineering Databases

Engineering & Technology Databases (FAU Libraries) Databases for various disciplines in engineering, computer science, and technology offered by the FAU Libraries.

Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window Includes Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective and additional content. This database offers a diverse array of full-text and indexed content that covers the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplinesfrom acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering. Funded by statewide allocation.
Civil Engineering Abstracts This link opens in a new window This database provides indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current serial and non-serial titles, including content from ASCE and ICE. It covers all civil aspects from architecture, structural design and construction engineering to environmental, seismic engineering and forensics. Funded by statewide allocation.
Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window This subscription is not renewed for 2025 by Florida Virtual Campus (FLVC); access for current material will cease December 31, 2024. For other related e-resources, please use the All Subjects search box above and choose 'Engineering and Technology'. Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. It contains over 8 million records and references over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications. Funded by statewide allocation.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window This subscription is not renewed for 2025 by Florida Virtual Campus (FLVC); access for current material will cease December 31, 2024. For other related e-resources, please use the All Subjects search box above and choose 'Engineering and Technology'. Includes Physics Abstracts, Computer and Control Abstracts, and Electrical and Electronics Abstracts. The largest English language file of bibliographic information and abstracts on the world's output of published works in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing, and information technology. Covers scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings. Includes some books, reports, and dissertations. Funded by statewide allocation.
Materials Science & Engineering Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window The ProQuest Engineering Collection contains engineering related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the CSA Engineering Research Database, a comprehensive index to world literature on technological and engineering innovations.
IEEE Xplore:IEEE/IEL Digital Library This link opens in a new window Includes access to the abstract records and full text articles published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals; IET conference proceedings; IEEE published standards and redline versions; and IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.

Life Sciences Databases

Biological Sciences Databases (FAU Libraries)
more...less...
A list of all biological science databases offered by the FAU Libraries; FAUNet ID log-in required from off campus.

AGRICOLA (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Open Access AGRICOLA (National Agricultural Library) |1970-present
Animal Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window Covers subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology.
Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Aquaculture Abstracts This link opens in a new window Comprehensive database that covers all aspects of the aquatic sciences.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window The collection contains aquatic science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA).
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.
Plant Science This link opens in a new window Plant Science is a bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focusing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques, and environmental biology.
SciTech Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window This collection covers science and technology research, combining full-text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Funded by statewide allocation.
Toxicology Abstracts This link opens in a new window Toxicology Abstracts covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues.

Medicine & Health Sciences Databases

Medicine, Nursing, and Health Sciences Databases (FAU Libraries) The following health sciences databases are offered by the FAU Libraries.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window This resource provides access to journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Subjects include nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and allied health disciplines. In addition, this resource provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Coverage also includes legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials. Funded by statewide allocation.
ComDisDome This link opens in a new window The Dome is the premier information service for speech-language pathologists, audiologists, and students in the field of Communication Sciences and Disorders. This database provides access to books, journal articles, dissertations, and web sites relevant in the field of Communication Sciences and Disorders. This resource also includes a complete dictionary of speech-language pathology and audiology terms.
MEDLINE/PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Neurosciences Abstracts This link opens in a new window This database covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research studies but also including such devastating neural diseases as Alzheimer's.
PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new window PsycINFO Indexes international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Also see PsycNET. Funded by statewide allocation.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 415 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus.

Physical & Earth Sciences

FAU Libraries Databases All databases offered by the FAU Libraries.

Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Marine Biotechnology Abstracts This link opens in a new window Covers marine biotechnology, molecular biology and molecular genetics and how they are applied specifically to marine and aquatic organisms.
Oceanic Abstracts This link opens in a new window Oceanic Abstracts is focused exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. The journal has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window The collection contains aquatic science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA).
GeoRef This link opens in a new window Contains earth science references and the index terms that describe them. Indexes many journals in 40 languages as well as new books, maps, and reports. Funded by statewide allocation.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window This subscription is not renewed for 2025 by Florida Virtual Campus (FLVC); access for current material will cease December 31, 2024. For other related e-resources, please use the All Subjects search box above and choose 'Engineering and Technology'. Includes Physics Abstracts, Computer and Control Abstracts, and Electrical and Electronics Abstracts. The largest English language file of bibliographic information and abstracts on the world's output of published works in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing, and information technology. Covers scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings. Includes some books, reports, and dissertations. Funded by statewide allocation.
MathSciNet (AMS) This link opens in a new window A database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature; continuing in the tradition of the paper publication, Mathematical Reviews, first published in 1940. To access MathSciNet through EBSCOhost, click here

Other Databases of Interest for STEM

PrepSTEP for Colleges and Universities This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Sage Reference This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods Video This link opens in a new window
Sage Business Skills This link opens in a new window
Sage Skills Student Success This link opens in a new window

ORCID: Scholarship Identifier

ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID) was developed to be a free, unique identifier for scholarly publishing. It eliminates the ambiguity that can happen with author names or groups, and it allows researchers to easily find their published works in the various databases and publishing collections on the Internet. Most of the leading universities and research institutions support and encourage the use of ORCID for their scholarly publications.

Registering for an ORCID is free and just requires your first and last name and your primary e-mail. After that you will choose your notification and visibility settings and you're all set!

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

OpenAthens - authenticate yourself to use our electronic resources!

Through a statewide initiative in coordination with FALSC and other institutions of the Florida College System and State University System libraries, the FAU Libraries is transitioning e-resources authentication from EZproxy to OpenAthens.

OpenAthens is a gateway service that provides access to the FAU Libraries' licensed electronic resources. For the first time, you will have access to the Libraries’ e-resources without needing to be on the Libraries’ website! You can use an Internet search engine like Google or go directly to a publisher’s website to access the Libraries “Athenized” e-resources via FAU Single Sign-On (SSO)!

More information can be found here OpenAthens
How To Use OpenAthens
OpenAthens Video Tutorials

Last updated on Dec 10, 2024 11:00 AM - Guide Creator(s)

NSF LEARN - STEM