LibGuides: Judaica & Holocaust: Databases

Databases

Databases are great for finding information for your research paper. In the databases, you will find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research. Use a database to find full text articles. Databases can be accessed in the library and off campus through Off Campus Connect (EZproxy).

For a full list of Databases related to this subject, please click here.

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Over 400,000 bibliographic entries, including journal citations from over 2000 journals, on the history of the United States and Canada. Coverage from prehistory to present.
American Jewish Committee Archives This link opens in a new window
Open Access
Provides access to a massive online archive that contains materials from AJC's last hundred years. The website features speeches, radio programs, commercials, articles and much more.
American Periodicals (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Access to over 1,100 periodicals published between 1740 and 1900; includes women's magazines such as The Ladies' Home Journal, Ladies Afternoon Visitor, and Ladies Weekly Museum.
Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Includes a wide range of original source material, from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through the Black September war of 1970-1. These materials - letters, minutes, reports, maps - are from primary source documents at the National Archives, London.
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Subjects include 1960s radicalism, the Motion Picture Production Code, Jewish emigration, Arab-Israeli relations, resettlement in post-War Europe, the Rastafari Movement, and the Holocaust.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
The ATLA Religion Database is an index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion.

Funded by Florida Virtual Campus.

Electronic Collections Online
Electronic abstracts and full-text of nearly 3000 journals fully browsable by title. Covers humanities and social sciences from 1995 to present.

Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History This link opens in a new window
Features articles to ethnic, minority, and native magazines, journals, and newspapers. Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW full text titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspaper articles regarding arts and humanities, social sciences and science and technology disciplines.
Hillel Guide to Jewish Life on Campus This link opens in a new window
Open Access
The Guide to Jewish Life on Campus offers information on hundreds of colleges and universities around the world.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in a companion database America: History and Life)
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Subject areas include archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Information from the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences administered by the Institute for Social Resarch at the University of Michigan.
Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration This link opens in a new window
The Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR) was organized in London in August 1938 as a result of the Evian Conference of July 1938, which had been called by President Roosevelt to consider the problem of racial, religious, and political refugees from central Europe.
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954 This link opens in a new window
This collection of original source materials explores the history of Jewish communities in America. The material is based on a variety of original manuscript collections from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York, digitized and organized into six major collections and twenty-four collections of personal papers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital images of complete runs of back issues of selective journals in a variety of disciplines in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage varies; 19th century to 1995.

Recorded Sound Archives (formerly Judaica Sound Archives)
The Judaica Sound Archives began in the summer of 2002 with a collection of about 1800 vintage 78-rpm recordings of Jewish music. Through the thoughtful donations of both individuals and organizations, such as the National Yiddish Book Center in Amherst, MA, the collection grew to almost 6000 records in less than a year.
Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online (includes multiple databases)
A single cross-searchable platform for the entire family of letter and diary databases: North American Women's Letters and Diaries; British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries; North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories; The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries; Black Thought and Culture; and Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries (forthcoming).

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA Bibliography indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. The database provides access to citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
An archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.
Post War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950 This link opens in a new window
This online archive covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves. From The National Archives of the UK, and The Wiener Library, London.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global includes international dissertations and theses as well as all previous content. It is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

Funded by Florida Virtual Campus.
Recorded Sound Archives (RSA) This link opens in a new window
Open Access
The Recorded Sound Archives collection of over 100,000 recordings from the first half of the 20th century features pop performers such as Bing Crosby, Doris Day, and Al Jolson (RSA Vintage Collection); the worlds most extensive online collection of Jewish recordings; music and images from childrens recordings damaged by SuperStorm Sandy; unique picture records; and early recordings by Jazz greats such as Duke Ellington and Benny Goodman.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subject areas include addiction studies, anthropology, area studies, community health and medical care, corrections, criminal justice, criminology, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, gerontology, international relations, law, minority studies, planning and public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, sociology, and urban studies. Full text coverage begins in January 1995.
Testaments to the Holocaust This link opens in a new window
This digital resource offers the unique collection of eyewitness accounts from the World's oldest Holocaust museum, founded by Alfred Wiener as the "Jewish Central Information Office" in 1939. The collection offers fully searchable personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, along with photographs, propaganda materials such as school text books, limited circulation publications, and rare serials.
Visual History Archive This link opens in a new window
USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive is a streaming collection of primary source video testimonies from survivors of and witnesses to genocide. Users can search through and view more than 55,000 video testimonies.
Initially a repository of Holocaust (1939-1945) testimony, the Archive includes the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda; Anti-Rohingya Mass Violence (August-October 2017); Armenian Genocide (1915-23); and others.

Patrons can click on “Register” and create a unique username and password, as official login is required for use of “My Projects/Bookmarked Projects/Shared Projects” features.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

Off Campus Connect

If you are using FAU's online resources from off campus, please authenticate yourself for off campus access through Off Campus Connect.

Last updated on Apr 7, 2025 11:51 AM