Primary Sources: Historical European Newspapers

This is an extremely large, searchable collection of European newspapers.

This site also includes some newspapers published outside Austria, including newspapers from Hungary, Germany, Switzerland, Italy, and even Brazil.

Digitized Belgian newspapers from World War I and World War II. Most were produced clandestinely.

"Daily Newspaper of U.S. Armed Forces in the European Theater of Operations."

Scroll down to the links for Serials Collections. These include historical Bulgarian newspapers.

German language newspaper

Includes newspapers from the Faroe Islands

Dates available for each newspaper vary, but few are available more recently than 1910. Newspapers are in Finnish or Swedish.

Newspaper about Africa

Includes several digitized Communist newspapers

Newspaper about Africa

Newspaper about Africa

Newspaper about Africa

Newspaper about Africans

Newspaper about Africans

Newspaper about Africa

There is no search capability, but this precursor to modern newspapers can be browsed by date.

Newspaper about Africans

"Daily Newspaper of U.S. Armed Forces in the European Theater of Operations."
"Published somewhere in France"

This site includes only a few issues.

A wiki that provides access to many German-language historical newspapers

Jewish newspaper. Hebrew and Yiddish language newspaper

This site includes only 6 issues of this Jewish newspaper.

Jewish newspaper

This includes newspapers from Germany and German-language newspapers from other countries.

"Organ für Jedermann aus dem Volke."

Includes digitized local newspapers

Newspapers and magazines of the Alpine region.

Founded as official newspaper of the Italian Communist Party and has been supportive of that party's successor parties, the Democratic Party of the Left, Democrats of the Left, and Democratic Party.

Scattered newspaper articles from Ireland.

Includes only selected articles.

Includes Dutch language newspapers from the Netherlands, as well as the Dutch East Indies, the Netherlands Antilles, and Suriname.

A Dutch resistance newspaper from World War II

A Zionist newspaper; this site includes only scattered issues

Nazi-sponsored Polish newspaper.

This file includes only two issues.

There are only 3 issues online.

Click on the link to Czasopisma to identify the available newspapers

This file includes only a few issues.

Published by the American Red Cross for the American North Russia Expeditionary Force

Contains issues from a variety of Russian newspapers

Julian: Dec 20, 1888-Dec 19, 1890; Julian: Dec 19, 1909-Apr 17, 1911

Click on the link to "Casopisje in Clanki" to see a list that includes newspaper titles. This list includes several Slovenian language newspapers from the U.S.

Formerly titled the Gaceta de Madrid

Includes digitized newspapers

Includes full text of 3 newspapers: Le Journal de Geneve, La Gazette de Lausanne, and Le Nouveau Quotidien.

Russian language newspaper

This is only an index. The database doesn't include any full text.

Includes: Manchester Guardian: 1851, 1856, 1886; Daily News: 1851, 1856, 1886, 1900, 1918; News of the World: 1851, 1856, 1886, 1900, 1918; and Weekly Dispatch: 1851, 1856, 1886, 1900, 1917. NOTE: Some issues within a year may be missing.

Subscription required

Only selected articles are available.

A women's suffrage newspaper

French language newspaper

Only selected articles are available.

Includes scattered issues.

Satirical newspaper

Underground newspaper

Most of the newspapers are only available for a fee, but a few are free and snippets may be viewed from those that are available for a fee.

Some years missing

The official newspaper of the British government. Also includes Edinburgh Gazette and Belfast Gazette.

Palmer's Index to the London Times is available online. In order to read the full text of the article, you must view the microfilm of the London Times. See the BGSU Library for the microfilm.

This includes a few Welsh newspapers that were published outside of Wales.

These scans include only scattered pages from the newspaper.

"Newspaper of U.S. Armed Forces in: British Isles"

Articles about the Irish Famine from the Illustrated London News, the Cork Examiner, the Pictorial Times, and Punch.

Women's suffrage magazine/newspaper
"Organ of the Women's Freedom League"

Women's suffrage newspaper/magazine

This is only an index. The database doesn't include any full text.

Includes: Manchester Guardian: 1851, 1856, 1886; Daily News: 1851, 1856, 1886, 1900, 1918; News of the World: 1851, 1856, 1886, 1900, 1918; and Weekly Dispatch: 1851, 1856, 1886, 1900, 1917. NOTE: Some issues within a year may be missing.

Subscription required

Only selected articles are available.

A women's suffrage newspaper

French language newspaper

Only selected articles are available.

Includes scattered issues.

Satirical newspaper

Underground newspaper

Most of the newspapers are only available for a fee, but a few are free and snippets may be viewed from those that are available for a fee.

Some years missing

The official newspaper of the British government. Also includes Edinburgh Gazette and Belfast Gazette.

Palmer's Index to the London Times is available online. In order to read the full text of the article, you must view the microfilm of the London Times. See the BGSU Library for the microfilm.

This includes a few Welsh newspapers that were published outside of Wales.

These scans include only scattered pages from the newspaper.

"Newspaper of U.S. Armed Forces in: British Isles"

Articles about the Irish Famine from the Illustrated London News, the Cork Examiner, the Pictorial Times, and Punch.

Women's suffrage magazine/newspaper
"Organ of the Women's Freedom League"

Women's suffrage newspaper/magazine