Skip to Main Content
We are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides. If you have any questions or concerns about this process please let us know.

HIS-3080 Introduction to Archives

This course guide will provide students with a single launching point for resources for their class.

The HIS3080: Introduction to Archives Subject Guide is a comprehensive resource hub tailored to support students, researchers, and enthusiasts in exploring the world of archives and archival science. Within this guide, users journey through archives' principles, practices, and significance, uncovering a wealth of curated materials, databases, and tools to facilitate archival inquiry and scholarship.

Navigating through the guide, users encounter meticulously organized tabs, each offering a distinct avenue for archival exploration:

Find Books: Delve into a vast collection of resources available through the library catalog, ranging from foundational works on archival theory to specialized monographs on preservation techniques and archival management. This section provides access to physical holdings and electronic resources, ensuring users can access a variety of perspectives on archival science.

Get Articles: Access a wealth of scholarly articles from leading archival journals through direct links to databases or expansive online collections. These databases offer a breadth of literature on archival practices, including peer-reviewed articles, case studies, and reviews, allowing users to engage deeply with current archival research and management trends.

Browse Journals: Immerse yourself in the world of archival scholarship by exploring journals dedicated to various aspects of archival science, records management, and digital preservation. This section provides direct access to reputable journals authored by professionals within the field, offering invaluable insights into archival theory and practice.

Web Resources: Recognizing the value of online resources in archival studies, this section directs users to reputable archival institutions, digital repositories, and professional organizations. Users can access digitized archival collections, online exhibits, and resources on archival standards and best practices, enriching their understanding of the archival profession.

Remember, this guide will evolve with your research needs throughout the course. If you encounter any challenges or need assistance refining your research strategy, don't hesitate to contact me or another librarian. We're here to help you navigate these resources and develop your research skills in archival studies.

Thank you for your time! When you have a moment, please scan the QR code or click the link to complete a brief 3-question survey.

https://tinyurl.com/fau-lib-exit