Shelf surfing offers an invaluable approach to uncovering books that may not be readily apparent in the catalog. When seeking resources on archives and archival science, understanding where to locate them on the shelf can significantly enhance your exploration. Below are key call numbers sorted by subject, guiding you to sections where books on general archives and subject-specific archives are provided:
Main Class C: Auxiliary Sciences of History CD: Archives
Main Class Z: Bibliography, Library Science, Information Resources
Z695-Z695.94: Subject Bibliography
Z699-Z719: Libraries
Other Relevant Areas:
KF: Law of the United States
P: Language and Literature
By utilizing these call numbers and understanding the subject classifications, you can effectively navigate the library shelves to discover a rich array of literature on archives. You'll find resources spanning from global perspectives to detailed examinations of specific archival practices and collections, including:
The collection encompasses both theoretical works on archival principles and practical guides for archivists and researchers, covering traditional and emerging areas in the archival profession. This comprehensive range of materials allows for in-depth exploration of the field, supporting both academic study and professional development in archival science.
Search the FAU Library Catalog to see what materials are available for check out. Search for books, government documents, DVDs, electronic books, streaming videos, and more.
Below is a small sample of titles that are found in our General Collection on the topic of Archives and checked out from the library.
Academic Archives by
Today, the field of academic archives is more expansive and complex than ever before. In addition to college and university archives, academic archives encompass records management programs, special collections departments, and other campus archival repositories. This new definition of academic archives programs has redefined the role, and training, of academic archivists. This book gives you the tools to fill that role, including collection strategies, a management plan for electronic records, and development strategies for starting a campus records management program, and an understanding of the emerging trends affecting all archivists. Academic Archives is designed to appeal to archivists of all ranks and experience, archivists working both inside and outside of academic libraries, archivists in training, other information professionals, library directors, and members of the academic community. If you want to start an archives program, update an existing archives program, begin a career in academic archives, or remain current on recent developments, you'll find valuable advice in this timely addition to the Archivist's and Records Manager's Bookshelf Series.
The Allure of the Archives by
An exquisite appreciation of the distinctive rewards of historical research and a classic guide to the personal yet disciplined craft of discovery, now in its first English translation. Arlette Farge's Le Goût de l'archive is widely regarded as a historiographical classic. While combing through two-hundred-year-old judicial records from the Archives of the Bastille, historian Farge was struck by the extraordinarily intimate portrayal they provided of the lives of the poor in pre-Revolutionary France, especially women. She was seduced by the sensuality of old manuscripts and by the revelatory power of voices otherwise lost. In The Allure of the Archives, she conveys the exhilaration of uncovering hidden secrets and the thrill of venturing into new dimensions of the past. Originally published in 1989, Farge's classic work communicates the tactile, interpretive, and emotional experience of archival research while sharing astonishing details about life under the Old Regime in France. At once a practical guide to research methodology and an elegant literary reflection on the challenges of writing history, this uniquely rich volume demonstrates how surrendering to the archive's allure can forever change how we understand the past.
Archives : principles and practices by
Written in clear language with lively examples, the book outlines fundamental archival principles and practices, introduces core concepts, and explains best practices to ensure that documentary materials are cared for as effectively as possible. This revised edition contains expanded discussion of the impact of digital technologies on archival materials and archival practice and an examination of the changing role of the archivist in the digital age, as archival professionals find that they need to be directly engaged with the creators of records in order to help ensure the preservation of valuable archives, for the present and for posterity. Topics addressed in the book include: the nature of archives and archival institutions; the role of archival service as a matter of trust; core archival concepts such as provenance, original order and respect des fonds; practical guidance in the execution of central archival tasks, including appraisal, preservation, arrangement, description, reference and access; and discussion about the changing role and responsibilities of the archival institution and archival practitioner, as digital technologies fundamentally transform how records and archives are created, captured, preserved, used and shared.
Archives alive : expanding engagement with public library archives and special collections by
All across the United States public library archivists and special collections librarians are experimenting with programs that raise public awareness of and promote engagement with special collections.
Developing and Maintaining Practical Archives : a how-to-do-it manual by
Library Journal and other review journals raved about the first edition of this now-standard guide. This new edition has been completely updated ad expanded to include crucial new information on digital records, encoded arcival description (EAD), copyright issues, post-9/11 security concerns, international perspectives on tuse issues--content that makes this manual essential for archivists of all backgrounds. Setting up archives, appraisal and accessioning, acquisition strategies and policies, arrangement description, reference and access, preservation, and electronic records are just some of the topics covered in both theory and practice in this clear, comprehensive, ad practial guide.
More than words : illustrated letters from the Smithsonian's Archives of American Art by
Words can speak volumes, but, as every letter writer knows, there are times when they simply won't do. And when the author happens to be a visual artist, the results can be both intimate and transcendent. This book is a testament to those occasions, a compilation of personal letters by some of America's most revered artists, each one adorned with an illustration. Writing to wives, lovers, friends, patrons, clients, and confidants are such revered artists as Frederick Edwin Church, Thomas Eakins, Winslow Homer, Andrew Wyeth, Rockwell Kent, Lyonel Feininger, John Sloan, Alfred Frueh, Man Ray, Eero Saarinen, Alexander Calder, Gio Ponti, Andy Warhol, and Roy Lichtenstein. Sometimes humorous, sometimes extravagant, but always revealing and intimate, they picture the world around them in charming vignettes, landscapes, portraits, and caricatures. Together with their words, these autobiographical works of art created for private consumption reveal the joys and successes, loves and longings, disappointments and frustrations of their authors' lives. These riveting artifacts are drawn from the collection of the Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution, one of the largest repositories of artists' papers in the nation, which celebrates its 50th anniversary in 2005.
Navigating Legal Issues in Archives by
Attorney and archivist Menzi Behrnd-Klodt details legal issues from acquisition to ownership, access, administration, and the effects of copyright and intellectual property law on archivists and archives. She begins with the legal framework behind policies and procedures and reviews the legal process and civil litigation, then details acquisition (including transfer of ownership and rights), appraisal, abandoned materials, tax consideration, risk, primacy, public records, records in information management, the implications of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act, cultural property and their records, copyright and related rights issues (including permissions, releases, music, and moral rights) and the reasons why trademarks, patents, and related rights should matter to archivists. Includes sample legal documents and forms.
An ounce of prevention : integrated disaster planning for archives, libraries, and record centres by
Fire, flood, earthquake, vandalism, a terrorist attack--the issues of safety measures, emergency response, and disaster recovery have now become an important part of the planning strategies for most organizations. For the information organization, such as a library, archives, or record center, this responsibility has taken on new dimensions with the proliferation of various forms of electronic media. The authors take the approach that disaster recovery planning must touch every department of an organization and that emergency response must be a carefully mapped strategy. This broad-based approach to "integrated disaster planning" explains each phase of disaster planning, with chapters covering prevention planning, protection planning, preparedness planning, response planning, and recovery planning. The authors consider collections, records, facilities, and systems and include a chapter on post-disaster planning as well. The authors also cover federal and local assistance programs and list other sources for financial assistance. Although the main thrust of the book is the protection of documents, human safety in case of disaster is stressed explicitly and implicitly throughout. Indispensible for every information organization.
Picturing the century : one hundred years of photography from the National Archives by
Escorting a millennium exhibit being held at the National Archives and Records Administration in Washington, DC, March 1999- January 2001, this catalog of 163 photos (22 in color) showcases the portfolios of Ansel Adams, Dorothea Lange, and others represented in NARA's holdings who captured the cent
Florida Atlantic University Libraries
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431
(561) 297-6911