Did you know that some library databases can help identify funding sources for various types of research?
Use their search features, limiters, and full records of articles to do this. Use the tabs to find examples.
A publication can also provide that information.
Journal articles will often include disclosures for grant or foundation funding that supported their research.
In this sample search for published research on Everglades restoration, the Web of Science list of results includes a section, "Refine Results." Its "Funding Agencies" option identifies agencies and organizations that funded this research. NSF and SFWMD are the top 2 on this list. Additional ones can be viewed by selecting "See all."
Find an article on a research topic of interest, then check its full record for "Grant support" which lists agencies that funded the research.
The grant number search field has 4 parts which are explained on this PubMed help page, while grant acronyms and number information can be found on this National Library of Medicine page.
The following sources may lead to information on grants and funding. Create email alerts or RSS feeds for these to follow information and to receive updates on grants.
Grant Writing by
A first of its kind, this book provides you everything you need to know about successfully navigating the grant writing process including understanding the language of grant writing, finding grants, preparing the proposal, completing the application, preparing budgets, organizing information and timelines, revising and editing the proposal, including the assessment and evaluation, and building meaningful relationships with program officers and colleagues.
Collaborative Grantseeking by 
Grant Writing Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals, Third Edition by
This accessible, hands-on text, for new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Packed with practical tips for dealing with common pitfalls besieging grant seekers, the text progresses step by step from establishing the need for the grant through disseminating grant findings. This third edition is distinguished by key information about newer grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants. It also includes updates on electronic submissions and web resources. Useful supporting features include examples and underlying principles for each guideline, examples of grants and specific elements that lend themselves to the development of PowerPoint slides for traditional or online classroom use, real-life examples from actual grant applications, and links to online resources to support searches for grant funders and websites supporting grant applications. Armed with savvy tips and advice from the authors-an experienced grant writer, grant reviewer, and grant consultant-readers will be able to write a persuasive grant with ease. NEW TO THE THIRD EDITION: Top-notch grant writing guidance for all health professionalsInformation about newer grant mechanisms emphasizing community-based and patient-centered outcomes research grantsFoundation and corporate grants focusing on population health, personalized health, and interprofessional team grants that include community collaborations and corporate partnershipsImportant information on the Patient-Centered Research InstituteGuidance on how to involve stakeholders and communities in study design and implementationUpdates on electronic submissions and web resourcesNew coauthor who is a successful PCORI awardeeInstructor's PowerPoint slides KEY FEATURES: Describes the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finishDelivers practical tips from experienced authors for dealing with common pitfalls and difficultiesIncludes examples and underlying principles for each guidelineProvides real-life examples from actual grant applicationsHelps readers to apply principles for selling and justifying the grant to their own proposals
Proposal Planning and Writing by
Gives grantseekers practical advice and numerous examples to assist them in planning and writing proposals, with special attention to the availability of information on the Internet.
Successful Grant Writing: Strategies for Health and Human Service Professionals by
This book is easy to read and understand. It is a great resource for individuals wishing to write grants. I have not seen another book that is this comprehensive and user-friendly." Score: 92, 4 Stars.--Michalene A. King, PhD, RN, CNE in Doody's Medical Reviews This fully updated and revised edition of a classic guide to grant writing for health and human service professionals reflects the two major changes in the field: new NIH application processes and an increased emphasis on interprofessional and team approaches to science. New case examples reflect grant writing strategies for a great variety of health and human service professions, and the text includes an enhanced focus on online methods for organizing grant submissions. A new section on special considerations for submitting grants addresses specific types of research including mixed methods, behavioral intervention research, secondary analyses, translational research, and comparative effectiveness studies. The new chapter on common writing challenges and solutions provides examples of strong and weak statements and highlights the importance of writing with precision. Additionally, this new edition provides an expanded section on post-award requirements and links to NIH videos about grant writing. Written for individuals in both academic and practice settings, the guide addresses, step-by-step, the fundamental principles for effectively securing funding. It is the only book to provide grant-writing information that encompasses many disciplines and to focus on building a research career with grant writing as a step-wise process. It provides detailed, time-tested strategies for building an investigative team, highlights the challenges of collaboration, and describes how to determine the expertise needed for a team and the roles of co-investigators. The book addresses the needs of both novice and more experienced researchers. New to the Fourth Edition: Reflects recent changes to the field including an emphasis on interprofessional approaches to science and new NIH application processes Offers additional case examples relevant to social work, nursing, psychology, rehabilitation, and occupational, physical, and speech therapies Provides links to NIH websites containing videos on grant writing Includes chapter opener objectives Expands section on post-award requirements Focuses on electronic mechanisms for organizing grant submissions including software such as RefWorks and google alerts Enlarges appendices to include charts, graphics, grant application samples and Aims page samples full of errors with answers provided
Florida Atlantic University Libraries
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431
(561) 297-6911