Skip to Main Content
Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides. If you have any questions or concerns about this process please let us know.

Geomatics Engineering Guide

What is a database?

Databases are collections of articles and other sources of scholarly information.  They can be searched by using keywords, or words that describe a topic.  Databases often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.

Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines

Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals.  Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a scholarly journal.

Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.

Need help? Click here.

Selected Databases

Selected FAU Engineering & Applied Sciences Databases

Selected FAU Databases
 
Applied Science and Technology Full Text  | 1983-present | Some Full Text |  
Indexes the latest findings in every area of science, engineering, and technology covering trade and industrial publications, journals issued by professional and technical societies, and specialized subject periodicals. Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in March 1993.  Full Text coverage begins in 1997.
 
Compendex | 1884-present |  
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. Compendex contains over 8 million records and references over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications. Coverage is from 1969 to present and the database is updated weekly. Combined with the Engineering Index Backfile, the database includes over 9.7 million records and spans back to 1884.
 
GeoRef   | 1785-present | Some Full Text | 
Contains earth science references and the index terms that describe them. Indexes many journals in 40 languages as well as new books, maps, and reports.
 

IEEE Xplore:IEEE/IEL Electronic Library  | 1988-present with select content back to 1952 | Full Text |
IEEE/Institution of Engineering and Technology Journals, Conference Proceedings, and Standards from 1988 to the present.

JCR: Journal Citations Report | Provides publisher-neutral data, statistics, and citation metrics about scholarly research, as well as a journal’s role within and influence upon the global research community. Includes access to the Journal Impact Factor™ (JIF).

Oceanic Abstracts   |1981 - present |  
Oceanic Abstracts is focused exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. The journal has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans.

Web of Science
Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.