Free Resources

 Numbers

10 Things We Learned About Gender Issues in the U.S. in 2017, Pew Research Center

A
About-Face 
Alice Paul Institute
Amelia Bloomer Project: Recommended Feminist Literature for Birth to Age 18
American Association of University Women
American Psychological Association, Report of the APA Task Force on the Sexualization of Girls
Association for Feminist Ethics and Social Theory (FEAST)
Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM)
Association of Women in Science (AWIS)
Association for Women's Rights in Development (AWID Women's Rights)

B
Berkshire Conference of Women Historians
Biographies of Women Mathematicians

C
Catholics for Choice
Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP), Eagleton Institute of Politics, Rutgers University
Center for Health and Gender Equity (CHANGE)
Center for Reproductive Rights
Clearinghouse on Women's Issues (CWI)
The Clothesline Project
Commission on Domestic Violence, American Bar Association
Committee on Women, Population, and the Environment (CWPE)
CreativeFolk.com

D
The Declaration of the Rights of Woman, Olympia de Gouges, September 1791, Center for History and New Media, George Mason University
Democracy through Partnership between Men and Women in Politics, the Inter-Parliamentary Union
Discovering American Women's History Online, Middle Tennessee State University
Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement: An On-line Archival Collection, Special Collections Library, Duke University
Domestic Violence, Commission on, American Bar Association

E
Equality Archive, Feminist Publishing, Women's and Gender Studies Journals

F
Facts for Features: Women's History Month, March 2018, United States Census Bureau
Feminism and Philosophy, Center for Digital Discourse and Culture at Virginia Tech University
Feminist Law Professors blog
Feminist Majority Foundation
Feminist Periodicals: A Current Listing of Contents, Women's Studies Librarian's Office, University of Wisconsin Library System
Free Online Course Materials, Women's and Gender Studies, MIT OpenCourseWare
​Futures without Violence

G
Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media
Gender, ELDIS, Institute of Development Studies, Sussex, UK
Gender Action, Washington, DC, USA
Gender, Sexuality & Feminism (international, peer-reviewed, open-access journal)|
Genderstats: Database of Gender Statistics, 
Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the World
Girls Gotta Run Foundation
Global Fund for Women (includes International Museum of Women)
The Global Gender Gap Report 2017, World Economic Forum
Guerrilla Girls
The Guttmacher Institute

H
Healthy Weight Network
Healthy Women

I
I Know Politics Organization
International Museum of Women
International Women's Day, The Aurora Network
The International Women's Writing Guild
Institute for Women's Policy Research (IWPR)

J
Job Patterns for Minorities and Women in Private Industry, U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

L
Legal Momentum, The Women's Legal Defense and Education Fund
Losing My Religion for Equality, former U.S. President Jimmy Carter, National Times, July 15, 2009, theage.com

M
Math: Biographies of Women Mathematicians
Media Report to Women
Ms. Foundation for Women
Ms. Magazine

N
NARAL Pro-Choice America
National Council for Research on Women (NCRW)
National Council of Negro Women (NCNW)
National Council of Women's Organizations (NCWO)
National Domestic Violence Hotline (NDVH)
National League of Women Voters (LWV)
National Museum of Women in the Arts (NMWA)
National Partnership for Women & Families (NPWF)
National Women's Hall of Fame, Seneca Falls, New York
NOEMA: The Collaborative Bibliography of Women in Philosophy
NOMAS: The National Organization for Men Against Sexism
National Organization for Women (NOW)
National Women's History Project (NWHP)
National Women's Law Center (NWLC)
National Women's Studies Association (NWSA)
NWSA 2010 Conference, November 11-14, Rutgers University, Denver, CO
NWSAction, NWSA Online, interactive magazine

O
Office on Violence Against Women, United States Department of Justice
On Campus With Women, online newsletter of the American Association of University Women (AAUW)
On the Admission of Women to the Rights of Citizenship, the Marquis de Condorcet, July 1790, Center for History and New Media, George Mason University

S
Seneca Falls Declaration of Sentiments, Women's Rights National Historical Park, National Park Service, U.S. Dept. of the Interior
Sewall Belmont House
Sexualization of Girls: Report of the APA Task Force on the Sexualization of Girls
Social Security Information for Women, U.S. Social Security Administration
The Source on Women's Issues in Congress, newsletter of Women's Policy, Inc.
The Status of Women in the States 2004
Institute for Women's Policy Research
Stop Porn Culture
Syllabi on the Web for Women- and Gender-Related Courses, Joan Korenman, University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC)
Syllabi on Women and Politics, Center for American Women and Politics, Eagleton Institute of Politics

T
Transcending Silence, Women's Studies journal, University of Albany, SUNY

U
UCLA Center for the Study of Women

UN Women
The United Nations and the Status of Women

V
Violence Against Women in the United States: Statistics, National Organization for Women 
Viva, bibliography of women's and gender studies
Voice of the Shuttle: Women's Studies & Feminist Theory, University of California, Santa Barbara

W
Wellesley Centers for Women
The White House Project
WMST-L Women's Studies listserv
Woodhull Institute for Ethical Leadership
Womanist Theory and Research, Institute for African-American Studies, University of Georgia
Women, Business and the Law 2018, World Bank
Women by the Numbers: from the U.S. Census Bureau, Infoplease
Women Count
Women for Women International, Helping Women Survivors of War
Women in Animation
Women in Computing and Information Technology Oral History Project, Born Digital Records, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Women in Engineering ProActive Network (WEPAN)
Women in Film
Women in National Parliaments, the Inter-Parliamentary Union
Women in Politics Bibliographic Datase, the Inter-Parliamentary Union
Women In Programming, School of Business, Oklahoma Baptist University
Women in Science (biographies)
Women Leaders and Gender Parity Programme, World Economic Forum
Women Leaders Online: Women Organizing for Change
Women-owned Firms, United States Census Bureau
Women's Action for New Directions (WAND)
Women's and Gender Studies, online resources, Iowa State University
Women's Bureau, United States Department of Labor
Women's eNews
Women's Environment and Development Organization
Women's Global Network for Reproductive Rights
Women's Independent Cinema
Women's International League for Peace and Freedom
Women's Health, National Center for Health Statistics
Women's Organizations Links​,  Women's Research & Education Insitute (WREI)
Women's Policy, Inc., The Unique Source of Information on Women's Issues in Congress
Women's Research & Education Institute (WREI)
Women's Review of Books
Women's Rights National Historical Park, Seneca Falls, NY, , National Park Service, U.S. Dept. of the Interior
Women's Statistics News Releases Archive, U.S. Census Bureau
Women's Studies Database, University of Maryland
Women's Studies Librarian's Office, University of Wisconsin
Women's Studies Online Resources, Joan Korenman, University of Maryland-Baltimore County (UMBC)
Women's Studies Program Web Page, Montgomery College
Women's Studies Programs, Departments, & Research Centers, Joan Korenman, UMBC
Women's Studies Resources by Karla Tonella, University of Iowa
Women's Studies Section, ACRL/ALA
Women's Suffrage: A World Chronology of the Recognition of Women's Rights to Vote and to Stand for Election, The Inter-parliamentary Union
Women Working, 1830 - 1900, Open Collections Program, Harvard
WomenWatch: United Nations Interagency Network on Women and Gender Equality
WSSLINKS: Women and Gender Studies Web Sites (ACRL)

Health

• 4 College Women
  A user friendly page discussing the health issues of college aged women.
• Medline Plus Women's Health Issues
  A great guide to reliable information on Women's health from the National Institutes of Health.
• National Women's Health Information Center
  A wide array of helpful women's health information from the Department of Health and Human Services.Some resources are also available in Spanish.
• Our Bodies Ourselves Companion Website
  A woman's health information center containing excerpts from the book, unique content and Web links.

History

• American Women's History: A Research Guide
  Contains "[o]ver 2100 citations to Internet and print sources (digital collections of primary sources, archival collections, bibliographies, biographical sources, etc."
• Early Modern Women Database
  This amazing resource " provides links to Web resources useful for the study of women in early modern Europe and the Americas." Coverage is limited to 1500-1800.
• Internet Women's History Sourcebook
  A wonderful guide to reliable Web resources on Women's history from ancient times to the present.
• Women in World History
  Fairly comprehensive site on the history of women. The site includes reviews of Web pages, curriculua, primary sources etc.
• Women Working, 1800-1930
  "...focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images..."

Literature

• A Celebration of Women Writers
  "A large collection of material written by women in many fields. Also contains links to biographical material on women writers. It can be searched by author, country, century, & ethnicity. "
• Literary Works By Women
  A collection of important online fiction books written by significant authors such as Jane Austen the Brontes, Kate Chopin and George Eliot.
• Other Women's Voices
  Collection of non- U.S. Women's writing from ancient times to the present.
• Texts by Women Authors from the Modern English Collection
   Full text of works by more than 150 women authors.
• WSS Links: Literature and Culture -
  Online texts, guides to criticism, bibliographies, literature of women of color, links to feminist bookstore etc.

Politics

• Eagle Forum
  Web page of an anti-feminist organization which also advocates for other conservative causes.
• Eldis Gender Resource Guide
  A gateway to hundreds of online papers and other resources on women's issues.
• Feminist Majority Foundation
  "... works for social, political and economic equality for women by using research and education to improve women's lives."
• National Organization for Women
  "Information on women's issues for women's activists."

Statistics

• Department of Labor Women's Bureau
  A good place to start looking for statistical information on American Women.
• Gender Stats
  Menu driven Web page from the World Bank which offers general statistics on women and men by country.

Women's Studies

• Best Information on the Net- Women's Studies
  This set of links covers women's health Women's Studies and Women's magazines and journals.
• Voice of the Shuttle Women's Studies and Feminist Theory
  A compilation of online full-text resources and Web links chiefly dealing with women and literature.
• Women and Gender Studies Web Links
• Women's Studies: Core Books
  An extensive bibliography of Women's Studies books from the Association of College and Research libraries.  This excellent set of links is kept up to date and arranged by subject.
• Women's Studies Librarian Website
  This site contains a good list of links but in addition it has research tutorials, provides helpful information on tracking down relevant videos a good list of feminist publishers and women's bookstores etc.
• Women's Studies Links
  Links selected by MC's Women's Studies Department.
• Women's Studies Online Resources
  From UMBC, this page is a collection of hundreds of "information-rich, high-quality Web sites focusing on Women's Studies or women's issues."

Annotated links by subject produced by Linda Fortney, Rockville Librarian, 1950 - 2009. Links for this LibGuide are reused with the kind courtesy of Nancy Nyland of Montgomery College, MD.