Search for Articles

Selected Databases

Use the following databases to locate articles in scholarly and academic journals. For a complete list of available databases, click here.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations . The indexed materials coverage is international. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

Funded by statewide allocation.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Delivers biographical and bibliographical information on authors and their works. Covers authors of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.

Funded by Florida Virtual Campus.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
This database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
Clase and Peridioca (ClasePeriodica) This link opens in a new window
CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Offers access to more than 400,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages. Contains information from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.
Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A collection of Spanish- and Portuguese- language journals in full text, both from and about Latin America. (Una coleccin de revistas hispanas y portuguesas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnologa, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.)
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Includes Humanities Full Text, Humanities Index Retrospective and additional content.
Subject areas include archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.

Funded by Florida Virtual Campus.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines. Most full-text access is archival; some current full text.
Also includes a collection of over 500 Spanish-language e-books, which are student tech fee funded.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global includes international dissertations and theses as well as all previous content. It is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

Funded by Florida Virtual Campus.

Additional Databases

Mango Languages This link opens in a new window
Creating an account is not required; click on 'Use Mango As A Guest' to navigate the site. Creating an account allows you to save your study time results.
Mango Languages is a self-paced language learning system covering over 40 languages and including 16 ESL classes taught in the native language. Each lesson combines real life situations and audio from native speakers with simple, clear instructions.
Please note: Mango allows for users to be designated as "instructor," which provides access to guides, lesson plans, and student workbooks; the linking of lessons via Canvas; assessment; and the tracking of student progress. If you are an FAU faculty member or instructor, and would like to be added to Mango as instructor, please contact eresources@fau.edu with your request.
Ulrichsweb.com This link opens in a new window
Provides information on prices, frequency of publication, addresses, publishers' phone and fax numbers, e-mail and Web site addresses for over 270,000 journals, magazines, annuals, series, newspapers, and other periodicals published worldwide. Identifies special features, such as: the presence of reviews or indexes; whether a journal is refereed; and which indexing/abstracting services cover the periodical. (Includes reviews)

Funded by Florida Virtual Campus.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

Journals in Languages, Linguistics, and Literature

Browse the following journals to find articles in languages, linguistics, and literature.

To find additional journals, go to the Journals Search page.

OpenAthens - authenticate yourself to use our electronic resources!

Through a statewide initiative in coordination with FALSC and other institutions of the Florida College System and State University System libraries, the FAU Libraries is transitioning e-resources authentication from EZproxy to OpenAthens.

OpenAthens is a gateway service that provides access to the FAU Libraries' licensed electronic resources. For the first time, you will have access to the Libraries’ e-resources without needing to be on the Libraries’ website! You can use an Internet search engine like Google or go directly to a publisher’s website to access the Libraries “Athenized” e-resources via FAU Single Sign-On (SSO)!

More information can be found here OpenAthens
How To Use OpenAthens
OpenAthens Video Tutorials

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

Last updated on Mar 19, 2025 10:48 AM - Guide Creator(s)