LibGuides: Counselor Education: Find Articles

Databases

Databases are great for finding information for your research paper. In the databases, you will find peer reviewed or scholarly journal articles for your research. Use a database to find full text articles. Databases can be accessed in the library and off campus through Off Campus Connect (EZproxy).

For a full list of Databases related to this subject, please click here.

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works is a searchable collection containing real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. When complete, the database will contain more than 2,000 session transcripts, 40,000 pages of client narratives, and 25,000 pages of secondary reference material.
DSM-5
DSM-5
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals in the United States and contains a listing of diagnostic criteria for every psychiatric disorder recognized by the U.S. healthcare system. DSM is used in both clinical settings (inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinic, private practice, and primary care) as well as with community populations.
Education Source
Includes Education Full Text, Education Index Retrospective and additional content.
Education Source provides scholarly research and information covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

Funded by Florida Virtual Campus.
ERIC (Proquest)
Covers education-related research from conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed "Mental Measurements Yearbooks."
PsycInfo (APA)
PsycINFO contains more than 1.5 million references to journal articles, books, book chapters, technical reports and dissertations dealing with mental health, neuroscience, psychology, psychometrics, and related disciplines. This resource provides links to full text dissertations within the ProQuest Digital Dissertations database.
Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

OpenAthens - authenticate yourself to use our electronic resources!

Through a statewide initiative in coordination with FALSC and other institutions of the Florida College System and State University System libraries, the FAU Libraries is transitioning e-resources authentication from EZproxy to OpenAthens.

OpenAthens is a gateway service that provides access to the FAU Libraries' licensed electronic resources. For the first time, you will have access to the Libraries’ e-resources without needing to be on the Libraries’ website! You can use an Internet search engine like Google or go directly to a publisher’s website to access the Libraries “Athenized” e-resources via FAU Single Sign-On (SSO)!

More information can be found here OpenAthens
How To Use OpenAthens
OpenAthens Video Tutorials

Last updated on Mar 17, 2025 10:45 AM