Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides. If you have any questions or concerns about this process please let us know.

Counselor Education

About this guide

Welcome to the FAU Libraries Research Guide for Counselor Education! FAU's Department of Counselor Education offers specializations in school counseling, mental health counseling, and rehabilitation counseling. This research guide provides information resources in these areas including databases, journals, books and more. Please contact me or another Reference Librarian for additional assistance.

Use the tabs at the top to find resources and information to help you research this topic.

Databases: this page provides links to databases, or large, online collections of journal articles. Some databases also provide statistics and figures. Databases are a good place to search for journal articles on a given research topic.

Journals: browse scholarly literature published by professionals in the field.

Books & Other Resources: access the FAU Libraries catalog to locate books and other library materials owned by the libraries.

Web Sites: not all information on the internet is junk!  This page links to reputable organizations and agencies that focus on counselors and counseling.

Ken Frankel, M.Ed, MLIS, Library Liaison to the FAU Department of Counselor Education

Subject Terms for Counselor Education

The following is a partial list of subject headings related to Counselor Education that can be used to locate books and other items in the FAU Libraries Catalog.

  • Adlerian Psychology
  • Counseling
  • Counseling in elementary education
  • Counseling in secondary education
  • Educational counseling
  • Family psychotherapy
  • Group counseling
  • Marital psychotherapy
  • Mental health services
  • Psychotherapy
  • Rehabilitation counseling
  • Treatment

 

Last updated on Aug 12, 2022 2:47 PM