Skip to Main Content
Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
Caribbean Literature This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages. Future releases will also feature journals, reference works, and interviews with key writers.
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 enables users to search more than 66 newspaper titles from 22 islands, including Bermuda, published in the 18th and 19th centuries.
Digital Library of the Caribbean This link opens in a new window
Digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines. Most full-text access is archival; some current full text.
Also includes a collection of over 500 Spanish-language e-books, which are student tech fee funded.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 180 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Delivers biographical and bibliographical information on authors and their works. Covers authors of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
Funded by statewide allocation.
LitFinder (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
LitFinder contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. For students or patrons seeking a deeper view into literature, LitFinder also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more!
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations . The indexed materials coverage is international. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.
Funded by statewide allocation.
Contains Caribbean fiction, poetry, plays, critical essays, cultural studies, interviews, and visual art.
Boletín de estudios latinoamericanos y del Caribe
Addresses major debates in Latin America including problems of historical interpretations in social science research of the Caribbean and Latin America.
an international literary journal dedicated to publishing works encompassing, but not limited to, the Anglophone, Francophone, Hispanophone and Dutch-speaking Caribbean.
Provides a mixture of fiction, poetry, plays, critical essays, cultural studies, interviews, and visual art.
Scholarly articles, personal and critical essays, public lectures, poetry, short fiction, and book reviews.
Designed for anyone interested in keeping up with the ongoing research and writing in the field of Caribbean studies.
Journal of Caribbean literatures
Devoted entirely to literature, in all genres, by, about, and concerning the writers and critics of the Caribbean.
Journal of postcolonial writing
Devoted to the study of literatures in English and in the new English dialects written throughout the world and variously termed postcolonial or new literatures in English, Commonwealth literature, contact literature, global English or resistance literature.
Journal of West Indian Literature
Publishes research in West Indian literature for students and scholars working in that field.
Dedicated to the teaching of multicultural english literature at the secondary school, the college and university level.
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.
Through a statewide initiative in coordination with FALSC and other institutions of the Florida College System and State University System libraries, the FAU Libraries is transitioning e-resources authentication from EZproxy to OpenAthens.
OpenAthens is a gateway service that provides access to the FAU Libraries' licensed electronic resources. For the first time, you will have access to the Libraries’ e-resources without needing to be on the Libraries’ website! You can use an Internet search engine like Google or go directly to a publisher’s website to access the Libraries “Athenized” e-resources via FAU Single Sign-On (SSO)!