Research, Writing, and Citing

MLA Handbook, 9th edition

Created by the Modern Language Association, MLA is most often used by the Humanities. The MLA Handbook can be found in the FAU libraries in Boca Raton. .

MLA Handbook. 9th ed., Modern Language Association, 2021.
REF LB2369 .G53 2021 (At Boca Raton Campus Services Desk in Reserves)

Also see resources for the MLA Handbook, 8th edition.

MLA Style Center

MLA Style Center
The MLA Style Center is the only authorized Web site on MLA style. A companion to the MLA Handbook, the site provides students and educators with a host of free resources for teaching and learning the MLA’s approach to research, writing, and documentation. It offers a quick guide to citing any source according to the MLA format template, a practice template, a Q&A feature with hundreds of citation examples, a blog of writing tips, guidelines for formatting a paper and avoiding plagiarism, sample papers, lesson plans, worksheets, and other classroom resources submitted by users.

MLA Annotated Bibliographies

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography (Cornell University Library)
Also available in Spanish translation, near bottom of page (Tambíen disponible en español: Cómo Preparar una Bibliografía Anotada).
MLA Annotated Bibliography (Morehead State University)
MLA Annotated Bibliography (OWL at Purdue)
This site explains how to write an annotated bibliography for multiple citation styles. See the examples specifically about MLA style.
MLA Annotated Bibliography (Skyline College)

Citations LibGuide

For more in-depth information on citation styles, see the Citations LibGuide!

Research & Writing Assistance

Do you need help with starting your assignment or with the research process? Check these links for information to get you started.

Picking a Topic is Research!
This page by the North Carolina University Libraries quickly describes the research process and how to pick a topic.
Research Checklist (FAU Libraries)
Follow these broad steps to search for information, evaluate it, and integrate it into your written assignment.

Create a Search Strategy
Creating a search strategy will help with efficiently locating information.

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography
This web page by the Olin & Uris Libraries at Cornell University defines what an annotated bibliography is and how to create one.
MLA - OWL at Purdue
This resource from the OWL at Purdue lists the changes made in the new edition of the MLA Handbook.

The Literature Review (Research Guide)
This page defines the literature review and its importance in beginning research.

Ask A Librarian
Ask a Librarian your question by real-time chat, text, or email!
FAU Libraries Video Tutorials
Did you miss your library session, or do you need a refresher on how to use the catalog? Check this web page for tutorials on using the library catalog, your Owl Card, the FAU Libraries' basic library services, and more!
Library Workshops
Library workshops focus on a specialized information source (such as a library database) or a topic in using information (plagiarism, APA style, or RefWorks). Check the link for currently scheduled workshops!
Request a Research Consultation
Need help with finding information? Request an appointment to meet with an FAU librarian.

The University Center for Excellence in Writing is devoted to supporting and promoting academic and professional writing for all members of the FAU community, including undergraduate and graduate students, staff, faculty, and visiting scholars. It also has locations at 2 of FAU's partner campuses.

Boca Raton Location
Building: General Classroom South
Room: 215
Phone: (561) 297-3498

See also its locations in the dorms and at FAU partner campuses.

Last updated on Apr 19, 2024 1:32 PM - Guide Creator(s)