Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Journals
Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals. Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a scholarly journal. Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.
Selected Databases for Graduate Research
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
Web of Science
Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently of in combination: the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Sort search results by "Times Cited" to determine most influential articles.
An international periodicals directory that identifies special features, such as: the presence of reviews or indexes; whether a journal is refereed; and which indexing/abstracting services cover the periodical.
Missed the Library Session or Lost Your Handout?
1. PSY 3213 Library Handout & Activity
Use this handout to perform the research for your class assignment on the Stroop Effect, and practice distinguishing between articles that do (or do not) fit your assignment criteria. Email Ken Frankel (Frankel@fau.edu) if you have questions about finding your research articles.
Selected Databases for Psychology
To access these databases, start with the FAU Libraries homepage at http://www.fau.edu/library. If you're off campus, go to our Off Campus Connect page to log in. Next, click on Indexes/Databases (on the left side of our homepage, under Quick Links). You may then find a given database alphabetically, or by subject (social sciences).
Search and browse the full list of APA journals and selected EPF journals.
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
Psychological Experiments Online
Psychological Experiments Online is a multimedia collection that covers landmark psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries. The collection includes audio and video recordings of the original experiments, videos of modern-day replications, and modifications to the original experiments. Also included are journal articles, books and primary-source documents such as field notes and letters by the lead psychologist.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed "Mental Measurements Yearbooks." For a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language see Tests in Print.
Sage Journals Online
This resource provides access to the full text of 35 psychology journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 36 years.
Off Campus Connect
Your Owl Card enables you to check out books and to access materials online through Off Campus Connect (EZ Proxy). Make sure to activate your Owl Card at the Service Desk.