Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
When to Use Indexes/Databases vs. Electronic Journals
Are you trying to decide whether to use our Databases vs. Electronic Journals?
If you are researching a particular topic and you know the name of the database you want to use click on the following:
If you are looking for a specific journal title and want to see if we have access to it then click on the following:
A searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages. Future releases will also feature journals, reference works, and interviews with key writers.
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 enables users to search more than 66 newspaper titles from 22 islands, including Bermuda, published in the 18th and 19th centuries.
Digital Library of the Caribbean
Digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines, as well as over 500 Spanish-language e-books. Most full-text access is archival, some current full text.
Literature Online (LION)
Provides access to more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 180 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Delivers biographical and bibliographical information on authors and their works. Covers authors of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
LitFinder (Gale Literature)
LitFinder contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. For students or patrons seeking a deeper view into literature, LitFinder also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more!
MLA International Bibliography
Provides a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations . The indexed materials coverage is international. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.
Contains Caribbean fiction, poetry, plays, critical essays, cultural studies, interviews, and visual art.
Boletín de estudios latinoamericanos y del Caribe
Addresses major debates in Latin America including problems of historical interpretations in social science research of the Caribbean and Latin America.
an international literary journal dedicated to publishing works encompassing, but not limited to, the Anglophone, Francophone, Hispanophone and Dutch-speaking Caribbean.
Provides a mixture of fiction, poetry, plays, critical essays, cultural studies, interviews, and visual art.
Scholarly articles, personal and critical essays, public lectures, poetry, short fiction, and book reviews.
Designed for anyone interested in keeping up with the ongoing research and writing in the field of Caribbean studies.
Journal of Caribbean literatures
Devoted entirely to literature, in all genres, by, about, and concerning the writers and critics of the Caribbean.
Journal of postcolonial writing
Devoted to the study of literatures in English and in the new English dialects written throughout the world and variously termed postcolonial or new literatures in English, Commonwealth literature, contact literature, global English or resistance literature.
Journal of West Indian Literature
Publishes research in West Indian literature for students and scholars working in that field.
Dedicated to the teaching of multicultural english literature at the secondary school, the college and university level.
How to Read a Journal Article
Popular Periodicals versus Scholarly Publications
Off Campus Connect
Your Owl Card enables you to check out books and to access materials online through Off Campus Connect (EZ Proxy). Make sure to activate your Owl Card at the Service Desk. Need help? Watch this video!
Locating Full-Text Articles
If the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database, click on the "Find it @ FAU" button. This is a short cut, which will search to see if a full text version exists in either electronic or print format.