Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11 Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...

CEN 4010: Principles of Software Engineering: Get Articles

Resource Guide for Dr. Lofton Bullard's class

What is a database?

Databases are collections of articles and other sources of scholarly information. They can be searched by using keywords, or words that describe a topic. Databases often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.

Electronic Journals and Databases

Electronic journals are found in databases. An electronic journal has all of the information you would find in a print bound journal.

How to Read a Journal Article

Click here for a short article on how to effectively

  • read,
  • skim,
  • evaluate and
  • find information in articles!

Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines

Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals.  Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a scholarly journal.

Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.

Need help? Click >here.

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.