Skip to Main Content
This summer, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
Judaica Sound Archives (JSA)
Originally established as the Judaica Music Rescue Project in 2002 and later renamed Judaica Sound Archives (JSA) in 2005, the JSA has become one of the largest and most extensive collections of Judaic recorded sound in the world. The JSA provides source materials to Judaic scholars around the world. The collection holds recordings that are considered Jewish, such as: cantorial, Yiddish, Klezmer, Hebrew, and also recordings of Jewish performers, conductors and/or composers.
Vintage 78 Sound Archives
The Vintage 78s Collection was established in 2009 as a result of an enormous bequest from the estate of Jack Saul, a private collector from Cleveland, OH. The full extent of this collection has not yet been verified. However, it is estimated that there are between 35,000 and 50,000 78 rpm records that will eventually be inventoried. This archive holds historic vintage 78 rpm recordings which were produced between 1900 and 1960.
The Jazz Collection was established in conjunction with FAU's Music Department in 2009, there are over 21,000 items in the archives. The vast majority of these items were donated to the Music Department by Dr. Henry Ivey in 2006. The archives consists of LP albums, cassette tapes (both commercial and dubs from other sources), as well as CDs. This collection has been supported by the Swing & Jazz Preservation Society.
Vogue Picture Record Collection
Vogue Picture Record Collection: These recordings feature artists' original illustrations embedded in the transparent vinyl on both sides of the 78 rpm record. Produced by Sav-Way Industries of Detroit, MI. They were originally released in May 1946. Production ceased less than a year later in April 1947. Only 74 titles are known to have been released on 10-inch Vogue picture records. More info about Vogue Picture records.
To access other recordings in the Vintage Collection click here.
Recorded Sound Archives
The Recorded Sound Archives (RSA) at Florida Atlantic University Libraries was established as a result of significant donations of materials by FAU’s Department of Music and the estate of Jack Saul, a private collector from Cleveland, OH. The Recorded Sound Archives features three major collections: Jazz, Judaic, and Vintage. Although we are still in the process of itemizing all of the recordings in the RSA, it is estimated that all three collections together total at least 150,000 recordings (including duplicates).
All items in the RSA are original sound recordings produced on commercial media, such as phonograph records, tapes, or CDs. The goal of each of the three collections is to create comprehensive historic collections of original recordings.
Last updated on Jan 19, 2023 11:10 AM