Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Link to Collections
ACT UP Oral History Project
Collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York.
AIDS at 20
Selected articles from the New York Times, chronicling twenty years (1981-2001) of the AIDS epidemic.
AIDS Education Posters Collection
More than 1300 posters that document efforts to educate and inform the people of over 60 countries in over 100 languages, from 1982 to the present.
Before Roe v. Wade: Voices that Shaped the Abortion Debate Before the Supreme Court's Ruling
This full-length book contains documents illustrating the cultural, political, and legal forces that helped shape the Supreme Court’s landmark decision that legalized abortion.
Weekly Dallas newspaper that includes local, state, and national news and advertising of interest to the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender (LGBT) community. 1984-2013.
Digital Public Library of America: LGBT
Texts and images related to LGBT issues.
The Empty Closet
One of the oldest continuously published LGBT papers in the United States. Full text of issues from 1971- .
Gay and Lesbian Activists Alliance
GLAA is a "political organization that defends the civil rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people in the Nation's Capital." This website provides access to the organization's documents from 1953- .
Homosexuality in Eighteenth Century England
A large collection of primary sources, dating from 1624 to 1815.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook: Sex and Gender
Medieval texts that illustrate gender roles, the constructs of sex and gender, and married life.
June L. Mazer Lesbian Archive at UCLA
Offers primary sources related to Lesbian Studies. Material from the five distinct collections may be searched or browsed.
Correspondence and memorabilia from gay rights activist Frank Kameny.
LGBT and HIV/AIDS Activist Collections
Items from the 1960s-90s documenting the generations of activists in the United States that fought for civil rights for LGBT people and struggled against societal stigma to end the AIDS crisis. The collection consists of photographs documenting key activists, organizations, and protests, as well as posters, ephemera, and artwork.
Margaret Sanger Papers Project
Select the “Documents Online” link on the left to read selected writings from the advocate for birth control.
People with a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans History
Presents the history of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgendered people (LGBT). The site includes hundreds of original texts, discussions and [soon] images, and addresses LGBT history in all periods and in all regions of the world.
Rainbow History Project
Several collections of items documenting LGBT history in the U.S.
Classic texts that address the intersection of sex and spirituality.
Sex, Society and Medieval Women
Lengthy narrative that links to several primary source selections.
Southern Voice Newspaper Collection
Alternative news source for lesbians and gay men in the greater Atlanta area and Southeast. 1988-1995.
Studies in Scarlet: Marriage & Sexuality in the U.S. & U.K., 1815-1914
"Presents the images of over 420 trial narratives. Included are a number of trials of the wealthy and renowned such as an account of the adultery trial of Caroline, Queen Consort of George IV, [and] the sodomy trial of Oscar Wilde... The larger part of the collection, however, consists of the stories of ordinary men and women thrust into the public eye when their marriages and love affairs went wrong or their relationships did not conform to social standards."