Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Famous Women of the World
Links to Collections
Archives of Women's Political Communication
Speeches and political ads for more than 300 women candidates that are easily accessible through the online archives. All include a transcript of the text and many also feature video.
Charlotte Perkins Gilman Papers
Digitized collection of letters, writings and drawings. (Note: click "Inventory" in left frame to access digital collection.)
Civil War Women
Letters and memoirs of three women: a secessionist, a Union supporter, and a schoolgirl whose hometown of Gallatin Tennessee was occupied by Union soldiers.
College Women: Documenting the History of Women in Higher Education
A collection of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, and photographs from the archives the Seven Sisters colleges.
Digital Public Library of America: Women
Includes images, texts, and sound/video clips.
Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement
This site documents various aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States, focusing specifically on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s. Items range from radical theoretical writings to humourous plays to the minutes of an actual grassroots group.
Emma Goldman Papers
Documents, images and selected writings of an early advocate of free speech, birth control, women's equality and independence, and union organization.
Epistolae: Medieval Women's Letters
"A collection of letters to and from women in the Middle Ages, from the 4th to the 13th century. The letters, written in Latin, are linked to the names of the women involved, with English translations and, where available, biographical sketches of the women and some description of the subject matter or the historic context of the letter."
Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project
An online collection of some of the most influential and important American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century.
This site chronicles the progression of the U.S. feminist movement from 1953-1993. Part III includes links to primary source documents.
From Typist to Trailblazer: The Evolving View of Women in the CIA's Workforce
Collection of 120 declassified documents (studies, memos, letters, and other official records) documenting the CIA's efforts to examine, address, and improve the status of women employees from 1947 to today.
Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the World
Outstanding collection of 400+ speeches from influential women, dating from 1848-present.
HEARTH: Home Economics Archive
A full text collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines, published between 1850 and 1950. Also includes bibliographies on the field.
Internet Women's History Sourcebook
Online sourcebook attempts to present online documents and secondary discussions which reflect the various ways of looking at the history of women within broadly defined historical periods and areas.
Excellent site dedicated to the study of women's religious communities from 400 to 1600CE. Includes a separate section of primary sources, which can be browsed by title/author/community/region/century. Search function also available.
Stanton and Anthony Papers Project
Click on "Selected documents" to retrieve several classic documents on women's history.
Women in World History
Collection of 200+ primary sources from all geographic areas. Use the advanced search to limit to type, time period, region and/or topic.
Women Making History and Culture: 1963-1982
Online audio collection devoted to women’s history. These recordings include interviews, panel discussions, literary and musical performances, news coverage, and other programing broadcast between the mid-1950s and the 1980s. Currently includes 26 files, with more to come. Requires RealAudio.
Women Working, 1800-1930
Access to digitized books, manuscripts and images from the collections of Harvard University Libraries and Museums on women in the U.S. economy from 1870-1930. Searchable, or browsable by topic, individual, dates and events, or organization.
Women's Human Rights Resources Database
This database lists hundreds of resources -- articles, documents and links -- related to international women's rights law. Specific topics include Armed Conflict, Economic Globalization, Indigenous Women, Key Treaties and Texts, Marriage, Migration, Property Law and Housing Rights, Race and Gender, Reproductive Rights, Social and Economic Rights, Violence Against Women, and World Conferences on Women's Rights.
Women's Social and Political Union (W.S.P.U.)
Digital images related to the British suffrage movement in the early 1900s.